تقييمات وآراء الخبراء HostGator

مارك هولدن
مارك هولدن
خبير استضافة المواقع

HostGator، إحدى عمالقة الاستضافة، تقدم باقات مليئة بالخصائص، تلبي احتياجات الخبراء والمبتدئين. الباقات معقولة التكلفة، ولكن تحتاج إلى الاشتراك لفترة أطول للحصول على أفضل الأسعار. عيوب HostGator هي الدعم البطيء ومحاولات البيع الزائدة الانتهازية.


نظرة عامة

HostGator تقوم بعمل جيد. ولكن هل هي مناسبة لك؟

خدمة HostGator جيدة، ولكن جيدة لا تكفي. بالرغم من أن HostGator خدمة استضافة مواقع جيدة، يمكنك الحصول على استضافة بجودة أفضل بسعر أرخص مع Hostinger ، على سبيل المثال.

تعد HostGator شركة تقنية نمطية، تأسست في غرفة سكن جامعية في فلوريدا عام 2002، ونمت لتصبح شركة عالمية تقدم استضافة مواقع تشاركية، وإعادة بيع، وVPS وخوادم مخصصة .

وبالرغم من بداياتها المتواضعة، تحولت HostGator إلى واحدة من شركات استضافة المواقع الرائدة في العالم، بأكثر من 9 مليون اسم نطاق مسجل و850 موظف.

hostgator-overview1

ولأن HostGator واحدة من العمالقة في المجال، يمكنك أن تتوقع حصة من التعليقات والمراجعات السلبية على الإنترنت. هناك عدد من المشكلات المذكورة مثل خدمة العملاء السيئة، وحماية ضعيفة للحسابات، ومشكلات بالجاهزية، وفقاً لمواقع مراجعات مستقلة.

ولكن HostGator تستضيف “1% من أنشطة الإنترنت العالمية” لأكثر من 800,000 عميل، لذا يبدو أنها تقوم بعمل رائع.

ولكن هل هي مناسبة لك؟

في هذه المراجعة، سوف نتعمق في تفاصيل خدمات HostGator ونكتشف إن كانت خيار جيد لموقعك.

الخصائص

4.7
HostGator

القليل من كل شيء للجميع

بالتأكيد، تقدم HostGator كل الخصائص الأساسية. لن تندهش تقريباً (أو تستثار تحديداً) بمعرفة وجود دعم لشهادات SSL، ونسخ احتياطي تلقائي، وخاصية SpamAssassin من أجل حماية بريدك الإلكتروني، والنسخ الاحتياطي للموقع وخاصية الاستعادة وغيرهم.

أحد الأمور اللطيفة أن كل الباقات تأتي بـ أداة إنشاء مواقع HostGator مجانية، بأكثر من 100 تصميم مناسب للهواتف ومكتبة وسائط.

وهناك أيضاً خدمات نقل مواقع ونطاقات مجانية لتزيين الصفقة والعرض.

والآن، لنلقِ نظرة أقرب على خصائص HostGator المتقدمة.

مصادر متدرجة

تقدم لوحة تحكم cPanel تدرج بنقرة واحدة. مما يعني أنه إذا كنت في وقت ذروة أو في نطاق مستويات النطاق والتردد العالية على موقعك، يمكنك بسهولة زيادة متطلبات السعة بعدة نقرات فقط. لا يضمن لك الحفاظ على تناسق الأداء، ولكنك أيضاً لا تدفع إلا للموارد التي تحتاجها، عندما تحتاجها.

hostgator-features1

خوادم بسرعات خاطفة

وفقاً لـ HostGator، بفضل “البنية السحابية فائقة الشحنة، والخوادم منخفضة اكثافة، وطبقات التخزين المؤقت العديدة”، يمكن تحميل موقع WordPress الخاص بك بما يصل إلى مرتين ونصف أسرع. أسرع من ماذا؟ إنهم غير واضحين حقيقة في ذلك الأمر.

ولكن الواضح هو أن محتواك ستتم إدارته بشكل فعال وكفء، بطلبات محتوى ديناميكية تعالج بسرعة عبر خدمات استضافة سحابية.

hostgator-features2

خصائص مناسبة للمطورين (على المبتدئين تخطي هذا الجزء)

تعد HostGator بكل تأكيد خدمة استضافة مناسبة للمبتدئين، ولكن إن لم تكن مبتدئاً تماماً، لا تدع ذلك يوقفك. فهي تأتي بكل الخصائص القياسية عالية المستوى مثل قواعد بيانات MySQL بقدرة على الوصول إلى phpMyAdmin وحسابات FTP، فضلاً عن بعض الإضافات التي تمثل قيمة مضافة.

هناك دعم لـ PHP 5 & 7، وRuby on Rails، وPerl، و Python ، ووصول إلى SSH والجدولة الزمنية لوظائف Cron للحصول على أفضل إدارة للنظام.

تخصيص موارد في غاية الكرم

فضلاً عن الموارد المتدرجة، كل الباقات تأتي بحصص موارد شاملة. بصفتك عميل لدى HostGator، سوف تحصل على نطاق ترددي غير محدود، ونطاقات فرعية غير محودة، وحسابات FTP، وحسابات بريد إلكتروني غير محدودة، ومساحة تخزين 100 جيجابايت على الأقل.

ببساطة، لن تنفد منك المساحة على أي من باقات HostGator.انظر القائمة الكاملة للخصائص

سهولة الاستخدام

4.6

خصائص HostGator مصممة لجعل حياتك أسهل. من إنشاء الحساب إلى إلغاء الحساب، والمعالجات مناسبة تماماً للمبتدئين. استفد من أدوات التثبيت بنقرة واحدة، واستضافة WordPress المدارة، وأدوات إنشاء المواقع، التي يمكنها جميعاً مساعدتك إلى إعداد موقعك بدون أي تجربة أو خبرة في الأكواد أو أي خلفية تقنية.

إنشاء حساب

عملية إنشاء حساب على HostGator في غاية السهولة، بالرغم من أن الصفحات بطيئة في التحميل بشكل يثير الاستغراب.

هناك فقط عدد من الخطوات على نموذج التسجيل الإلكتروني وتصبح لوحة التحكم جاهزة لك. يتم ذلك بالكامل من المتصفح ولا تحتاج حتى إلى تأكيد الحساب عبر البريد الإلكتروني لإنهاء تلك العملية.

اقرأوا تجربتي عن إعداد حساب لدى HostGator .

توصيل النطاق وتثبيت WordPress

بفضل لوحة تحكم cPanel، عملية توصيل النطاق وتثبيت WordPress في منتهى السهولة. لم يستغرق الأمر سوى بضع دقائق ولم أحتاج إلى أي مساعدة من خدمة العملاء.

ولكن، إذا كنت مبتدئ أو تريد فقط أن تطلب الدعم من الدردشة أثناء تلك العملية، تحضّر إلى الانتظار لوقت طويل.

انقر هنا للدليل خطوة بخطوة مع صور للشاشة.

النسخ الاحتياطي التلقائي

تأتي الباقات بـ نسخ احتياطي تلقائي للمواقع أسبوعياً. حسناً، ليس أفضل سياسة نسخ احتياطي رأيتها (بعض الخدمات تقدم نسخ احتياطي يومي مع الاستعادة). ولكن، عند الدفع، يمكنك الترقي إلى نسخ احتياطي CodeGuard والاستعادة مقابل رسوم شهرية إضافية.

استضافة التطبيقات

باقات HostGator متوافقة مع كل التطبيقات العادية، مثل WordPress، Joomla!، Magento، وWiki. إذا لم يكن ذلك كافياً لك، يمكنك تثبيت أكثر من 75 نص برمجي مفتوح المصدر بمعالج التثبيت بنقرة واحدة.

لن تجد معظم أدوات التثبيت بنقرة واحدة المميزة هنا (بعض الخدمات تقدم 300 و400 تطبيق)، ولكنك ستجد كل البرامج الشهيرة.

hostgator-ease-of-use1

الوصول إلى لوحة تحكم cPanel

إذا كنت مستجد، سوف تسعد برؤية لوحة التحكم cPanel. بينما سيفضل المستخدمون الأكثر خبرة لوحة مخصصة، ولكن المبتدئين (أو الأشخاص الذين يريدون أن تعمل الأمور ببساطة سوف يجدون أن cPanel خيار موثوق وسهل الاستخدام ويسهل التعرف إليه.

من هنا، يمكنك الوصول إلى إحصائيات الموقع، وإعداد السجلات المحمية بكلمات المرور وصفحات الخطأ المخصصة.

hostgator-ease-of-use2

اكتشف إن كانت خدمة HostGator مناسبة لك

الأداء

4.8

نتائج اختبارات مذهلة

تقدم HostGator ضمان جاهزية قياسي 99.9% قوي وعادل. وبالرغم من أنها لن تحطم أي أرقام قياسية، من الجيد أن ترى إنها مدعومة برصيد شهر كامل في حالة الانقطاع الحاد.

وتظهر بعض الاختبارات الخارجية الأخرى أن الجاهزية أعلى من 99.98%. ومع ذلك، هناك أقاويل من بعض المستخدمين أن المشكلة الرئيسية والكبرى للخدمة هي تعطل الخدمة وسرعات تحميل المواقع البطيئة في بعض المدن.

لا تأخذ أي معلومة مسلم بها أبداً، لذا قررت إجراء اختبار تحميل الصفحة Sucuri بنفسي. من المهم معرفة مدى سرعة تحميل موقعك الإلكتروني، فضلاً عن معرفة أن جوجل يرشح المواقع التي تحمل في أقل من ثانيتين إذا أردت جلب زوار بسرعة.

كما ترون في الصور، تقييم الأداء بشكل عام A+. لا يمكنك أن تطلب أكثر من ذلك. يحمّل الموقع في أقل من 30 مللي ثانية لبعض المواقع، مع أقل زمن للمواقع حوالي 800 مللي ثانية. أي كان موقعك الجغرافي، ستكون سرعة تحميل الصفحة أقل من قاعدة الثانيتين.

hostgator-performance1تحقق من أداء خدمة HostGator

الدعم

4.3

خدمة العملاء ليست نقطة قوة HostGator

حتى الآن، كانت هذه المراجعة إيجابية للغاية. ولكن قبل أن تخرج حافظة النقود، انتظر دقيقة لقراءة تجربة خدمة العملاء. الخاصية الأهم والأكثر إثارة للجدل في أي شركة، الأمر الذي لم تدركه HostGator بعد على ما يبدو.

خدمة العملاء 24/7/365 عبر الدردشة المباشرة والهاتف، بالإضافة إلى مجموعة من فيديوهات الشرح ومنتدى للعملاء. ولكن لن يستعرق الأمر سوى بضع دقائق من البحث على الإنترنت لتجد عملاء كثر يشتكون من مستوى الخدمة.

hostgator-support1

كنت أود أن أخبركم أن تجربتي كانت مختلفة عن شعور العملاء على الإنترنت، ولكن للأسف، كانوا على حق. اختبرت ثلاثة طرق للتواصل مع خدمة العملاء، واصلوا القراءة لتعرفوا كيف سار الأمر.

المبيعات عبر الدردشة المباشرة

قبل الشراء، عرجت على الدردشة المباشرة لأطرح سؤال بديهي وأساسي. كل ما أردت معرفته هو موقع الخوادم. تركوني حوالي عشر دقائق في الانتظار حتى يرد موظف الدعم. عندئذ، كان مهذب ومتعاون، ورد على سؤالي بالكامن ولكن عشر دقائق انتظار في الدردشة تبدو كثيرة جداً.

hostgator-support2

الدعم الفني عبر الدردشة

أثناء إعداد WordPress ، أردت تثبيت Cloudflare CDN. وللأسف، لم يكن واضح في لوحة التحكم إن كان هناك هذا الخيار أم لا.

أولاً، من أجل الحصول على الدعم التقني، تحتاج إلى تسجيل الدخول مجدداً (بالرغم من وجودك بالفعل داخل لوحة التحكم). ثم تجلس تحت رحمة الانتظار. كان الوقت في الظهيرة وسط الأسبوع وانتظرت حوالي 20 دقيقة حتى يرد علي أحد.

ولم يكن ذلك أسوأ ما في الأمر.لم يكن موظف الدعم واضحاً بشأن ما هي CDN من الأساس، وعما إذا كانت موجودة أم لا. مجدداً، اضطررت إلى الانتظار حتى “ينظر في الأمر”، مما استغرق عشر دقائق أخرى تقريباً.

hostgator-support3

منتدى العملاء

بعد التجربة المخيبة مع الدردشة، توجهت إلى منتدى العملاء لأرى إن كان هو أفضل طريقة للحصول على الدعم. أرسلت منشور في حوالي الساعة 1:00م يوم الاثنين للسؤال عن تجربة العملاء مع الجاهزية، في قسم ما قبل البيع.

ظهرت رسالة تخبرني أن المنشور تحتاج إلى المراجعة من المشرف قبل نشره. انتظرت التأكيد، ولكنه لم يأتي ولم يوافق عليه أبداً، وإلى حد علمي، لم ينشر أبداً!

hostgator-support4

مقارنة

كيف ترقى HostGator للمنافسة؟

Hostinger مقارنة 4.9 مقارنة
Inmotion Hosting مقارنة 4.7 مقارنة
HostGator مقارنة 4.3 مقارنة
DreamHost مقارنة 3.8 مقارنة

الأسعار

4.5

الأسعار المعروضة لباقة الثلاث سنوات

تعرض HostGator أسعار مدة الثلاث سنوات على الصفحة الرئيسية للمنتجات، لذا لأول وهلة، قد تبدو الأسعار رخيصة جداً. ولكن، إذا بحث عن أسعار الباقة الشهرية أو أي فترة أقل من سنة، سوف تدفع سعراً أعلى من ذلك بكثير.

هناك ضمان 45 يوم لاسترداد المال، ولكن عليك الانتباه من المكونات الإضافية باهظة التكلفة (والاختيارية) التي تضاف إلى عربة التسوق افتراضياً.

عندما تكون جاهزاً للدفع، يمكنك استخدام أي بطاقة ائتمان معروفة.

الإلغاء والاسترداد

إلغاء حساب HostGator سهل للغاية، مجرد ملء نموذج تواصل عبر الإنترنت. المشكلة الوحيدة هي محاولاتهم العديدة التي تدفعك إلى الحديث إلى وكيل للخدمة. وبناء على خبرتي، فذلك إما للحصول على تقييم للخدمة أو محاولة إقناعك بالبقاء. وفي كلا الحالتين، يمكنك تخطي ذلك بسهولة.

انقر هنا لقراءة تجربتي بالكامل.

HostGator إستضافة المواقع الإلكترونية

HostGator استضافة VPS

اسم الخطةالتخزينعرض النطاق التردديوحدة المعالجة المركزيةالرامالسعر اسم الخطةالتخزينعرض النطاق التردديوحدة المعالجة المركزيةالرامالسعرSnappy 200080 GB1.5 TB2 CORES2 GB$19.95المزيد من التفاصيلSnappy 4000100 GB2 TB2 CORES4 GB$29.95المزيد من التفاصيلSnappy 8000160 GB3 TB4 CORES8 GB$39.95المزيد من التفاصيل
المزيد من التفاصيل

HostGator السيرفرات المخصصة

اسم الخطةالتخزينعرض النطاق التردديوحدة المعالجة المركزيةالرامالسعر اسم الخطةالتخزينعرض النطاق التردديوحدة المعالجة المركزيةالرامالسعرValue Server1 TB HDDUnlimited4 Core / 8 Thread Intel Xeon-D CPU8 GB$89.98المزيد من التفاصيلPower Server2 TB HDD or 512 GB SSDUnlimited8 Core / 16 Thread Intel Xeon-D CPU16 GB$119.89المزيد من التفاصيلEnterprise Server1 TB SSDUnlimitedIntel Xeon-D CPU30 GB$139.99المزيد من التفاصيل
المزيد من التفاصيل

HostGator استضافة وردبرس

اسم الخطةالتخزينعدد المواقعالنسخ الاحتياطيالسعر اسم الخطةالتخزينعدد المواقعالنسخ الاحتياطيالسعرStarter PlanUnlimited1+$5.95المزيد من التفاصيلStandard PlanUnlimited2+$7.95المزيد من التفاصيلBusiness PlanUnlimited3+$9.95المزيد من التفاصيل
المزيد من التفاصيل

HostGator موزعي خدمات استضافة

اسم الخطةالتخزينعرض النطاق الترددياللوحةعدد المواقعالسعر اسم الخطةالتخزينعرض النطاق الترددياللوحةعدد المواقعالسعرAluminum Plan60 GB600 GBWHMUnlimited$19.95المزيد من التفاصيلCopper Plan90 GB900 GBWHMUnlimited$24.95المزيد من التفاصيلSilver Plan140 GB1400 GBWHMUnlimited$24.95المزيد من التفاصيل
المزيد من التفاصيل

HostGator استضافة سحابية

اسم الخطةالتخزينعرض النطاق التردديوحدة المعالجة المركزيةالرامالسعر اسم الخطةالتخزينعرض النطاق التردديوحدة المعالجة المركزيةالرامالسعرHatchling PlanUnlimitedUnlimited2 CORES2 GB$4.95المزيد من التفاصيلBaby PlanUnlimitedUnlimited4 CORES4 GB$6.57المزيد من التفاصيلBusiness PlanUnlimitedUnlimited6 CORES6 GB$9.95المزيد من التفاصيل
المزيد من التفاصيل

مراجعات المستخدمين

بناء على 9 تقييم بـ 5 لغة
2.0
كن أول مستخدم يترك تقييم عن HostGatorبـالعربية!
اكتب مراجعة
يمكنك قراءة تقييمات المستخدمين بلغات أخرى
الرد على التقييم
Reply
زيارة HostGator
reply
ar
خطأ
onClick="trackClickout('event', 'clickout', 'Vendor Page - Visit User Reviews', 'hostgator', this, true);"
View 1 reply
عرض %d ردود
avatar
5.0
Mark Gallaway
كندا
17 مايو 2020
Great start to my new blog hosting

As a webpro I was looking for a hosting provider that can help me host my own blog where I talk about meeting the hosting needs of clients.. My technical knowledge is something I harp on and wanted to find a partner that understood my needs when it came to creating content for users on a day on day basis.My core requirements from a brand were - great uptime, speed and pricing. I found that balance in HostGator as a brand and that's where I took it off.. been 2 years or more now and I have been enjoying the experience..If someone wants to start for hobby or even a small/micro business, Hostgator is my recommendation.

1.0
Mariam S.
جورجيا
08 يوليو 2019
They are stealing moeny

Do not use the site and do not enter any of your personal information. Otherwise you will find out one year later, that their system kept your information and settled the payment method as an automatic and you will be charged for whatever package you were looking for. even though you thought you deleted your information there. Most importantly, they do not refund? Because they want so. Because they are desperate, hunting for every penny they can steal!

avatar
4.0
Andrew
الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية
09 أكتوبر 2017
Hostgator Review

I have been using them for a few years. I can honestly say I have no complaints. I never really faced any downtime that I noticed.

خلاصة القول في HostGator

تمتلك HostGator الكثير من الجوانب الرائعة. باقاتها مليئة بالخصائص التي تلبي احتياجات الخبراء والمبتدئين، إلا أنها توجه معظم اهتماماتها تجاه المبتدئين. الأسعار معقولة (ولكن تحتاج إلى الاشتراك للفترة الأطول للحصول على أفضل سعر)

ولكن، الدعم بطيء ومحاولات البيع الزائدة انتهازية.

بشكل عام، إذا أردت خدمة استضافة سهلة الاستخدام بحصص موارد جيدة، ستكون HostGator رهانا جيداً، ولكن مع خدمة عملاء محدودة.

لا تزال غير واثق إن كانت خدمة الاستضافة المناسبة لك؟ تحقق من خدمات الاستضافة التي نرشحها لمعرفة المزيد.

مارك هولدن
مارك هولدن
مارك مطور مواقع متخصص في HTML5، CSS، JavaScript، MySQL، و  PHP. عندما لا يكون مشغولاً بتصميم المواقع أو البحث عن أحدث الإضافات لمجموعة البرامج والتطبيقات لديه، فهو يستمتع بالعزف على الطبول في فرقته الموسيقية. ويمكنك أيضاً عمل الاومليت الإسباني.

HostGator بدائل

Hostinger
4.9
أرخص الأسعار في السوق للخطط طويلة الأجل
اكتشف المزيد
Liquid Web
4.8
أفضل استضافة مواقع مدارة لمنصات متعددة، من WordPress إلىMagento
اكتشف المزيد
InterServer
4.8
أفضل خيار للاستضافة المرنة على أساس شهري
اكتشف المزيد
Kinsta
4.7
السرعات الأعلى والأكثر ثباتًا واتساقًا في اختباراتنا
اكتشف المزيد
24208

Reviews and expert opinion HostGator

Ranked 1220th from 2651 Web Hosting
4.3
2 1
Ease of Use
4.6
Features
4.7
Pricing
4.5
Support
4.3
Performance
4.8
Based on 4 reviews in 3 languages
Mark Holden
Mark Holden
Web Hosting Expert
HostGator, an industry giant, offers feature-packed plans, catering to beginners and experts. The plans are affordable, but you need to sign up for a long term to get the best prices. HostGator’s downsides are its slow support and its opportunistic upsells.

Overview

HostGator Must Be Doing Something Right. But Is It Right for You?

HostGator is the stereotypical tech startup, Founded in a university dorm room in Florida in 2002, it has grown into a global provider of shared, reseller, VPS, and dedicated website hosting.

Since its humble beginnings, HostGator has exploded into one of the world’s leading web hosts, with more than 9 million domain names registered and 850 employees.

HostGator

Since HostGator is one of the giants of the industry, you can expect a fair share of negative online reviews and comments. Bad customer service, poor account security, and uptime issues are all reported issues on independent review websites.

But with HostGator hosting “1% of the world’s Internet traffic” for more than 800,000 customers, it seems like it must be doing something right.

But is it right for you?

In this review, we’ll dig deep into the fine details of HostGator’s services and discover whether it’s a good choice for your website.

Features

4.7
HostGator

A Little Something for Everyone

Of course, HostGator offers all the basic features. You probably won’t be surprised (or particularly excited) to know there’s support for SSL certificates, automatic backups, SpamAssassin to keep your email protected, website backup and restore, and so on.

One nice thing is that all the plans come with the free HostGator Website Builder, with more than 100 mobile-responsive designs and a media library.

Also, there are free website migrations and domain transfers thrown in to sweeten the deal.

Now, let’s take a closer look at some of HostGator’s advanced features.

Scalable Resources

The cPanel control panel offers one-click scalability. This means if you’re experiencing a peak or (hopefully not) a trough in your traffic levels, you can easily increase the capacity requirements with just a couple of clicks. Not only does this ensure your performance remains consistent — you only pay for the resources you need, when you need them.

HostGator

Blazing Fast Servers

According to HostGator, thanks to “supercharged cloud architecture, low-density servers, CDN, and multiple caching layers”, your WordPress website should load up to 2.5 times faster. Faster than what, you ask? Well, they’re a bit unclear on that.

However, what is clear is that your content will be managed efficiently, with dynamic content requests processed quickly via cloud hosting services.

hostgator-features2

Developer-Friendly Features (Beginners, Skip This Bit)

HostGator is definitely a beginner-friendly host, but if you’re by no means a beginner, don’t let that stop you. It also comes with all the standard advanced-level features e.g. MySQL databases with phpMyAdmin access and FTP accounts, as well as some value-added extras.

There’s support for PHP 5 and 7, Ruby on Rails, Perl, and Python, and SSH access and Cron job scheduling for optimal system management.

Generous Resource Allocations

As well as scalable resources, all the plans come with comprehensive resource quotas. As a HostGator customer, you’ll get unmetered bandwidth, unlimited subdomains, FTP Accounts, email accounts, and a minimum of 100 GB disk storage.

Simply put, you’re not going to run out of space in any of HostGator’s packages.

Ease of use

4.6

HostGator Makes Hosting Easy

HostGator’s features are designed to make your life easier. From account creation to account cancellation, the processes are uber beginner-friendly. Take advantage of the one-click installers, the managed WordPress hosting, and the website building tool, which can all help you get set up without any coding experience or technical background.

Creating an Account

Creating an account with HostGator is ridiculously easy, although the pages are also surprisingly slow to load.

There are only a few steps on the online signup form and your dashboard is set up for you. It’s all done entirely from the browser and you don’t even need to confirm your account via email to finish the process.

Read about my experience setting up an account with HostGator.

Connecting a Domain and Installing WordPress

Largely due to cPanel, the process to connect a domain and install WordPress is easy as pie. It only took me a few minutes and I didn’t need any help from customer service.

However, if you’re a beginner or you just want to ask live chat for support while you’re doing it, be prepared to wait on hold for a long time.

Click here for my step-by-step guide with screenshots.

Automatic Backups

The plans come with automatic weekly off-site backups. Okay, so it’s not the best backup policy I’ve ever seen (other hosts often include daily backup and restore). However, at checkout, you can upgrade to CodeGuard backup and restore for an additional monthly fee.

Application Hosting

HostGator plans are compatible with all the usual applications, such as WordPress, Joomla!, Magento, and Wiki. If that’s not enough for you, you can install more than 75 open-source scripts with the one-click installer.

It’s not the most premium one-click installer out there (some include 300 – 400 apps), but all the popular programs are included.

HostGator

cPanel Access

If you’re a newbie, you’ll be pleased to see cPanel is the control panel. Sure, more advanced users may prefer a customized in-house panel, but for beginners (or people who want things to just work), cPanel is a reliable, easy-to-use, and well-recognized option.

It’s from here you’ll access your website statistics, setup your password protected directories and custom error pages.

hostgator-ease-of-use2

Performance

4.8

Impressive Test Results

HostGator offers a solid, but fairly standard 99.9% uptime guarantee. While it’s not going to break any world records, it is good to see it’s backed by a full month’s credit in the event of excessive downtime.

Other third-party tests show uptime records well over 99.98%. However, anecdotal evidence from other customers often cites downtime and slow website load speeds as major issues with the service.

Never to take things on face value, I decided to run a Sucuri Page Load Test of my own. It’s important to know how fast your website is going to load, as we all know that Google recommends less than 2 seconds if you want your visitors to stick around.

As you’ll see from the screenshot, the overall performance is A+. You can’t ask for better than that. The website loaded in as little as 30 milliseconds for some locations, with the slowest locations at around 800 milliseconds. Whatever location you’re in, the page load speed is far below the 2-second rule.

HostGator

Support

4.3

Customer Service is Not HostGator’s Strong Suit

So far, this review has been extremely positive. But before you get your wallet out, take a minute to read about my experience with customer service. Arguably the most important feature of any business, with HostGator it feels like an afterthought.

Customer service is 24/7/365 by live chat and telephone, plus there’s a series of video tutorials and a customer forum. However, it only takes a couple of minutes of searching online to find customers complaining about the level of service rather vocally on Google.

HostGator

I’d love to tell you my experience was at odds with online customer sentiment, but unfortunately, they were spot on. I tested three methods of customer service. Read on to see how they fared.

Sales Live Chat

Before making a purchase, I hopped on live chat to ask a basic question. All I wanted to know was the location of the servers. I was left on hold for ten minutes waiting for an agent to pick up. When they did, they were helpful and polite, answering my question in full, but ten minutes does seem excessive.

hostgator-support2

Technical Support via Live Chat

When I was setting up WordPress, I wanted to install Cloudflare CDN. Unfortunately, it wasn’t clear from the control panel whether or not this was an option.

First, in order to get technical support, you need to log in again (despite already being inside the control panel). Then, you are then at the mercy of the wait times. It was around noon on a weekday and I had to wait around twenty minutes for someone to pick up.

However, I still wasn’t out of the woods. The agent was not clear about what a CDN was, nor did they know if it was included. Again, I had to wait while they “looked into it”, which left me hanging around on live chat for another ten minutes or so.

hostgator-support3

Customer Forum

After a disappointing experience with live chat, I headed over to the customer forum to see if this is a better way to get support. I submitted a post at around 1:00 PM on a Monday asking about customers experience with uptime, in the pre-sales thread.

A pop-up advised me the post would need to be approved by an admin before it was published. I waited for confirmation, but none came and my post was never approved, and as far as I’m aware, it was never published!

hostgator-support4

Pricing

4.5

Pricing Breaks at 3-Year Commitment

HostGator displays its prices for three-year terms on the main product pages, so at first glance, the prices seem very cheap. However, if you’re looking for a month-to-month plan or any term less than one year, you’ll pay a much higher price.

There’s a generous 45-day money back guarantee, but you’ve got to watch out for the pricey (and optional) add-ons which are added to your cart by default.

When you’re ready to make a purchase, you can use any major credit card.

Cancellations & Refunds

Canceling your HostGator account is as easy as filling out an online contact form. The only issue is the multiple attempts to get you to speak to an agent. Depending on my mood, I’d say this is to get your feedback or to shamelessly convince you to stay. Either way, you can easily override it.

Click here to read about my experience in full.

Web Hosting

Plan Name
Storage
Bandwidth
Free SSL
Number of Sites
Price
Unlimited
Unlimited
+
1
$2.75
Unlimited
Unlimited
+
Unlimited
$3.95
Unlimited
Unlimited
+
Unlimited
$5.95
Plan Name
Storage
Bandwidth
Free SSL
Number of Sites
Price
Unlimited
Unlimited
+
1
$2.75
Unlimited
Unlimited
+
Unlimited
$3.95
Unlimited
Unlimited
+
Unlimited
$5.95
More Details

VPS Hosting

Plan Name
Storage
Bandwidth
CPU
RAM
Price
120 GB
1.5 TB
2 cores
2 GB
$29.95
165 GB
2 TB
2 cores
4 GB
$39.95
240 GB
3 TB
4 cores
8 GB
$49.95
Plan Name
Storage
Bandwidth
CPU
RAM
Price
120 GB
1.5 TB
2 cores
2 GB
$29.95
165 GB
2 TB
2 cores
4 GB
$39.95
240 GB
3 TB
4 cores
8 GB
$49.95
More Details

Dedicated Server

Plan Name
Storage
Bandwidth
CPU
RAM
Price
1 TB HDD
Unlimited
4 Core / 8 Thread Intel Xeon-D CPU
8 GB
$118.99
2 TB HDD or 512 GB SSD
Unlimited
8 Core / 16 Thread Intel Xeon-D CPU
16 GB
$138.99
1 TB SSD
Unlimited
Intel Xeon-D CPU
30 GB
$148.98
Plan Name
Storage
Bandwidth
CPU
RAM
Price
1 TB HDD
Unlimited
4 Core / 8 Thread Intel Xeon-D CPU
8 GB
$118.99
2 TB HDD or 512 GB SSD
Unlimited
8 Core / 16 Thread Intel Xeon-D CPU
16 GB
$138.99
1 TB SSD
Unlimited
Intel Xeon-D CPU
30 GB
$148.98
More Details

User reviews

Filter by
Service
  • Choose servise
    • All
    • Web Hosting
    • Hatchling Plan
    • Baby Plan
    • Business Plan
    • VPS Hosting
    • Snappy 2000
    • Snappy 4000
    • Snappy 8000
    • Dedicated Server
    • Value Server
    • Power Server
    • Enterprise Server
Language
  • Choose review language
    • English (1)
    • Español (1)
    • Italiano (1)
Sort by
  • Newest
  • Newest
  • Oldest
  • Best
  • Worst
Write a Review
Reply to review
Reply
Visit HostGator
en
Error
onClick="trackClickout('event', 'clickout', 'Vendor Page - Visit User Reviews', 'HostGator', this, true);"
1
Mariam S.
Georgia
1
They are stealing moeny

Do not use the site and do not enter any of your personal information. Otherwise you will find out one year later, that their system kept your information and settled the payment method as an automatic and you will be charged for whatever package you were looking for. even though you thought you deleted your information there. Most importantly, they do not refund? Because they want so. Because they are desperate, hunting for every penny they can steal!

4
Andrew
USA
4
Hostgator Review

I have been using them for a few years. I can honestly say I have no complaints. I never really faced any downtime that I noticed.

Bottom line on HostGator

HostGator has lots of great aspects. The plans are feature-packed, catering to experts and beginners, although marginally more geared towards the latter. The prices are affordable (although you need to sign up for a long term to get the best prices)

That said, the support is slow and the upsells are opportunistic.

Overall, if you want an easy-to-use host with decent resource quotas, HostGator is a good bet, with the caveat of limited customer service.

Mark Holden
Mark Holden
Mark is a full stack web developer specializing in HTML5, CSS, JavaScript, MySQL, and PHP. When he's not busy building websites or geeking out over the latest addition to his ever-growing gadget collection, he enjoys playing drums for his progressive rock band. He can also make a mean Spanish omelet.

HostGator Alternatives

1875
© 2019 WebsitePlanet.com. All Rights Reserved.