评论与专家意见 SiteGround

排名4 / 122 网页寄存服务
4.7
易于使用
4.6
功能
4.8
標價
4.6
支援
5.0
性能
4.5
服务器位置
芝加哥
伦敦
阿姆斯特丹
新加坡
亨德里克·休曼
亨德里克·休曼
网页托管专家
就一家还算新面孔的公司来说,SiteGround拥有良好的声誉和庞大的客户群。其提供独家定制的WordPress工具和低廉的入门价格,适合初学者,也同时吸引有经验的网络开发人员。

總論

SiteGround

全能托管服务?

SiteGround提供了各种各样的托管计划,包括管理WordPress和WooCommerce的托管计划。快来看看它是否符合你的需求。

总部位于保加利亚的SiteGround于2014年成立,并快速成为托管界的宠儿,管理超过一百万个活跃网站。该公司为经验丰富的网络开发人员提供了强大的工具,同时承诺提供即使是完全没经验的新手也能轻松使用的托管体验。

SiteGround提供从简单的共享托管(包括网站构建器)到WordPress和WooCommerce托管、可扩展的云托管、专用服务器和企业解决方案等各式计划。其在五个地点、三个大陆设有数据中心。

这样不就每个人都适用吗?我个人不是一刀切的大信徒,对网络托管来说更是如此。

你需要找到符合你的需求的服务。 在本次审核中,我将详细探讨SiteGround的功能、易用性、性能和支持。和我一起探究这个业界新宠是否真的能让你的网站更上一层楼。

功能

4.8

顶级安全性和最卓越的性能,因为你值得

SiteGround提供了一系列出色的工具来提升你的网站性能和安全性。更好的是,你不需要精通网络技术即可上手。

如果你想要易用的WordPress托管服务,SiteGround的WordPress托管可让你梦想成真。其所有计划都附带完整的电子邮件托管、免费的CloudFare CDN许可证、HTTPS支持、免费的SSL证书以及一系列性能和安全增强工具,这些我们都将在稍后讨论。

如果你不喜欢使用WordPress,或者你刚创建你的第一个网站,也别担心 – SiteGround的共享主机方案随附Weebly的网站构建器。该构建器使用起来非常有趣,甚至让工作变成一种娱乐(但我必须重申是个极客)。

现在,让我们来深入了解一下SiteGround最有趣的功能。

安全、高性能的服务器

不管你是不是极客,你都应该关心你的网站的安全性,以避免必须处理他人安全漏洞传播到你的服务器的麻烦。相信我。

虽然SiteGround为你提供了大量的安全工具,但其最重要的功能之一是基于LXC容器架构的安全基础架构。这意味着你的托管服务器将与其他用户安全隔离,以彻底防止其他用户无法占用你的服务器资源并影响你的网站性能。

此外,SiteGround还使用最好的服务器监控工具之一1H Guardian。该工具可扫描服务器并向技术人员发出任何威胁或问题警报。

SG Optimizer

如果你是WordPress用户,此插件可以将你的网站与SiteGround的WordPress优化基础架构连接起来。 这不仅可以提升你网站的性能,还可以通过一键式SSL安装和PHP版本管理器来轻松管理你的网站。

此插件还附带了其他一些很棒且通常需要额外付费的工具。你可以使用它来为你的站点配置HTTPS – 只需点击一下即可。此外,你还可以使用它来清除缓存、排除URL,甚至优化图像和CSS或HTML。

它还附带WordPress最好的动态缓存工具之一: SuperCacher

SiteGround

SG Site Scanner

这是SiteGround的另一个专有工具,可为你提供一些很少其他主机提供的酷炫功能。其由Sucuri提供支持,并主要用作恶意软件检测系统。此外,它还会扫描你从主页链接到的每个页面,以检查受感染的URL或黑名单。

SG Site Scanner每次检测到问题时,都会立即提醒你,以便你采取必要措施。

以下是货真价实的极客专属工具

SiteGround提供所有极客必需品,例如一键式登台、手动和自动备份与恢复以及cPanel。但它也提供了一些你在其他地方不易找到的独特功能。你只要注册一个GoGeek计划即可获得这些功能。

你的托管将附带预安装的SG-Git,可让你将站点添加到你自己的Git存储库,以便你在任何地方下载和处理多个网站代码的分支。

此外,你还可以使用SiteGround的PCI兼容主机设置安全的电子商务网站。

所有主机帐户都预装了WP-CLI,可让你从命令行界面管理WordPress网站。

易於使用

4.6

你可能从此爱上cPanel

SiteGround简化了托管管理的一些技术层面,进而使各种级别的用户都能获得轻松愉快的使用体验。

SiteGround简单、易用的仪表板集成了cPanel。其外观可能不是很令人印象深刻,但其功能却绰绰有余。

SiteGround几乎完全是为开发人员而设计。该公司近来试图迎合更广泛的客户,而我认为他们做得不错。尽管其界面还可以更直观一些,并且没有太多手持操作,但其托管产品仍非常容易使用。

创建帐户

使用SiteGround注册非常简单。但请注意,系统将自动为你选择为期12个月的计划。其加售产品只有一个 – SG Site Scanner,但在默认情况下不会自动勾选。

其注册过程花了我大约10分钟,,而就我的观察此过程最长也不会超过10分钟。你可以在阅读完整详情。

安装向导和CMS安装

你第一次登录SiteGround仪表板时,会看到的第一个选项就是安装你选择的CMS(内容管理系统)。你只需点击一下即可进行安装,且选择众多。

除了WordPress、Joomla、Drupal和Weebly等热门选项之外,你还可以从Magento、PrestaShop、ZenCart等电子商务平台列表中进行选择。但你应该注意的是其中某些平台是出了名地难以自行安装。

连接域名并安装WordPress

SiteGround的一键式安装程序使设置WordPress变得轻而易举。

你只需将你的域名服务器指向SiteGround即可连接你的域名。然而,你的SSL证书/ HTTPS不会自动激活,因此你必须自己动手操作。

SiteGround的一键安装程序和简单的CDN设置向导相当适合托管新手。但是,如果能够提供更实用的文档,则会更好。

在此仔细查看设置SiteGround托管帐户的过程

集成、简化的cPanel

cPanel是最受欢迎的主机控制面板之一,但其用户体验却还有待改进。好消息是 SiteGround的版本更容易使用,即使是之前从未使用过cPanel的人也能轻松上手。

其cPanel内置于主机仪表板中,并删除了大部分不必要的应用程序和集成,使界面保持简洁美观。

集成CloudFlare

CloudFlare是一项第三方CDN服务,且是出名的难以设置。

但SiteGround对此提出了解决方案。

SiteGround将CloudFare内置于其仪表板中,使其更容易使用。

你只需点击几下并无需使用你的DNS设置即可在网站上激活CloudFare。此外,你还可以在同一页面选择升级到高级的CloudFlare许可证。

SiteGround

性能

4.5

没有人是完美的:正常运行时间出色,但加载时间令人失望

SiteGround是少数提供自家性能增强工具的主机之一,但它是否符合你的需求?

SiteGround拥有“速度和正常运行时间技术”,并支持99.99%的正常运行时间保证。

我个人不喜欢只听服务提供商的一面之辞,而是喜欢亲身试用以自行测试。 (别觉得我怪,极客就是如此。

我使用了Sucuri页面加载速度测试仪检查我的WordPress网站 – 而我的网站不是一般简单的默认WordPress网站。为了测试,我特地安装了WooCommerce和Jetpack等重量级插件,然后使用了一个多媒体丰富的模板来启动。此外,我还运行了一个活跃的CloudFare CDN,并选择在芝加哥的数据中心。

我不得不说,我对结果感到有些失望。

正如你所看到的,SiteGround在Sucuri的测试中只获得了C的评价。其页面加载时间在美国的表现相当不错,但是距离越远表现就越糟糕。即使是纽约的页面加载时间也超过一秒钟,而在像印度和巴西这样的国家,加载时间更是超过一般访客可以接受的程度。

当然,我的SiteGround网站确实安装了一些大型插件。但即使如此,SiteGround的速度与其他主机相比 仍显怠慢。

SiteGround

如果你本身是WordPress用户,并且打算注册SiteGround,则卸载一些你不需要的预安装插件可能会有所帮助。此外,你也可以花一些时间使用SuperCacher来优化你的性能。

话虽如此, SiteGround确实提供了出色的正常运行时间。多个在线消息来源指出,其在大多数月份的正常运行时间均为100%,并且在较长间隔时间内的平均表现为99.99%。而我在使用SiteGround的期间,并没有遇到任何停机时间。

因此,如果网站的正常运行时间和可用性对你而言比页面加载时间更重要,那么SiteGround可能仍然是一个不错的选择。

支援

5.0

超乎想象的超级支持!

有了来自超专业代理的即使回复 – 你还需要什么?

SiteGround的最佳功能实际上可能与其服务器或软件没有任何关系。在我看来,其绝佳的实时聊天是其脱颖而出的关键。

无论你使用哪种支持渠道,都可以获得快速响应。他们声明他们会立即接听电话和回复实时聊天查询,并在10分钟内回复票务申请。我可以以个人经历告诉你:此言不虚。

我甚至会说 SiteGround拥有我接触过最有能力的支持人员。他们会快速回复你可能遇到的任何问题,且不会不断将你转介给另一个支持代理。这便足以显示他们的专业度。

其支持全天候提供。我只发现过其实时聊天支持停机一次,且过程只持续了大约10分钟。

在线聊天支持

我提出的第一个支持查询是在注册期间。由于外币问题,我无法验证我的银行详细信息,并且必须联系支持以验证我的帐户。即使我尚未成功注册,其支持代表仍几乎立即回复我的查询。

这种问题总是需要一段时间才能解决,但其友好的支持代理人Radostin全程在旁为我提供支持,且离开的时间非常短占,并总是在继续下一步之前,确保我我没有其他问题。

SiteGround

当我不确定是否应该先设置我的SSL或CDN证书时,Radostin也快速为我提供协助。他不仅回答了我的问题,还提议为我设置我的CDN和我的SSL证书。我请他为我设置SSL证书,但选择自行设置CDN。

即使此过程延续30多分钟,他也始终保持良好的态度。他总是确定我知道事情的进展,并快速答复我的问题。

SiteGround-support2

SiteGround-support3

电子邮件支持

在电子邮件/票证支持方面,SiteGround也不会让你失望。如你所见,我在五分钟内便得到了答复。其代理在短短五分钟内,通过页面加载测试程序运行我的网站,并建议我可以做一些进一步的优化:

SiteGround-support4

不仅如此,我所有后续的电子邮件也都得到快速的回复。这无疑是卓越客户支持的典范。

唯一我不喜欢的是你必须经过几个步骤才能真正联系其支持代表。首先你必须按类别缩小搜索范围。然后,你会在键入查询时获得支持文章的链接。只有这样做,你才能开启支持票或开始进行实时聊天。这个过程虽然有点麻烦,但根据我的经验,结果总是值得的。

SiteGround-support5

標價

4.6

经济实惠的托管选择 - 但有一两个小缺点

SiteGround的起始价格很低,且绝对物有所值,但你需要注意续订率的高低。

SiteGround的虚拟主机、WordPress主机和WooCommerce主机都提供相同价格的基本套餐。其价格可能看起来很低 – 实际上也确实如此 – 但请记住,这些特殊费率仅适用于你的第一个托管订阅。之后,其价格会大幅上涨。

另一件你需要知道的事是,如果你选择每月支付而不是每年支付,则需要支付设置费。

有点令人失望的是,SiteGround的计划都不包含免费域名,但如果你计划将现有网站转移到其服务器,那么该公司将负担你的域名和域名隐私的后续费用。不幸的是,如果你正在构建新网站,就无法享有此优惠。

当然,市面上还有更便宜的选择,但 SiteGround的StartUp计划仍然非常实惠。然而,我觉得他们的GrowBig和GoGeek计划与竞争对手相比略高,特别是考虑到你无法获得无限制托管的事实。

举例来说,使用InMotion Hosting类似的WP-4000S计划,你可以获得五倍的存储空间、三倍的访问者数,以及许多相同的功能。

话虽如此,如果你计划托管多个网站或者你是经销商,则SiteGround是你最便宜的选择之一,因为你可以托管无限数量的网站。

取消和退款

你可以利用SiteGround 30天的退款保证来放心试用其托管服务。这是一个非常标准的政策,但它还涵盖了注册按月计划所需支付的安装费用。

但SiteGround的退款政策让我最欣赏的一点是你可以取消你的帐户并申请退款,而无需与其支持人员进行交谈。其自动向导可快速为你执行取消步骤。如果你跟我一样觉得通过支持来取消帐户很令人尴尬,这点便非常方便。

要了解如何取消SiteGround帐户并取得退款,请点此查看附有截图的分步指南。

网站托管

方案名稱
儲存
頻寬
網站數
價格
10 GB
Unlimited
1
$3.95
20 GB
Unlimited
Unlimited
$6.45
30 GB
Unlimited
Unlimited
$11.95
方案名稱
儲存
頻寬
網站數
價格
10 GB
Unlimited
1
$3.95
20 GB
Unlimited
Unlimited
$6.45
30 GB
Unlimited
Unlimited
$11.95
更多细节

独立服务器主机

方案名稱
儲存
中央處理器
記憶體
價格
500 GB
4 x 3.20GHz
3.91 GB
$219.00
1000 GB
4 x 3.50GHz
15.6 GB
$299.00
1.95 TB
12 x 2.00GHz
15.6 GB
$599.00
方案名稱
儲存
中央處理器
記憶體
價格
500 GB
4 x 3.20GHz
3.91 GB
$219.00
1000 GB
4 x 3.50GHz
15.6 GB
$299.00
1.95 TB
12 x 2.00GHz
15.6 GB
$599.00
更多细节

云主机

方案名稱
儲存
頻寬
中央處理器
記憶體
價格
40 GB
5 TB
2 x 3.00GHz
4 GB
$64.00
60 GB
5 TB
3 x 3.00GHz
6 GB
$96.00
80 GB
5 TB
4 x 3.00GHz
8 GB
$128.00
120 GB
5 TB
8 x 3.00GHz
10 GB
$192.00
方案名稱
儲存
頻寬
中央處理器
記憶體
價格
40 GB
5 TB
2 x 3.00GHz
4 GB
$64.00
60 GB
5 TB
3 x 3.00GHz
6 GB
$96.00
80 GB
5 TB
4 x 3.00GHz
8 GB
$128.00
120 GB
5 TB
8 x 3.00GHz
10 GB
$192.00
更多细节

的结论 SiteGround

优点、缺点和特点:SiteGround是你要的托管服务吗?

一方面,SiteGround兼具了卓越的正常运行时间和滴水不漏的安全性,以确保网站的持续可用性和数据安全。另一方面,其页面的加载速度也确实没有特别出色。

SiteGround出色的客户支持使其在竞争者中脱颖而出。其价格也不错,但是以相同成本来看,你能得到的存储空间比其他主机提供的存储空间要少。

所以,SiteGround到底适不适合你?这一切都取决于你的身份和你的需求。

如果你精通技术、喜欢cPanel,并且有时间优化网站性能,那么 SiteGround便是一个极适合开发人员的选项 – 特别是如果你计划托管多个网站。

如果你正在寻找更适合初学者、可以立即上手的托管体验,那么我认为你还有更好的选择。

话虽如此,SiteGround仍然是托管领域的新玩家,而就我到目前为止的观察,我认为它只会变得越来越好。

亨德里克·休曼
亨德里克·休曼
嗨,我是你的网络大师,亨德里克。你需要知道的关于我的唯一两件事是:我喜欢制作网站,而我也喜欢写有关如何制作网站的文章。我的使命就是让制作网站变得更轻松、有趣。
532113
© 2019 WebsitePlanet.com. 版权所有。

Reviews and expert opinion SiteGround

Hendrik Human
Hendrik Human
Web Hosting Expert
SiteGround has a great reputation and a huge customer base for a company that hasn’t been around very long. It offers exclusive, custom-built WordPress tools and low introductory prices, and aims to be beginner-friendly while aso appealing to experienced web developers.

Overview

siteground-overview

One Host Fits All?

SiteGround offers an impressive variety of hosting plans, including managed WordPress and WooCommerce hosting. Find out if it’s the right host for you.

Bulgaria-based SiteGround has only been around since 2014, but it’s quickly becoming the Mr. Popularity of the hosting world, with over a million active sites. The company provides powerful tools for experienced web developers, while promising an easy hosting experience for even the newest of newbies.

SiteGround offers everything from simple shared hosting (with a website builder included), to managed WordPress and WooCommerce plans, to scalable cloud hosting, dedicated servers, and enterprise solutions. It has data centers in five locations, spread out over three different continents.

A little something for everyone, you say? Well, I’m not a big believer in the one-size-fits-all approach. If it’s not true of t-shirts, it’s certainly not true of web hosts.

You need to find the right host for your needs. In this review, I’ll be taking a closer look at SiteGround’s features, ease of use, performance, and support. Join me and we’ll figure out together if the new Mr. Popularity is going to bring out the best in you and your website, or if he’s only going to hang you out to dry.

Features

4.8

Top Security and Top Performance, Because You Deserve the Best

SiteGround offers an impressive set of tools to boost your website’s performance and security. Even better, you don’t need to be a web geek to use them (well, you can be, but it’s not obligatory).

If hassle-free WordPress hosting sounds like a dream come true, you’ll love SiteGround’s managed WordPress hosting. All plans come with full email hosting, a free CloudFare CDN license, HTTPS support, a free SSL certificate, and a bunch of performance and security enhancing tools we’ll discuss in a moment.

If WordPress isn’t your thing, or if you’re just starting out with your first website, you’ll be happy to know that SiteGround’s shared hosting plans come with the Weebly website builder. I’ve used it before, and I can tell you it’s so much fun to use, it doesn’t even feel like work (but then again, I am a bit of a geek).

Now, let’s take a deeper look at some of SiteGround’s most interesting features.

Secure, High-Performance Servers

Whether you’re a geek or not, you should care about your website’s security. You don’t want to have to deal with someone else’s security breach spreading to your server. Trust me.

While SiteGround provides you with a bunch of security tools, one of its most important features is its secure infrastructure, based on LXC-container architecture. This means that your hosting server will be securely isolated from other users. It also means that those other users can’t eat up your server resources and affect your website’s performance.

SiteGround also uses one of the best server monitoring tools, Guardian by 1H, which scans its servers and alerts its technicians of any threats or issues.

SG Optimizer

If you’re a WordPress user, this plugin can connect your website with SiteGround’s WordPress-optimized infrastructure. This not only boosts your website’s performance – it also makes managing your site easier, with one-click SSL installs and a PHP version manager.

The plugin comes with some other great tools you’d normally have to pay a premium for. You can use it to configure HTTPS for your site – all it takes is a single click. You can also use it to purge cache, exclude URLs, or even optimize your images and CSS or HTML.

It also gives you access to SuperCacher, which is one of the best dynamic caching tools for WordPress.

SiteGround-features1

SG Site Scanner

This is another one of SiteGround’s proprietary tools, which provides you with some cool features not many hosts offer. Powered by Sucuri, it mainly acts as a malware detection system. It also scans every page you link to from your homepage to check for infected URLs or blacklists.

Whenever SG Site Scanner detects an issue with your website, it will alert you immediately so you can take action.

And Now for the Really Geeky Tools

SiteGround offers all the geek essentials, like one-click staging, manual and automatic backup and restore, and cPanel. But it also offers a few unique features you won’t easily find elsewhere. Just keep in mind that you’ll need to sign up to one of the GoGeek plans to get them.

Your hosting will come with pre-installed SG-Git, which allows you to add your site to your own Git repository so that you can download and work on multiple branches of your website code anywhere.

You’ll also be able to set up secure e-commerce websites for merchants using SiteGround’s PCI compliant hosting.

All hosting accounts also come with WP-CLI pre-installed, so you can manage your WordPress website from a command line interface.

Ease of use

4.6

cPanel Could Be Your New Best Friend

SiteGround has simplified some of the more technical aspects of hosting management, to make the experience nice and easy for users of all levels.

SiteGround offers a simple, user-friendly dashboard featuring integrated cPanel. It’s not very impressive as far as looks are concerned, but it gets the job done.

SiteGround started out geared almost exclusively at developers. These days, the company tries to cater to a wider range of customers, and I think they manage to pull it off. Things aren’t as intuitive as they could be and there’s not a lot of hand-holding going on, but the managed hosting products are quite easy to use.

Creating an Account

Signing up with SiteGround is easy. Just be aware that the 12-month plan is automatically selected. There’s one upsell – yes, only one – SG Site Scanner, which isn’t checked by default.

The sign-up process took me about 10 minutes to complete, and I can’t see any reason why it would take longer than that. You can read all about it here.

Setup Wizard and CMS Installation

When you log into your SiteGround dashboard for the first time, the first thing you’ll see is the option to install the CMS (Content Management System) of your choice. All it takes is one click, and there’s a very nice selection, too.

On top of popular options like WordPress, Joomla, Drupal, and Weebly, you can select from a list of e-commerce platforms like Magento, PrestaShop, ZenCart, and others. It should be noted that some of these are notoriously tricky to install on your own.

Connecting a Domain and Installing WordPress

SiteGround’s one-click installer makes setting up WordPress as easy as…well, one click.

To connect your domain, all you have to do is point your nameservers to SiteGround. Your SSL certificate/HTTPS won’t be activated automatically, so you’ll have to do that yourself.

SiteGround’s one-click installer and simple CDN setup wizard definitely make things easier for hosting newbies. It would, however, be nice if they could provide better documentation.

Take a closer look at the process of setting up my SiteGround hosting account here.

Integrated, Streamlined cPanel

cPanel is one of the most popular hosting control panels around, but its user experience is known to be less than stellar. The good news is that SiteGround’s version is easier to use, even if you’ve never used cPanel before.

It’s built right into the hosting dashboard, and SiteGround has removed most of the unnecessary apps and integrations, keeping it nice and clean.

Integrated CloudFlare

CloudFlare is a third-party CDN service, and it is known to be a pain to set up.

Wait…did someone say “SiteGround to the rescue?”

You’ll find CloudFare built into your SiteGround dashboard, making it easier than ever to use.

You can activate it on your site with just a few clicks, and without having to play around with your DNS settings. You can also choose to upgrade to premium CloudFlare licenses from the same screen.

SiteGround-ease-of-use1

Performance

4.5

Nobody’s Perfect: Great Uptime, but Disappointing Loading Times

Yes, SiteGround is one of the few hosts to offer its own performance-enhancing tools, but are they good enough?

SiteGround boasts of its “Speed and Uptime Technology,” and backs that by a 99.99% uptime guarantee.

I don’t know about you, but I don’t like to just take a web host at its word. I like to run tests and see things for myself. (Stop looking at me like that. We’ve already established that I’m a geek.)

I used the Sucuri page load speed tester to check my WordPress site. Now, this isn’t just your plain old default WordPress site. I went to the trouble of installing some heavyweight plugins like WooCommerce and Jetpack, and then I threw in a multimedia-rich template to boot. I also had an active CloudFare CDN running. I chose a data center in Chicago.

I have to say, I was somewhat disappointed with the results.

As you can see, SiteGround only scored a measly C in Sucuri’s test. Page load times were pretty decent in the U.S., but the further you go, the worse it gets. Even New York crossed the one-second mark, and in countries like India and Brazil, loading times were way past the point where you are expected to start losing a lot of  visitors.

Granted, my SiteGround website did have a few big plugins installed. But even taking that into account, SiteGround is still a bit of a slouch compared to other hosts.

SiteGround-performance1

If you’re a WordPress user and you’re going to sign up with SiteGround, it could help to uninstall some of the pre-installed plugins you don’t need. You could also use SuperCacher to optimize your performance, but you’d need to invest some time in that.

That said, SiteGround does provide outstanding uptime. According to multiple online sources, the uptime is 100% for most months, and averages out at around 99.99% over a longer period of time. During my time with SiteGround, I experienced no downtime at all.

So, if your website’s uptime and availability is more important to you than page loading times, then SiteGround may still be a good option.

Support

5.0

It’s a Bird…It’s a Plane…It’s Super Support!

Quick responses from highly professional support agents who obviously know their stuff – what else could you possibly want?

SiteGround’s best feature might actually not have anything to do with its servers or software. In my opinion, the incredible live chat is what really sets it apart from other hosts.

No matter what support channel you prefer, you can expect a very quick response. They say they answer phone calls and live chat queries instantly, and reply to tickets within 10 minutes. Let me tell you from personal experience: this is no bluff.

I’ll even go as far as to say that SiteGround has the most capable support staff I’ve come in contact with. They reply quickly to any question you might have, no matter how technical, and you never get passed around from agent to agent. This shows you how knowledgeable they are.

Support is available 24/7. I’ve only seen the live chat unavailable once, but it only lasted about 10 minutes.

Live Chat Support

The very first support query I made was during sign-up. I couldn’t verify my banking details due to a foreign currency issue, and had to reach out to support to verify my account. Even though I hadn’t technically signed up yet, I got a response almost immediately.

This kind of issue always takes a while to resolve, but Radostin, my friendly support agent, was with me every step of the way. There were never long gaps where he left me hanging, and he always made sure I was managing before moving on to the next step.

SiteGround-support1

When I wasn’t sure whether to set up my SSL or CDN certificate first, Radostin was once again there in a flash to help me out. Not only did he answer my question, but he also offered to set up both my CDN and my SSL certificate for me. I took him up on his offer for the SSL certificate but wanted to do the CDN myself.

Even though the process dragged on for over 30 minutes, he never lost his positive attitude. He always made sure I knew what was going on, and I never had to wait long for a reply.

SiteGround-support2

SiteGround-support3

Email Support

SiteGround won’t let you down when it comes to email/ticket support either. As you can see, I got a reply within five minutes. In that short time, the agent had already run my site through a page load tester and recommended some further optimizing I could do:

SiteGround-support4

It wasn’t just a first-impressions thing, either. All my follow-up emails were met with speedy replies. This is exactly what excellent customer support means.

The only thing I found slightly annoying was that you have to go through a few steps before you can actually contact support. You’ll have to narrow down your search by category. Then, when you type in your query, you get links to support articles. Only then can you actually open a ticket or start a live chat. This process is a bit tedious, but in my experience, it was always worth it in the end.

SiteGround-support5

Pricing

4.6

Affordable Hosting - With a Catch or Two

SiteGround’s introductory prices are low and you definitely get good value for your money, but you’ll need to keep an eye on those renewal rates.

SiteGround’s Web Hosting, WordPress Hosting, and WooCommerce Hosting all offer the same basic packages with the same prices. The prices may seem low – which indeed they are – but keep in mind that these special rates only apply to your first hosting term. After that, they increase quite significantly.

Another thing you need to know is that if your prefer to pay monthly rather than annually, you’ll need to pay a setup fee.

It’s a bit disappointing that none of SiteGround’s plans include a free domain, but if you’re planning on transferring an existing website to its servers, the good news is that the company will cover the cost of your domain and domain privacy for the following term. Unfortunately, you don’t get this perk if you’re building a new site.

Sure, there are cheaper options out there, but SiteGround’s StartUp plan is still very affordable. However, I feel that their GrowBig and GoGeek plans are slightly overpriced compared to the competition, especially considering the fact that you don’t get unlimited hosting.

With InMotion Hosting’s similarly priced WP-4000S plan, for instance, you get more than five times the storage, three times the visitors, and many of the same features.

That said, if you’re planning on hosting multiple sites or you’re a reseller, SiteGround is one of the cheapest options for you, as you can host an unlimited number of sites.

Cancellation and Refund

You’ll be happy to know that you can try out SiteGround’s hosting risk-free with a 30-day money-back guarantee. This is a pretty standard policy, but it does also cover your setup fee if you signed up for a month-to-month plan.

But what I really like about SiteGround’s refund policy is that you can cancel your account and get a refund without having to talk to support at all. You just need to run through a quick step-by-step cancellation wizard. If you find talking to support about cancelling your account as awkward as I do — this is very convenient.

To see how to cancel your SiteGround account and get a refund, click here for a step-by-step guide with screenshots.

User reviews

Filter by
Service
  • Choose servise
    • All
    • Web Hosting
    • StartUp
    • GrowBig
    • GoGeek
    • Dedicated Server
    • Entry Server
    • Power Server
    • Super Power Server
    • Cloud Hosting
    • Entry
    • Business
    • Business Plus
    • Super Power
Be the first user to leave a review about SiteGround in English!
Write a Review
Reply to review
Reply
Visit SiteGround
en
Error
onClick="trackClickout('event', 'clickout', 'Vendor Page - Visit User Reviews', 'siteground', this, true);"

Bottom line on SiteGround

The Good, the Bad, and the Geeky: Is SiteGround the Right Host for You?

On one hand, SiteGround’s combination of exceptional uptime and watertight security means your website should always be available and your data will always be secure. On the other hand, it’s hard to ignore those mediocre page load speeds.

The one area where SiteGround outshines the competition is its fantastic customer support. The prices aren’t bad either, but you get less storage space than what other hosts provide for the same cost.

So, would I recommend SiteGround? It all depends on who you are and what you need.

If you’re tech-savvy, you know you like cPanel, and you have the time to optimize your site’s performance, then SiteGround is an excellent developer-friendly option – particularly if you plan on hosting multiple sites.

If you’re looking for a beginner-friendly, plug-in-and-go type of hosting experience, then I think there are better hosts out there for you.

That said, SiteGround is still a new player in the hosting scene, and from what I’ve seen so far, I think it’s only going to get better and better.

Hendrik Human
Hendrik Human
Hi, I’m Hendrik, your web guru. The only two things you need to know about me are: I love making websites, and I love to write about how to do it. That’s why I’m here - to help make it fun and easy for you too.

SiteGround Alternatives

244542