当您通过我们的网站购买时,我们的独立研究和真实评测将获得部分佣金用于支持工作。

评论与专家意见 GoDaddy Hosting

布伦特·埃默森
布伦特·埃默森
网页托管专家

在深度测试了GoDaddy的主机服务后,我能确定的是,它没有任何值得购买的理由。这是最令我失望的测试经历之一了,如果你想找实惠可靠的主机,我建议你去看看Hostinger家便宜的共享主机套餐

總論

the GoDaddy home page
GoDaddy的服务还挺多,但质量不行。

最出名的域名服务公司推出主机服务

有一定网龄的人应该都听说过 GoDaddy。域名注册领域最出名的供应商就是它了。但现在他们不只做域名注册业务,他们想提供所有与网站相关的产品服务。

它有哪些主机服务可以选择?常规的共享主机、主机、代理主机、WordPress 专用主机套餐、VPS主机、和专属服务器。

GoDaddy 深耕网络服务20多年,大家都觉得他们能提供高质量的服务,但我不这么认为,我想自己判断下,所以我用GoDaddy主机弄了个测试站,几个月内测试了两遍,看看它到底哪里好。我在Website Planet的web 虚拟主机对比目中测试了所有大牌产品, 这是其中一部分。

GoDaddy的主机服务没能达到我们的要求,所以我们没把它加入中文项目,没有把它和中国所有网络主机进行对比

GoDaddy的主机服务没能达到我们的要求,所以我们没把它加入中文项目,没有把它和中国所有网络主机进行对比

功能

2.5
GoDaddy hosting's basic features
功能给得不是很大方。

GoDaddy还有很大的提升空间

GoDaddy在域名注册上的业务能力是毋庸置疑的。然而,他们似乎不太注重主机服务等其他业务。在我看来,这些项目似乎是向现有客户收取更多费用的一种捷径。

为了测试GoDaddy的主机服务,我购买了基础虚拟主机套餐,所以今天我主要分享的是就是这一方面。

首先,他们使用的Apache网页服务器是一款陈旧的网页服务器技术,主流网页服务器正渐渐抛弃这款服务器软件。事实上,一流的虚拟主机都不用它。Apache在性能上不如Nginx和LiteSpeed,与WordPress和其他CMS(内容管理系统)搭配使用体验不佳。

GoDaddy提供四种不同的虚拟主机套餐, 均不限带宽。基础套餐含100GB存储空间(采用的不是更新的存储技术SSD固态用盘,而是HDD机械硬盘),其他三个套餐则不限空间。

更高阶套餐的服务器支持更大的数据库,基础套餐支持绑定单个域名,其他套餐则不限制域名个数。不同的套餐在“处理能力和处理速度”上似乎有些许区别,套餐越贵,内存越大,CPU性能越好。

该虚拟主机在cPanel服务器上,所有常用工具均可使用。在安装方面,该软件有自动安装系统(与Softaculous非常相似),也就是说仅需短短几步就能完成WordPress和其他CMS的安装,十分简单。

我们还能获得哪些服务呢?老实说,没了。要找出缺少的服务内容简直易如反掌。

基础套餐不提供免费SSL证书

我们要清楚的是:SSL不是什么附带品,也不是可有可无的东西。它是必需的。确切地说,它是对网站与用户之间传输的所有数据进行加密和保护的技术。像Google之类的搜索引擎也更喜欢选择这种有安全协议的网站。

GoDaddy是一家仍不免费提供SSL证书的大型主机服务公司。它明明可以选择向用户提供免费的SSL证书,就像Let’s Encrypt证书那样,好用又不花钱,但他就是不这么做。

相反,它让你以贵到离谱的价格购买SSL证书。真的很贵,大约每年70美元,在这一点上我认为情理难容。

但凡能想到的都是额外服务:没有特色服务项目

GoDaddy的主机套餐里不含备份,而且很多安全功能都没有。甚至连建站神器这么一个简单常用的工具都不包含在内。

如果你想使用GoDaddy的建站神器,就需要另外购买一个完全没有关联的建站套餐。但这样,就无法使用WordPress。当然,它也不提供临时站点、CDN软件集成以及任何一种缓存工具。

如果你为GoDaddy这些服务感到困惑,不用担心,反正它也没有支持这些服务的技术。查看完整功能列表

易於使用

2.0

就是不方便不好用

GoDaddy的主页具有欺骗性。主页设计精良,logo有现代感,让你觉得这是一个提供现代化服务并且服务周到的公司。然而事实并不如此。

挑选适合自己的套餐很困难

选套餐很艰难。我试过了,我向客服咨询过,也努力尝试过了,但最后还是默认选了“虚拟主机服务”,这只是因为我没法理解为什么要去选择其他主机服务。

其中有个“商务主机”,按理应该是会提供更强大的主机托管服务,但是没有数据能证明这一点。还有一个WordPress主机,但是基础的共享主机托管也支持WordPress。更恼人的是,特别版WordPress托管套餐提供的服务资源更少

绑定自己的域名很困难

无论如何,就像我之前说的,我选了基础主机服务套餐并且注册了账户,注册账户大体上是简单的。之后,我立刻收到了用来绑定域名的A记录(不是名称服务器)。当时我截了一张图,不过这无关紧要,因为待会儿我还会说到它。

在这里解释一下,“名称服务器”是链接域名的简便方法。

但是,在不截图的情况下绑定域名是一件非常困难的事,因为我哪儿都找不到A记录。总的来说,主账户里几乎什么信息也没有,大部分的标签下面都是供你购买的服务内容——那些不包含在你套餐里服务。

sneaky signup addons
GoDaddy会在你注册的时候偷偷添加组件,你必须在12个月内支付。

回到绑定域名上面来。我找不到A记录的信息,问客服也没用。客服给了我错误的名称服务器,于是域名连接失败了。最后,我只能通过那张截图,自行想办法将域名连接上,这本来是没必要的麻烦。如果你在虚拟主机这方面没有任何经验,那你绝对不想自己处理这件事。

GoDaddy可能会赚你的钱然后说你欺诈

过了三周,GoDaddy突然认为我是可疑账户,要求我验证信息。系统还将我标记为欺诈用户。

其他服务器公司也会这样,但都是在注册之后立刻要求验证信息。在提供身份信息之前,你无法激活账户。GoDaddy却是在我注册三周之后突然要求我进行验证,那时我都不怎么查看控制面板上的信息了,所以我没看到这个通知。

于是,他们把我的账户给注销了。

我设置好的东西全没了,还要重新注册一遍,全部从头开始。

我认为,这种服务糟糕的令人发指。我浪费了时间,失去了工作进度,而且要是我没有截图的话,我永远没法把域名绑定到主机账户上。

至少,WordPress的安装过程还是简单的:

Installatron WordPress installation
这个蓝色的按钮是我最好的体验
了解GoDaddy Hosting是否适合您

性能

2.0

GoDaddy的性能也不出色

每测试一家主机,我都会建一个测试网站,里面有所有WordPress的常用功能,希望能尽可能地模拟一个普通的工作网站。我每次都会联系对方的技术支持,看看他们会不会推荐(或实行)什么网站优化策略,提升网站加载速度。如果可以的话,能给客户一个好印象。

GoDaddy的支持人员建议我安装WP Smush插件,它可以在WordPress中压缩图片,不会影响图片质量,这个建议不错,但他们只给了这一个建议。

我在GoDaddy主机上注册的网站,打开一个页面,平均加载时常是2.94秒。全球其他地方的页面加载要耗费4.16秒。而理想的加载时间不应超过2秒。除非正常运行概率能保证在99.974以上,不然不能忍。

接下来我要谈下它的技术细节了,如果你没时间阅读,可以直接跳到支持部分。我先提醒下,我觉得GoDaddy的支持更糟糕。

GoDaddy给了你三个数据中心的选择,但是不告诉你它们的具体位置,所以你也不知道它在哪些地方表现好,哪些地方表现不好。只能在“北美”、“欧洲”和“亚洲”之间进行选择。而我接触过的大多数主机服务商,都会事无巨细的解释数据中心的地理位置,并配有图片和细节信息。

至于测试,我喜欢用Gtmetrix来测量完整页面加载时间,用Sucuri看全球平均加载时间,用UptimeRobot检查网站是否正常运行。

GTmetrix

最快的完整页面加载时间为2.2秒,超过了建议的最大值——2秒。而平均时间是2.94秒,最慢的能拖到5秒。

GoDaddy最快的速度,也比不上大多数主机最慢的速度。速度这么慢,访客会放弃进入网站的。平均加载时间也很慢,三分之二的客户很有可能有立即跳回谷歌主页。

GoDaddy GTmetrix test results

当最好的成绩也不怎么样时。。。

Sucuri

全球平均加载时间是3.833秒,最慢的加载时间是4.504s,这俩几乎一样慢了,所以无论你在世界的哪个角落,都一样糟糕。平均加载时长是4.16秒,这是页面建议加载时长的两倍多一点。

这些结果实在是太不堪入目了,而且还是一些比较好情况:

GoDaddy Sucuri test results
摩西,遇见迟钝的红海。

UptimeRobot

四个月观察下来,网站正常运行时间达到99.974%,还算不错,但可用性不断下降,每次大约3-4分钟,每隔一两个星期就会下降一次。这是一个不好的信号,因为大多数主机在我们整个测试周 期大概只有有3-4个时间段不可用

GoDaddy有20个。

而且,他们还没有正常运行时间保证。

综上所述:如果你用了Godaddy的网络主机,那你的访客不可能在一个合理的时间范围内,加载完成并进入你的网站。

GoDaddy UptimeRobot test results
还能更糟。
查看GoDaddy Hosting的性能表现

支援

2.0
截止到目前,GoDaddy的各方面都很糟糕,然而,它的技术支持更糟。GoDaddy支持服务是外包给其他团队的,有些好的虚拟主机服务商也是这样的,比如InterSeverA2 Hosting, 但Godaddy的服务简直一团糟

据说,他们提供全天候实时聊天(“由专家值守”)。实际上,它很少能在合理的时间内提供服务,有时甚至根本无法使用。每次我可以使用它的时候,客服都是毫无帮助的。

他们也有电话支持,但我真的无法给出好评。

想知道他们差在哪里吗?首先,客服人员几乎不懂英语,他们似乎都不知道自己公司是做什么的,也不清楚有哪些服务,更不用说各种服务之间的区别了。他们不了解虚拟主机是怎么工作的。我说Godaddy的性能不太行,他们居然承认了,还说就是这样的,这真的太荒唐了。

接我电话的客服,纯粹是在浪费我的时间,要么是不停掉线,要么是不回答我的问题。他们掉线后,你又回到了队列中,之前的记录不会保存,所以必须再解释一次自己的问题——通常情况下,只会再次断开连接。

在我看来,他们没有办法跟踪正在发生的问题,也没有能力处理重大问题。

我买之前和服务人员聊天,她向我撒谎,说服务有多好,而且她回答问题的时候,从事先准备好的材料中,一段段复制粘贴给我,有时候还答非所问。

我想了解各套餐之间的区别,但她不知道。一开始,她说有些套餐包含SSL证书,但后来又说只有最高级的套餐才包含。她不知道哪些计划支持WordPress,也不知道该给我推荐哪个套餐。我花了将近一个小时跟她交流,没得到任何有价值的信息。

an unhelpful chat conversation
情况没有因此而变好。

我想要找人帮我安装WordPress,于是我找了技术支持。

在线客服回答道:“请问需要帮忙吗?”

我重复了一遍:“你能帮我安装WordPress吗?”

客服又问我有什么问题需要解决。

我再一次告诉他我想安装WordPress。

这样来来回回持续了一段时间后,他告诉我要安装下载程序。

接着我请他帮助我连接我的域名,客服一直告诉我域名已经连接。但事实并非如此,因为域名不会无缘无故就连接我的域名也没有在 GoDaddy上注册成功。

一个好的技术客服通常会进行DNS 传播测试来获得域名地址。然而,GoDaddy 的客服刚刚对我撒了谎。在整个谈话过程中,我一直盯着屏幕,并没有得到任何答案。

我准备让他给我提供下名称服务器的详细信息,好来连接我的域名。结果他们还是提供了错误的名称服务器,根本无法运行。我不得不自己动手。

我想找人帮忙安装主题,配置WP,但这几个小时的线上咨询根本毫无作用,我只好放弃了。

后来我发信息请求优化我的网址时,发生了一件很有意思的事儿。我和多个客服联系过,每次只聊一两句,但接着我们就莫名其妙的失去联系了。最后一个客服建议我安装博客插件——WP Smush。这个建议还挺不错。

尽管如此,我的页面加载时间还是慢,2.2秒。

我讽刺地问道,GoDaddy就这水平?然而客服愉快地告诉我:“是的,这就是它的最快速度!”

好吧,客服都这么说了,那我也不得不相信了。

The maximum GoDaddy speed, apparently
我在省略了很多聊天截图,但这个可以让你了解个大概。

標價

2.5
GoDaddy的价格绝对是偏贵的。而且它甚至不提供免费SSL证书等基本功能,这样就显得它更不值得入手了。

使用期限有3、12、24和36个月可以选,只能用信用卡付款。他们没有退款保证,三年套餐也很贵,特对是跟HostingerInterServer对比来看。而且任何一个不起眼的附加组件都会让你得不偿失。

GoDaddy的付款页面有各种自动升值服务,你必须手动移除,否则的话,这些隐形成本加起来,可能会远远超过主机本身的价格。像“免费Office 365邮件”这样的服务只有第一年是免费的,后面会自动续费,可能要花个数百美元。

当然,GoDaddy不会提醒你这一点,他们可能宁愿让你感到困惑。就像他们真的希望你不小心买下这些你不需要的组件。

1年套餐中包含一个免费域名,但要以高价续费。GoDaddy说这个免费域名一年能省下至少30美元。这只是不准确的。你可以在Namecheap上以每年不到10美元的价格获得相同的域名,外加一个隐私保护。你甚至可以从GoDaddy那里单独购买域名,价格更便宜。

购买任何GoDaddy Hosting托管服务皆包含免费域名

比较

GoDaddy Hosting在竞争中表现如何?

Hostinger比較 4.9 比較
InterServer比較 4.8 比較
GoDaddy Hosting比較 2.6 比較
Bluehost比較 2.5 比較

使用者評論

基于7语的6评论
1.7
成为第一个评论 GoDaddy Hosting中文用户!
撰寫評論
您可以阅读其他语言的用户评论
回复审核
回复
访问 GoDaddy Hosting
reply
zh-hans
错误
onClick="trackClickout('event', 'clickout', 'Vendor Page - Visit User Reviews', 'godaddyhosting', this, true);"
View 1 reply
查看%d回复
avatar
4.0
charan
美国
2016 十二月 22
GoDaddy Hosting Review

All my blogs are with godaddy windows hosting, recently i purchased a new hosting plan. Got a free domain with big discount on economy hosting. my suggestion is need to add more features, like others hosting companies are offering.

的结论 GoDaddy Hosting

我再说一遍,不要用GoDaddy的主机。他们的域名注册服务还不错,品牌很受欢迎。但,主机服务真的不值得你浪费钱。

预算充足的话,我推荐你去看看Liquid Web, 它是当今最好的优质主机之一。如果你想要再便宜点,但服务再比GoDaddy好一点,可以试试 HostingerInterserver

不管怎样,不要用GoDaddy。

GoDaddy怎么收费?
最便宜的套餐每个月大概要 $1.00 美元,这是刚注册时的价格,要是续费的话,会涨个50%左右。更大更好的套餐价格就是稳步上涨。对大多数人来说是负担得起的,但也有更便宜、更好的质量主机。在你做决定之前,先看看Hostinger便宜的套餐
GoDaddy怎么这么便宜?
在我看来, GoDaddy一点都不便宜,顶多是中等水平。还有比GoDaddy家产品更好的主机服务,价格还不到GoDaddy最便宜套餐月费的二分之一。

你可以用更好的价格买到更好的服务,新手记得常来看看我们的虚拟主机优惠券页面, 我们会不断更新,你可以看看当下哪个选择最划算。

GoDaddy适合线上商城吗?
看你需求,你可以用GoDaddy建站神器来搭建一个电商网站,但如果你需要的不仅仅是一个简单的网上商店,里面不只陈列一点产品,它可能不是最好的选择。还有很多更好的电商网站建站工具

GoDaddy的基础共享主机套餐又是另外一个故事了主机性能太差,等你的商城加载完,客人可能都跑到别的店去了。

哪家虚拟主机比GoDaddy的好?
几所每个你耳熟能详的主机服务都比GoDaddy好。想听细节,我也能给你讲, HostingerInterServer是最经济实惠的,Hostinger的主机套餐,每月仅需$0.99, 从各方面碾压GoDaddy。

建议你看看我们的清单:最佳主机服务, 里面有很多主机服务提供商,提供的东西比GoDaddy好太多。

布伦特·埃默森
布伦特·埃默森
Brent is a freelance web developer who loves experimenting with new technology and sharing his experiences with others. While his career life can get hectic sometimes, he always makes time for the important things in life: good coffee, good wine, and quality time with his twin boys, Aiden and Sean.

GoDaddy Hosting 备择方案

Hostinger
4.9
市场上最便宜的长期计划
阅读评论
Liquid Web
4.8
为从WordPress到Magento等多个平台提供最佳的寄存服务
阅读评论
InterServer
4.8
每月进行灵活寄存的最佳选择
阅读评论
Kinsta
4.7
测试中最快、最一致的速度
阅读评论
29023

Reviews and expert opinion GoDaddy Hosting

Brent Emmerson
Brent Emmerson
Web Hosting Expert

After thoroughly testing GoDaddy’s hosting services, I can say one thing: there is absolutely zero reason to choose this web host. This is not an average host, and it isn’t even a bad host. This is a handcrafted horror experience, one that continuously tests the very fabric of your being. If you’re looking for budget hosting you can actually rely on, you’re much better off with one of Hostinger’s cheap shared hosting plans.


Overview

the GoDaddy home page
GoDaddy offers a lot of different services, but trust me – bigger isn’t always better.

Hosting from the World’s Most Famous Domain Company

If you’ve been around the internet for a while, you’ve probably heard of GoDaddy. It’s the most well-recognized brand in domain name registration, even if that branding has changed some. Gone are the days of race car driver Danica Patrick on the home page. Now, GoDaddy wants to be your provider of all things website-related.

What’s on offer from the hosting division? Regular shared hosting, reseller hosting, WordPress-specific plans, VPS hosting, and dedicated servers.

You’d think that with over 20 years of experience offering web services, GoDaddy would know exactly what it’s doing. Well, branding isn’t everything, so I ran a test website on GoDaddy – twice – for several months to find out just how badly… I mean, ahem… just how well it could perform. I did this as part of Website Planet’s huge web hosting comparison project, where we tested all the big names in the industry.

Spoiler warning: I’m sorry, but GoDaddy’s hosting is not great. It’s really not great. I’ve written a couple thousand words about how it’s not great, and if you’re considering signing up for a GoDaddy hosting plan, you should read them – for the sake of your website and your wallet. You could say that I’ve come from the recent past to save your future.

But of course, you could also just save yourself some time and check out Hostinger’s latest deals – this is the host that achieved the best performance scores in our testing.

Features

2.5
GoDaddy hosting's basic features
These features aren’t actually that generous at all.

GoDaddy Talks a Good Game, but Could be a Lot Better

Look, GoDaddy does domains first and foremost. That’s what it’s good at, and extra services like hosting are actually more of an afterthought in the corporate budget. A cynic might say that these services are offered as an easy way to get more money out of existing customers.

That’s me. I’m the cynic. Anyway, I bought the basic Web Hosting plan, so we’ll just be talking about that today.

First of all (a bit of nerd stuff ahead), the hosting is Apache-based. That’s the classic (AKA old) web server tech that most hosts are moving away from. Actually, none of the best hosts use it. It’s inferior to the newer Nginx and LiteSpeed in its capabilities, and doesn’t work as well with WordPress and other CMS (content management systems).

Four different plans are available in the Web Hosting category, all with unmetered bandwidth. The Basic plan comes with 100GB of storage space (not SSD, which is the newer storage tech – but the older HDD), and the other three have unlimited space.

The more advanced plans support more databases, and while the basic plan can handle one domain, the others can handle unlimited domain names. There seems to be some “Processing Power & Speed” difference between them, which means the more expensive plans have more RAM and CPU.

This is cPanel-powered hosting, meaning you get all the regular tools. Installatron is the auto-installer tool available (it’s very similar to Softaculous), which means WordPress and many other CMS are easily installable in a few clicks.

What more is there? Honestly, nothing. It’s far easier to identify what’s missing.

There’s No Free SSL on the Basic Plan

Let’s be clear: SSL isn’t an extra, or something nice to have. It’s a thing you need. Specifically, it’s the technology that encrypts all data that goes between your site and your users, protecting both. Search engines also prefer secure sites, incidentally.

GoDaddy is the one big web hosting company that still doesn’t offer a free SSL certificate. It can choose to offer one, as Let’s Encrypt certificates are great and don’t cost the host a thing, but it doesn’t.

Instead, it lets you buy ridiculously overpriced SSL certificates. This is crazy expensive stuff, around $70 USD a year, and I’d say this is completely unforgivable.

Everything Is Extra; No Special Features are Included

Backups aren’t available as part of GoDaddy’s hosting plans. A lot of security features aren’t available as part of the plans. Even a website builder, a super simple thing that’s almost always there, isn’t included with GoDaddy’s hosting plans.

If you want to use GoDaddy’s website builder, you’ll have to purchase a completely separate builder plan. But then, if you do that, you can’t use WordPress. There are of course no staging sites, no CDN integrations, and no caching tools of any kind.

If any of these terms confuse you, don’t worry, because GoDaddy doesn’t have the technology to support them anyway. Just know that in this day and age, that’s dumb.See full list of features

Ease of use

2.0

It’s Just NOT Easy to Use

GoDaddy’s homepage can be deceiving. It’s nicely designed, the logo is modern, and you’d be forgiven for thinking that this is a modern, well thought out service. It isn’t.

Choosing Your Plan Is Hard

Really hard. I tried, I talked with support, I made an effort, but ended up defaulting to “Web Hosting” simply because I couldn’t understand why I would choose any other type of hosting.

There’s “Business hosting,” which is supposedly more powerful, but there’s no data to back that up. There’s WordPress hosting, but the basic shared hosting also supports WordPress. Even more unforgivable is the fact that the special WordPress hosting plans come with less resources.

Connecting Your Domain Is Hard

Anyway, like I said before, I went with the basic web hosting plan, and signup was generally easy. I was immediately given the A records (not nameservers) for connecting my domain. I took a screenshot at the time, but figured it wouldn’t matter because I’d just get that info again later.

For context, “nameservers” are the easy way to connect a domain name.

As it turned out, connecting the domain without my screenshot proved to be a ridiculously difficult task, as I couldn’t find those A records anywhere. The main account area has almost no information in general, and most of the tabs are filled with services that are available for purchase – ones that aren’t actually included with your plan.

sneaky signup addons
Sneaky stuff during signup, too. That’ll cost you in 12 months.

Back to domain connecting. There was no info to be found, and support couldn’t help. They gave me the wrong nameservers and the domain didn’t connect. I ended up using my screenshot, and managed to connect my domain myself, but that was an unnecessary hassle. If you’re not experienced with web hosting, you definitely don’t want to be dealing with this kind of thing.

GoDaddy Might Take Your Money, Then Decide You’re a Fraud

Fast forward to three weeks later. GoDaddy suddenly decided I was suspicious, and required that I verify my info. The system had flagged me as a fraudulent user.

Other hosts do this too, but it happens immediately after signup. Your account doesn’t get activated until you provide your ID. GoDaddy suddenly remembered to do this three weeks after I had signed up, when I was no longer actively checking my control panel – so I missed the notice.

And then they CANCELLED MY ACCOUNT.

I lost everything I already had going and had to sign up again, starting completely from scratch.

As far as I’m concerned, this is ridiculously bad service. I lost time, I lost my work, and if I hadn’t thought to take my own screenshot, I would never have been able to connect my domain name to my hosting account.

At least installing WordPress was easy:

Installatron WordPress installation
That blue button was the highlight of my experience.
See if GoDaddy Hosting is Right for You

Performance

2.0

Well, This Was Bad Too

For every host I test, I set up a test website with all the usual WordPress bells and whistles. I want it to be as close an approximation as possible of an average working website. I also always ask tech support if they can recommend (or perform) any website optimizations that might help speed things up, to give the host every chance to make a good first impression.

GoDaddy’s support agent recommended installing the WP Smush plugin, which compresses images in WordPress without sacrificing much in the way of quality. It was a decent suggestion, but it was also the only suggestion.

The average complete page load time for my GoDaddy-hosted website was a ghastly 2.94 seconds, and the average global (not complete) page load was 4.160s. Ideally, you want loading times to be under 2 seconds. At least the uptime reached a solid 99.974%.

Ugh. Horrible speeds. Truly.

Okay, I’m going into the rest of the grisly details now, but if you’d rather spare yourself the hosting-geek agony, skip ahead to the Support section now. Let me just warn you – that’s a whole different kind of agony.

There are three data centers to choose from, but GoDaddy is so secretive about their locations that you won’t even have any idea where it’s supposed to perform well. You’re just given a choice between “North America,” “Europe,” and “Asia.” Most other hosts go to great lengths to explain the exact geographic locations of their data centers, complete with pictures and details.

As for the tests, GTmetrix is my preferred tool for measuring complete page load times. Then, Sucuri gives me the average global loading times from around the world, and UptimeRobot checks to make sure my site is staying up.

Good robot.

GTmetrix

The fastest complete page load time of 2.2 seconds is well over the recommended maximum of 2s. Never mind the 2.94s average, or the whopping 5s slowest loading time.

GoDaddy’s fastest speed is most hosts’ slowest speed, and the slowest speed is so bad that any visitor that encounters it will immediately jump ship. The average, actually, is also pretty horrible, as two-thirds of your visitors will most likely immediately bounce back to Google.

The most amazing thing is that a GoDaddy agent told me that 2.2s is really the fastest speed the service is capable of. I found that to be an unintentionally hilarious confession.

GoDaddy GTmetrix test results
When even the best result isn’t a good result…

Sucuri

When the fastest average global loading time (3.833 seconds) is nearly as slow as the slowest loading time (4.504s), it’s just bad performance no matter where you are in the world. I mean, the average-average of 4.160s is a bit more than double the recommended page load time.

These results are just nasty, and they’re some of the better results:

GoDaddy Sucuri test results
Moses, meet the Red Sea of Slowness.

UptimeRobot

Uptime reached 99.974% over four months. That’s not bad, but there were constant drops in availability, around 3-4 minutes each time, every week or two. This is a bad sign, as most other hosts we tested had maybe 3-4 periods of unavailability during the entire testing time.

GoDaddy had almost two dozen.

In addition, you won’t be backed by an uptime guarantee of any kind. It’s “good luck and keep your fingers crossed.”

To sum it all up: If you choose Godaddy’s web hosting, your visitors will most likely be unable to load your site within a reasonable amount of time.

GoDaddy UptimeRobot test results
Well, that could have gone worse.
Check Out GoDaddy Hosting Performance

Support

2.0
Everything was bad up until now, but support is where it gets even worse. GoDaddy is not the only hosting service to outsource their support to a faraway location (even good web hosting companies, like InterSever and A2 Hosting, are guilty of that), but Godaddy’s support is a catastrophe of epic proportions.

Supposedly, it’s a live chat service (“manned by experts”), available 24/7. In reality, it’s rarely available within a reasonable time, and sometimes it isn’t available at all. Just about every time it was available to me, the agent was less-than-helpful.

There’s also phone support, but I can’t rate it much higher.

Wondering what was so bad? For starters, the agents barely know English, and they don’t seem to understand how their company works. They don’t know what services are available, or what the differences between them are. They don’t understand how web hosting works. They don’t even understand how ridiculous it is to admit that Godaddy’s horrible performance is the best it can get.

The agents I spoke to ran me in circles, and often disconnected or just stopped answering me. When they disconnect, you’re back to the queue again, and nothing is saved from your previous interactions. You have to explain it all again – usually, only to be disconnected again.

There’s no way to track ongoing issues or to deal with major problems – it’s mostly you versus a loading screen.

My presale chat interaction involved the agent lying to me to about how great the service is, mostly by copy-pasting paragraph after paragraph from her prepared answer sheet. She didn’t even always copy-paste correctly.

I was trying to understand the difference between the plans, but she didn’t know. At first, she said some plans include SSL certificates, but then said only the highest-tier plans do. She didn’t know which plans supported WordPress or why I should choose one plan over another. I had to waste almost an hour on this completely useless support interaction.

an unhelpful chat conversation
And it didn’t get better from there.

When I wanted help with installing WordPress, I asked tech support for exactly that.

The agent replied, “How can I help you?”

I repeated myself. “Can you help me install WordPress?”

The agent asked what issue I was having.

I said, once again, that I wanted to install WordPress.

This playful back and forth continued for some time, until I was told to go use Installatron.

I then asked for help with connecting my domain, and the agent assured me multiple times that it was already connected. It really wasn’t, as domains don’t magically connect, and mine wasn’t even registered with GoDaddy.

This is exactly where a good support agent runs a DNS propagation test to understand where the domain is pointed at. GoDaddy’s support agent, however, just lied to me. Throughout this entire conversation, I spent long periods of time just staring at my screen, not getting any kind of answer.

If I’m being kind, the agent was probably juggling 40 other conversations. Or eating peanuts. You never know.

I managed to get him to give me the nameserver details so I could connect my domain, and we parted ways. They ended up being the wrong nameservers, and didn’t work at all. I had to resort to doing things myself.

When I wanted to ask for help with installing my theme and configuring WP, the live chat was unavailable for at least a few hours, so I just gave up.

When I sent a message later to request help with optimizing my site, the funniest thing happened. I got to speak with multiple agents, a message or two at a time, before they were all mysteriously disconnected. The agent I did talk with at the end recommended that I install WP Smush. Not bad advice, actually.

Still, my page loading time was a sluggish 2.2s.

I sarcastically asked if that was the best GoDaddy could do, but the agent told me happily: “Yes correct that the mx speed it can achieve!”

Well, when an agent tells you that terrible speeds are the best a host can do, who are you to question that?

The maximum GoDaddy speed, apparently
I’ve left many chat screenshots out of this article, for all our sakes.

Comparison

How does GoDaddy Hosting match up to the competition?

HostingerCompare 4.9 Compare
InterServerCompare 4.8 Compare
GoDaddy HostingCompare 2.6 Compare
BluehostCompare 2.5 Compare

Pricing

2.5
GoDaddy’s prices are expensive by any standard, but when you consider that it doesn’t even provide basic features like free SSL certificates, it starts to look like a cash grab.

That said, if I haven’t convinced you to run for your life, the payment terms available are 3, 12, 24, or 36 months. You can only pay through credit card. There’s no money-back guarantee, and even the three-year plan is pretty expensive – especially compared to competitors like Hostinger or InterServer. And any minor add-on will cost you more than it’s worth.

GoDaddy’s checkout page is filled with automatic upsells you’ll have to manually remove – if you don’t, they can end up costing waaay more than the hosting itself. Services like “Free Office 365 Mail” are only free for the first year and will renew automatically, potentially costing you hundreds of dollars.

GoDaddy doesn’t warn you about this, of course – the company would probably rather have you confused. It almost seems like they really want you to accidentally check out with add-ons you never asked for.

A free domain is included with the 1-year plan, but it will renew for a high price. GoDaddy says the value of the domain is over $30 USD a year. That’s just inaccurate. With Namecheap, you could get the same domain name for less than $10 USD a year, plus a privacy shield. You could even get it cheaper from GoDaddy itself, by buying the domain separately.

GoDaddy Hosting Web Hosting

Plan NameStorageBandwidthFree SSLNumber of SitesPrice Plan NameStorageBandwidthFree SSLNumber of SitesPriceEconomy100 GBUnlimited-1$1More DetailsDeluxeUnlimitedUnlimited-Unlimited$7.99More DetailsUltimateUnlimitedUnlimited+Unlimited$12.99More Details
More details

GoDaddy Hosting WordPress Hosting

A Free Domain is included when purchasing any hosting service from GoDaddy Hosting

User reviews

Based on 7 reviews in 6 languages
1.7
Write a Review
Language
  • English (1)
  • Español (2)
  • Deutsch (1)
  • Français (1)
  • Suomi (1)
  • ไทย (1)
Sort by
Newest
  • Newest
  • Oldest
  • Best
  • Worst
Reply to review
Reply
Visit GoDaddy Hosting
reply
en
Error
onClick="trackClickout('event', 'clickout', 'Vendor Page - Visit User Reviews', 'godaddyhosting', this, true);"
View 1 reply
View %d replies
avatar
4.0
charan
USA
December 22, 2016
GoDaddy Hosting Review

All my blogs are with godaddy windows hosting, recently i purchased a new hosting plan. Got a free domain with big discount on economy hosting. my suggestion is need to add more features, like others hosting companies are offering.

Bottom line on GoDaddy Hosting

I’ll say it again: Don’t use GoDaddy for hosting. The domain registration service is decent, the brand is popular, and even non-techies are familiar with it. But… the hosting services are a huge waste of money.

If you have the budget to spare, I recommend you check out Liquid Web – one of the best premium hosts available today. If you want to pay next to nothing for your hosting, but still get vastly superior service to GoDaddy, try Hostinger or Interserver

Whatever you do, just don’t choose GoDaddy.

Brent Emmerson
Brent Emmerson
Brent is a freelance web developer who loves experimenting with new technology and sharing his experiences with others. While his career life can get hectic sometimes, he always makes time for the important things in life: good coffee, good wine, and quality time with his twin boys, Aiden and Sean.

GoDaddy Hosting Alternatives

Hostinger
4.9
Cheapest prices in the market for long-term plans
Read Review
Liquid Web
4.8
Best managed hosting for multiple platforms, from WordPress to Magento
Read Review
InterServer
4.8
The best choice for flexible hosting on a month-to-month basis
Read Review
Kinsta
4.7
Fastest, most consistent speeds in our testing
Read Review
2345