ОБЗОРЫ И МНЕНИЯ ЭКСПЕРТОВ 1&1 IONOS

Расположение серверов
Европейский союз
США
Марк Холден
Марк Холден
Эксперт в области хостинга
1 & 1 IONOS может быть ведущим веб-хостингом, но я бы не рекомендовал его каждому. В первую очередь стоит подумать, ищите ли вы хорошо сбалансированную компанию, которая предлагает множество функций по низкой цене.

Обзор

Если вы спешите пролистать до конца обзора: за ту же цену, что у 1&1 IONOS, вы можете найти серверы куда лучше с круглосуточной поддержкой, предлагаемые Hostinger, а если нет разницы, то зачем платить больше?!

1&1 IONOS является одним из ведущих мировых хостинг-провайдеров. С учетом тонн функций, низких цен и длинного послужного списка (начиная с 1988 года) легко понять, почему 1&1 IONOS так популярен и обслуживает более 8 млн клиентов по всему миру.

В то время как сайт компании доступен только на английском языке, на самом деле это международная организация: У этого хостинга 15 объектов в девяти странах и 2000 сотрудников в 40 странах. Если вы все еще сомневаетесь в его статусе, могу добавить, что это крупнейший хостинг-провайдер в Европе.

1&1ionos-overview

1&1 IONOS предлагает широкий спектр услуг, начиная от совместного хостинга и хостинга на WordPress до реселлинга и выделенных серверов, а также другие связанные веб-сервисы, такие как инструменты для создания веб-сайтов и услуги онлайн-маркетинга.

Но только потому, что это один из крупнейших хостинг-провайдеров в мире не означает, что это лучший вариант для вас. Это даже не означает, что это лучший сервис, доступный на рынке. Да, это не опечатка, больше не всегда означает лучше!

У каждого владельца сайта свой набор требований. В этом обзоре мы подробно рассмотрим, что 1&1 IONOS может предложить, включая функционал, цены, поддержку, простоту использования и многое другое — и к концу вы сможете определить, пойдет ли этот сервис именно вам.

Функционал

4.7

1&1 IONOS — хостинг-провайдер с полным спектром услуг. Это означает, что он предлагает в основном все функции, которые вам могут понадобиться для вашего сайта. Не буду утомлять вас всеми деталями, но все основные функции, такие как SSL Wildcard сертификаты, защита от DDoS-атак, автоматическое ежедневное резервное копирование и даже CDN (бесплатно в более дорогих планах) присутствуют.

1&1 IONOS также предлагает инструмент для создания веб-сайтов. Но будьте осторожны — бесплатная ограниченная версия конструктора идет со всеми планами, но если вам нужна премиум-версия, то придется приобретать ее по дополнительной подписке.

Имейте в виду, что 1&1 IONOS не предлагает опцию бесплатного переноса сайта со старого хостинга, что странно с учетом того, насколько это всеобъемлющий хостинг.

Но давайте более подробно рассмотрим некоторые из наиболее интересных функций, которые предлагает 1&1 IONOS.

Хостинг-планы для WordPress

В дополнение к обычному совместному хостингу 1&1 IONOS предлагает специальные планы для WordPress. Отлично подходит для начинающих, так как вы получаете “WordPres-помощник.” Прежде чем ваше воображение разыграется — нет, это не тот помощник, который приедет к вам в офис и нальет чашечку кофе. В двух словах, это инструмент или мастер, который проведет вас через настройки и даже порекомендует темы и плагины, подходящие для вашей области.

Автоматические обновления WordPress также включены в планы, поэтому вам не нужно будет беспокоиться о том, чтобы поддерживать основную установку в актуальном состоянии или нанимать дорогого разработчика, который сделает это за вас.

Функции, улучшающие производительность

Быстрая скорость загрузки чрезвычайно важна для рейтинга в поисковых системах, пользовательского опыта и коэффициентов конверсии. Хотя не все это находится в руках вашего хостинг-провайдера, приятно видеть, что 1&1 IONOS предлагает множество функций и инструментов для повышения производительности. В частности RailGun CDN, SSD-накопитель и протокол HTTP/2.

Удобные для разработчиков функции

Этот раздел заставит вас прыгать от радости, если вы ищете хостинг, который подходит новичкам – а 1&1 IONOS именно такой хостинг. Однако если вы веб-разработчик, 1&1 IONOS вам тоже пригодится.

Он предоставляет по-настоящему нужные вам инструменты. Например, SSH, FTP и SFTP-доступ, а также распределённая система управления версиями Git и Cron для планирования повторяющихся задач.

Платформа 1&1 IONOS также поддерживает Perl, Python, Ruby, SSI и PHP до версии 7.3.

Удобство в использовании

4.7

Будучи провайдером, подходящим для новичков, 1& 1 IONOS должен вместить множество функций в простой интерфейс. Хотя процесс подключения домена и настройки CDN немного сложен, 1&1 IONOS обеспечивает отличный пользовательский интерфейс после регистрации.

Создание новой учетной записи

Потребовалось всего несколько минут, чтобы создать учетную запись на 1 & amp;1 IONOS. Процесс регистрации простой и может легко быть выполненным новичком в этом деле. Если хотите узнать больше, прочитайте мое пошаговое руководство о том, как создать учетную запись на 1&1 IONOS.

Подключение домена и установка WordPress

Поскольку в мой хостинг-план был включен бесплатный домен, мне не нужно было проходить какие-либо сложные процессы, чтобы состыковать домен с 1&1 IONOS. Подключить домен и установить WordPress оказалось удивительно просто (хотя я сталкивался с негативными отзывами об этом процессе).

Установка заняла меньше пяти минут, и я легко справился и без помощи поддержки.

Для получения дополнительной информации о процессе ознакомьтесь с моим подробным руководством по подключению домена и установке WordPress.

Масштабируемые ресурсы

Редко можно увидеть возможность масштабирования ресурсов на планах совместного хостинга. Но с 1&1 IONOS вы можете добавить повышение производительности и увеличить память, оперативку или добавить возможности параллельной обработки, когда вам это нужно.

Дополнительные ресурсы добавляются мгновенно за небольшую ежемесячную плату. Таким образом, даже при выборе совместного хостинга вам не нужно будет беспокоиться о скачках трафика, разрушающих ваш сайт, что для большинства компаний является основным фактором.

Управление админ-панелью на ходу

1&1 IONOS предлагает приложение для смартфонов, чтобы вы могли управлять своими продуктами, выставлением счетов и административными задачами буквально на ходу. Например, вы можете легко отслеживать инвойсы с телефона или планшета. Знаю, это не самая гламурная функция, но она делает административную сторону ведения сайта немного проще.

Конструктор сайтов

Конструктор сайтов 1&1 IONOS — автономный инструмент типа drag-and-drop, бесплатно включенный в большинство планов. Он включает в себя легкую интеграцию с популярными социальными сетями, бизнес-виджетами, такими как инструменты онлайн-планирования, а также более ста полностью адаптивных шаблонов и коллосальную базу данных из 17 000 изображений.

Производительность

С десятью дата-центрами в пяти странах и огромным количеством серверов (90 000), я был удивлен, что мне пришлось покопаться в условиях и положениях, чтобы найти там соглашение об уровне времени безотказной работы.

Гарантия Uptime оказалась неутешительной — 99,9%,, но, по крайней мере, 1&1 IONOS заявляет, что обычно дата-центры дают “почти 100% uptime”. Кроме того, согласно тестам сторонних обзоров, время безотказной работы обычно превышает 99,97%. В целом, время безотказной работы приличное — и, возможно,даже выше среднего, учитывая стоимость услуг.

1&1 IONOS не дает никаких обещаний относительно производительности. Прочитав несколько других отзывов в интернете, я немного забеспокоился. Поскольку настроение клиентов было довольно смешанным, мне захотелось провести свои собственные тесты производительности.

Я сделал это с помощью тестера времени загрузки Sucuri. < strong>Удивительно, но 1&1 IONOS набрал оценку A+ , несмотря на весь скептицизм в сети. Большинство крупных европейских локаций показывали время загрузки между 4 и 40 мс, что отлично.

1and1-ionos-perfomance

Австралия, Токио и некоторые районы США (Атланта и Сан-Франциско) показали худшие результаты, хотя это не было слишком удивительно, поскольку дата-центры расположены в основном в Европе.

Индия показала неожиданно хороший результат, ведь, как правило, неиндийские провайдеры склонны демонстрировать там низкие скорости загрузки, но 1&1 IONOS явно является исключением в этом случае.

Итак, 1&1 IONOS может предложить первоклассную производительность, но это в значительной степени зависит от вашего местонахождения и местонахождения ваших клиентов.

Поддержка

4.0

Обслуживание клиентов в 1&1 IONOS довольно необычно. Во-первых, для предпродажных запросов вы можете только связаться с командой по телефону, либо позвонив им напрямую, либо запросив обратный вызов. Нет живого чата или любого другого метода, чтобы войти в контакт с командой продаж.

Лично мне это показалось неудобным, так как мне было бы удобнее быстро решить вопросы через чат.

У текущих клиентов больше возможностей. Вы получите доступ к консультанту бесплатно на всех планах 1&1 IONOS. Консультант доступен круглосуточно и может предложить консультации по целому ряду тем — от электронного маркетинга до электронной коммерции и даже интеграции Google map.

Хотя не весь опыт общения с поддержкой привел меня в восторг (подробности ниже), это одна из лучших поддержек, которые я видел у хостингов. Если вы новичок, такая поддержка чрезвычайно ценна и обычно не доступна без оплаты экспертной помощи.

Обязательно “активируйте своего личного консультанта” после того, как вы приобрели хостинг-план. Только тогда вы сможете получить поддержку по электронной почте, телефону и в чате.

1and1-ionos-support-img1

Вы можете задать своему персональному консультанту вопросы, связанных с обслуживанием, а не только с хостингом — например, как настроить свою электронную почту, как написать хорошую тему для электронного маркетинга и так далее.

Помимо поддержки личного консультанта, есть хелп-деск со статьями, охватывающими широкий спектр тем.

Живой чат

Как только я получил личного консультанта, первым вопросом, который я хотел задать ему, был вопрос про расположение серверов. Хотя в Великобритании было 10:00 утра, агент был не в сети. Мне досталось только сообщение, в котором говорилось повторить запрос позднее, что я и сделал после этого несколько раз (но безрезультатно).

1and1-ionos-support-img2

К счастью, через несколько часов мне все-таки удалось связаться с агентом. я надеялся узнать точные города, в которых были расположены дата-центры, но он этого не знал. Он мог только сказать мне , что серверы размещены в Европе и Соединенных Штатах. Другие компании предоставят более конкретную информацию. Кроме того, было неприятно, что мне пришлось так долго ждать, чтобы поговорить с кем-то.

Электронная почта

Когда я не мог связаться с консультантом через чат, я решил попробовать следующий метод: электронная почта. Я отправил свое сообщение около 10:00 утра в будний день, где просил указать лучшие методы связи с сервисом. Ответ я получил спустя двое суток. Сообщение было вежливым и отвечало на мой вопрос в полном объеме, но как же долго пришлось ждать.

1and1-ionos-support-img3

Facebook

Поскольку от поддержки я ждал ответ возмутительно долго, я решил посмотреть, будет ли 1&1 IONOS лучше работать на Facebook. Я отправил сообщение с вопросом, есть ли адрес электронной почты, чтобы связаться с командой продаж, или если я могу задать вопросы по продажам непосредственно на Facebook.

Вскоре я получил ответ, в котором говорилось, что я связался с американской страницей Facebook и должно снова задать вопрос на английской странице.

Я сразу же так и сделал, но, хотя в Великобритании была середина дня, я не получил ответа. На следующий день я снова задал вопрос, и на этот раз, наконец, получил ответ. Затем я задал еще один вопрос и получил ответ через пару часов.

1and1-ionos-support-img4

Цены

4.7

Все планы 1&1 IONOS включают щедрое стартовое предложением, которое значительно снижает вашу ежемесячную ставку в течение первых шести или двенадцати месяцев (в зависимости от выбранного вами плана). Прекрасно, но обязательно помните, что после этого стартового периода вы увидите резкое увеличение стоимости подписки.

Все планы включают бесплатный домен. Доступные расширения варьируются в зависимости от вашего местоположения, но .com, .org, .biz, .me, .online, .net и .info идут в качестве стандартных.

Вы также получите бесплатный сертификат SSL Wildcard, кредит Bing Ads и 30-дневную гарантию возврата денег.

Для покупки можно использовать дебетовую или кредитную карту любого крупного банка, а также PayPal.

Отмена и возврат

Удалить учетную запись 1&1 IONOS просто. Вы можете сделать это с панели управления, и нет необходимости обращаться в техподдержку. Поскольку я все еще находился в рамках 30-дневного периода возврата денег, возврат был оформлен автоматически. Весь процесс занял меньше трех минут.

Вы можете узнать о моем опыте удаления учетной записи в этом пошаговом руководстве.

Веб-хостинг

Название плана
Хранилище
Пропускная способность
Количество сайтов
Цена
Moe Details
Бесплатный домен включен при покупке любой услуги хостинга 1&1 IONOS

Итог по 1&1 IONOS

1&1 IONOS может быть ведущим хостинг-провайдером, но я бы не рекомендовал его всем. Его стоит рассматривать в основном тем, кому нужен разносторонний хостинг, предлагающий множество функций по низкой начальной цене.

Правда, функция “Личный консультант” оказалась большим разочарованием. Несмотря на то, что он рекламировался как поддержка 24/7 по телефону, электронной почте и чату, я с трудом получио ответ.

Выбирайте 1&1 IONOS, если вам нужен достойный пакет типа “все включено”, а техподдержка вам не особенно нужна. Если вам нужна быстрая техподдержка, рекомендую Liquid Web или SiteGround.

Прежде чем принять решение, мы настоятельно рекомендуем вам обратить внимание на некоторые альтернативные хостинги, которые мы настоятельно рекомендуем.

Марк Холден
Марк Холден
Марк - full stack веб-разработчик, специализирующийся на HTML5, CSS, JavaScript, MySQL и PHP. Когда он не занят созданием веб-сайтов или ищет новые экземпляры для своей постоянно растущей коллекции гаджетов, он любит играть на барабанах в прогрессив рок-группе. А еще он отлично готовит омлет по-испански.
1123784

Our website contains links to affiliate websites and we receive an affiliate commission for any purchase made to the affiliate website by clicking the links in our website. Learn More. Our reviews are not affected by participation in such programs.

Reviews and expert opinion 1&1 IONOS

Mark Holden Mark Holden Web Hosting Expert

1&1 IONOS may be a leading web host, but I wouldn’t recommend it to everyone. It’s worth considering mainly if you’re looking for a well-rounded company that offers lots of features at a low initial price point.

We hosted the same WordPress website on the most popular web hosting platforms and measured their performance
Click here to see our results >>

Overview

To compare the best web hosts, we hosted the same WordPress website on each one and tested performance, customer service, and value for money. Check out the results here.

1&1 IONOS is one of the world’s leading web hosting providers. With tons of features, cheap pricing, and a long track record dating back to 1988, it’s easy to see why 1&1 IONOS has exploded, currently servicing over eight million customers around the world.

The company is truly an international operation: it has 15 facilities across nine countries and 2,000 employees across 40 countries. You can also view the website in more than half a dozen languages, and learn about local product availability and pricing. If you’re still in any doubt of its status, I can tell you it’s the largest hosting provider in Europe.

1&1ionos-overview

1&1 IONOS offers a wide variety of services ranging from shared and WordPress hosting to reseller and dedicated server hosting, as well as other related web services, such as website building tools and online marketing services.

But just because this is one of the biggest hosting providers in the world doesn’t mean it’s the best option for your needs. It doesn’t even mean it’s the best service available on the market. Yes, you heard me, bigger doesn’t always mean better!

Every website owner has a different set of requirements. This review will dig deep into what 1&1 IONOS has to offer, including features, pricing, support, ease of use, and more — and by the end, you’ll be able to determine if this is the best option for you.

Features

4.5
1&1 IONOS is a full-service hosting provider. This means it offers basically every feature you could possibly need for your website. I won’t bore you with all the details, but all the basics, such as SSL Wildcard certificates, anti-DDoS attack protection, automatic daily backups, and even a CDN (free-of-charge in the top-tier plan) are included.

1&1 IONOS also offers a website building tool. But buyer beware — you get a rather limited version of the builder for free with all of the plans, but if you want a premium version, you’ll have to purchase it as an add-on subscription.

Keep in mind that 1&1 IONOS doesn’t offer free website migrations, which is odd, considering it’s such a comprehensive host.

But let’s take a deeper look at some of the more interesting features 1&1 IONOS does offer.

WordPress Hosting Plans

In addition to regular shared hosting, 1&1 IONOS offers WordPress-specific plans. This is great for beginners, as you get a “WordPress Assistant.” Before you get excited — no, it’s not a real assistant that comes to your office and makes you coffee. In a nutshell, it’s a tool or a wizard, that’ll guide you through setup and even recommend themes and plugins specific to your industry niche.

Automatic WordPress updates are also included with the plans, so you won’t need to worry about keeping your core installation up-to-date or hiring an expensive developer to do it for you.

Performance-Enhancing Features

Fast loading speeds are extremely important for your search engine rankings, user experience, and conversion rates. While not all of this is in the hands of your hosting provider, it’s great to see that 1&1 IONOS offers a variety of performance-enhancing features and tools. These include the RailGun CDN, SSD storage, and HTTP/2 protocol.

Developer-Friendly Features

This section will likely send you running for the hills if you’re looking for a beginner-friendly host – which, of course, 1&1 IONOS is. However, if you’re a web developer, 1&1 IONOS has got your back too.

It does a good job of providing you with the tools you’ll need. For instance, there’s SSH, FTP, and SFTP access, as well as Git version control and cron jobs to schedule repetitive tasks.

The 1&1 IONOS platform also supports Perl, Python, Ruby, SSI, and PHP up to version 7.3.See full list of features

Ease of use

4.5

As a beginner-friendly provider, 1&1 IONOS has to balance its heaps of features with an easy-to-use interface. Although the process to connect your domain and set up your CDN is slightly complicated, 1&1 IONOS  provides an excellent user experience once you’re settled in.

Creating an Account

It took only a couple of minutes to create an account with 1&1 IONOS. The process was straightforward and could easily be completed by someone brand new to hosting. If you’d like to learn more, you can read my step-by-step guide on how to create an account with 1&1 IONOS.

Connecting a Domain and Installing WordPress

As my hosting plan came with a free domain, I didn’t need to go through any complicated processes to map a domain to 1&1 IONOS. It was surprisingly simple to connect the domain and install WordPress (I’ve read a few negative comments online about the process).

The setup took me less than five minutes and could easily be done without help from support.

For more information about the process, head over to my detailed guide explaining exactly how to connect a domain and install WordPress.

Scalable Resources

It’s rare to see scalable resources included with shared hosting plans. But with 1&1 IONOS, you can add performance boosts and increase memory, RAM, or parallel processing capabilities whenever you need to.

The additional resources are added instantly for a small monthly fee. This way, even on a shared hosting plan you won’t need to worry about traffic spikes crashing your website, which is clearly a big no-no for most businesses.

Manage Your Admin on the Go

1&1 IONOS offers a smartphone app so you can manage your products, billing, and administrative tasks on the go. For instance, you can easily keep up with invoices from a mobile phone or tablet. I know, it’s not the most glamorous feature, but it makes the admin side of running a website just a little easier.

Website Building Tool

The 1&1 IONOS website builder is a standalone drag-and-drop tool included free in the web hosting packages. It includes easy integrations with popular social media networks, business widgets such as online scheduling tools, and over a hundred fully-responsive templates and a database of a whopping 17,000 stock images.

See if 1&1 IONOS is Right for You

Performance

4.5
WIth ten data centers in five countries housing a massive 90,000 servers, I was surprised that I had to dig into the depths of the terms and conditions to find the uptime Service Level Agreement.

This turned out to be a rather underwhelming 99.9% guarantee, but at least 1&1 IONOS does state that its data centers generally have “almost 100% uptime.” Also, according to tests by third-party reviews, the uptime is generally above 99.97%. Overall, the uptime is decent — and perhaps even above average considering the affordability.

1&1 IONOS doesn’t make any promises regarding performance. After reading a few other reviews online, I was a little concerned. As customer sentiment was quite mixed, I wanted to conduct my own performance tests.

I did this using the Sucuri Load Time Tester. Surprisingly enough, 1&1 IONOS scored an A+ grade here despite all the naysayers online. Most major European locations loaded in between 4 and 40ms, which is excellent.

1and1-ionos-perfomance

Australia, Tokyo, and certain U.S. locations (Atlanta and San Francisco) performed the worst, although this wasn’t overly surprising as the data centers are primarily located in Europe.

India scored unexpectedly well — typically, non-Indian providers are prone to slow loading speeds, but 1&1 IONOS is clearly an exception here.

In summary, 1&1 IONOS can offer you top-notch performance, but it does greatly depend on where you and your customers are located.See if 1&1 IONOS is Right for You

Support

4.0
1&1 IONOS’ customer service is quite unusual. First, for pre-sales inquiries, you can only contact the team via telephone — either by calling them directly or requesting a callback. There’s no live chat or any other method to get in touch with the sales team.

Personally, I found this inconvenient, as I’d much rather hop on live chat to quickly get answers to my questions.

Existing customers have more options. You’ll get access to a consultant free of charge with all 1&1 IONOS plans. This consultant is available to you around the clock and can offer advice on a range of topics from email marketing to e-commerce and even Google map integration.

Although the whole experience was underwhelming (I’ll go into more detail below), this is by far one of the best services I’ve seen from a web hosting company. If you’re a beginner, this kind of support is extremely valuable and not usually available without paying for expert help.

Be sure to “activate your personal consultant” after you’ve purchased your hosting plan. Only then will you be able to get support via email, phone, and live chat.

1and1-ionos-support-img1

You can ask your personal consultant questions about a broad range of service-related issues, not just those related to hosting — such as how to set up your email, how to write a good email marketing subject line, and so on.

On top of support from your personal consultant, there’s a help desk with articles covering a broad range of topics.

Live Chat

Once I’d activated my personal consultant, the first question I wanted to ask him was where the servers were located. Although it was 10:00 AM in the U.K., the agent was offline. There was a note telling me to try again later, which I did on several occasions (to no avail).

1and1-ionos-support-img2

Fortunately, a few hours later, I did manage to get an agent to pick up. I was hoping to find out the exact cities the data centers were located in, but the operator did not know. He could only tell me that the servers were in Europe and the United States. Other companies will provide more specific information. Also, it was frustrating that I had to wait so long to speak with someone.

Email

When I couldn’t reach my consultant via live chat, I decided to try the next best method: email. I sent my message around 10:00 AM on a weekday, asking for confirmation on the best methods to get in touch. It took me two business days to get a reply. This response was polite and answered my question in full, but it’s a shame it was so slow.

1and1-ionos-support-img3

Facebook

Since it took such an infuriatingly long time to get a response, I decided to see if 1&1 IONOS would do any better on Facebook. I sent a message asking whether there was an email address to contact the sales team by, or if I could ask sales questions directly on Facebook.

I received a reply soon after, which said that I’d contacted the U.S. Facebook page and I should ask my question again at the U.K. page.

I did so right away, but although it was mid-afternoon in the U.K., I didn’t get a response. I followed up again the next day, and this time I finally got a reply. I then asked another question and got a reply a couple of hours later.

1and1-ionos-support-img4

Pricing

4.5
1&1 IONOS’ hosting plans all come with a generous introductory offer, which reduces your monthly rate significantly for the first six or twelve months (depending on the plan you choose). This is great, but be sure to take into account that after this introductory period, you’ll see a steep increase in your renewal rates.

All plans come with a free domain. The available extensions vary depending on your location, but .com, .org, .biz, .me, .online, .net, and .info seem to be standard.

You’ll also get a free SSL wildcard certificate, Bing Ads credit, and a 30-day money-back guarantee.

When you’re ready to make a purchase, you can pay by direct debit, major credit cards, or PayPal.

Cancellations & Refunds

Canceling my account with 1&1 IONOS was simple. You can do it from the dashboard; no need to contact a support agent. Since I was still within the 30-day money-back period, my refund was automatically applied. The whole process took less than three minutes.

Read about my cancellation experience in this step-by-step guide.

A Free Domain is included when purchasing any hosting service from 1&1 IONOS

Comparison

How does 1&1 IONOS match up to the competition?

HostingerCompare4.9Compare
InterServerCompare4.8Compare
1&1 IONOSCompare4.5Compare
BluehostCompare2.5Compare

User reviews

Based on 13 reviews in 5 languages
1.5
Write a Review
Language
  • English (5)
  • Français (4)
  • Italiano (2)
  • Deutsch (1)
  • Español (1)
Sort by
Newest
  • Newest
  • Oldest
  • Best
  • Worst
Reply to review
Reply
Visit 1&1 IONOS
reply
en
Error
onclick="trackClickout('event', 'clickout', 'Visit User Reviews', '1and1-ionos-hosting', this, true, ReturnPopup);"
View 1 reply
View %d replies
1
Matthew Ohern
USA
August 19, 2021
The worst customer service I’ve experience in any industry

Just getting a hosting contract transferred has required multiple calls, hours on the phone, and more than a week for what would have been a 10 minute process with GoDaddy. The reps never had the latest notes and I couldn't make any progress even after complying with the additional info they continued to request. I've truly never been more frustrated with a customer service experience and my business has suffered lost advertising revenue with how long this has taken.

avatar
1
Anon
USA
May 23, 2021
Cheap, inefficent, and never reliable

Well, Like money? Don't waste it here. 95% of their issues are their routers and then they charge you to fix it. Simple hack around this, just keep re-imaging the server, you'll probably have 30-45 minutes of uptime then. Outside of that, yeah they need tracert, because their firewall will block you, and then you have to pay more for it. Started at 1500 packets, probably will ask for 25,000 tomorrow. I remember when 1 and 1 were decent at best. Pick someone else, I'm just coding, imagine someone who has a business webpage... ouch.

avatar
4
anonymus
USA
March 15, 2021
Inexpensive, Reliable, Comprehensive Toolset

I've used 1&1 for over a decade here in the U.S. It's inexpensive, reliable, and offers a very complete range of supporting software. It can be a bit confusing for a beginner to navigate, but that's true of most competitors. I don't know that my website has ever been unavailable. Email access is unavailable maybe once a year. Overall, an excellent record for uptime.

4
Gemma
Portugal
July 18, 2020
Had great uptime in the UK

I have various sites with Ionos and manage a few sites for others, some of which are with GoDaddy. I use a central management system for monitoring them and am constantly getting notifications from the GD sites that they are down, and not just for a couple of seconds. I have never had a downtime notification from Ionos during UK day time, occasionally overnight and with pre-warning. Customer service has been great, although I would prefer live chat.

avatar
1
anonymus
Croatia
March 28, 2020
List of countries

The list of countries includes all countries of the world, including all those in our area, with the exception of Croatia (Local name CHrvatska). Why?? Can this be corrected ..I cannot claim a member because I am unable to register my country.

1&1 IONOS REVIEW: BOTTOM LINE

1&1 IONOS may be a leading provider of web hosting, but I wouldn’t recommend it to everyone. It’s worth considering mainly if you’re looking for a well-rounded company that offers lots of features at a low initial price point.

However, the “Personal Consultant” feature was a huge disappointment. Even though it was touted as 24/7 support by phone, email, and chat, I struggled to get a response from anyone.

Choose 1&1 IONOS if you want a decent, all-inclusive package and are less concerned about timely customer support. But if you’re looking for quick customer service, I recommend Liquid Web or SiteGround.

Before you make a decision, we highly recommend you check out some alternative hosting companies, which we highly recommend.

FAQ

How much does 1&1 IONOS cost per month?1&1 IONOS has some of the lowest discounted prices for shared, WordPress, VPS, and dedicated hosting plans. But its regular prices are higher than some hosts that provide better value. Take a look at our 10 best web hosts for 2021 to see some better long-term options.Will the cost of my 1&1 IONOS hosting go up when I renew?1&1 IONOS’s sign-up discounts offer low prices for up to 12 months, but the monthly rates revert to regular pricing upon renewal. And since the regular prices aren’t as competitive as the discounted ones, it might be worth visiting our coupons page to find the latest deals for October 2021 from some other top web hosting providers.Does 1&1 IONOS have an uptime guarantee?1&1 IONOS has a 99.9% uptime guarantee. That might sound great, but it means your site could be down for several hours a month while still meeting the minimum standard. However, we didn’t have any uptime issues in our tests, and some third-party reviewers achieved uptime of 99.97%, which is solid, especially considering the low price.How much does 1&1 IONOS charge for a domain name?You get domain name registration for free for one year with 1&1 IONOS’s shared, WordPress, and dedicated server hosting. You have to pay for domain name registration separately with VPS hosting, but you can buy domain names for just $1 each for the first year. Regardless of the hosting plan you choose, you’ll have to pay the regular price for your domain name after the first year.

Mark Holden Mark Holden
Mark is a full stack web developer specializing in HTML5, CSS, JavaScript, MySQL, and PHP. When he’s not busy building websites or geeking out over the latest addition to his ever-growing gadget collection, he enjoys playing drums for his progressive rock band. He can also make a mean Spanish omelet.

1&1 IONOS Alternatives

Hostinger
4.9
Cheapest prices in the market for long-term plans
Read Review
Nexcess
4.8
Best managed hosting for multiple platforms, from WordPress to Magento
Read Review
InterServer
4.8
The best choice for flexible hosting on a month-to-month basis
Read Review
Kinsta
4.7
Fastest, most consistent speeds in our testing
Read Review
692632
image#1 Web Host for October 2021

Great Hosting for a
GREAT Price

Host your website on lightning-fast servers
and get a FREE domain name and email accounts