REVIEWS UND EXPERTENMEINUNGEN WP Engine

Rangierte auf Platz 3 von 195 Web-Hosting
4.7
Donna Moses
Donna Moses
Expertin für Web-Hosting
Wenn Du aber nach der vollendeten Hosting-Erfahrung für Deine WordPress-Webseite suchst, sollte Dir WP Engine den Preis wert. Mit schnellen Ladezeiten, schneller Bereitstellung von Inhalten, durchdachter Kontoverwaltung und robusten Sicherheitsfunktionen, bietet WP Engine eine erstklassige WordPress-Hosting-Plattform, die in Sachen Leistung und Geschwindigkeit ihresgleichen sucht. Es sollte jedoch angemerkt werden, dass WP Engine eher für erfahrene WordPress-Benutzer als für Anfänger geeignet ist. Der Service ist speziell darauf zugeschnitten, Entwicklern bei der Migration, Einführung und Verwaltung einer WordPress-Webseite zu helfen.

Übersicht

wpengin-overview-

WP Engine bietet innovative Funktionen, mit denen sich der Anbieter auf dem umkäpften Markt eine gute Position sichert

Die Gründer von WP Engine wollten mehr als nur einen Hosting-Service bieten – sie wollten eine einzigartige WordPress-Hosting-Plattform schaffen, die sowohl mit Leistung als auch mit Geschwindigkeit überzeugen kann.

Obwohl der Konkurrenzdruck für WP Engine auf dem WordPress-Hosting-Markt groß ist, konnte der Anbieter aufgrund seiner exzellenten Features, die ihm höchste Anerkennung und eine hervorragende Reputation bei Unternehmen, Vermarktern und Entwicklern eingebracht haben, stetig weiter wachsen.

Mit innovativer Technologie garantiert WP Engine erstklassige Sicherheit für Deine WordPress-Seite, beeindruckend schnelle Ladezeiten, tägliche Backups und automatische Aktualisierung von WordPress-Plugins. Ein ganz besonderes Feature von WP Engine ist die Staging-Funktion, mit der Du automatisch eine Testkopie Deiner Seite erstellen kannst, über eine Git-Versionskontrolle verfügst und Deine Webseite problemlos von einem kostenlosen zu einem kostenpflichtigen Tarif übertragen kannst.

Obwohl WP Engine wirklich sehr viele Funktionen bietet, ist es doch etwas enttäuschend, dass keine Domainregistrierung und keine E-Mail-Konten angeboten werden. Sowohl für die Domain als auch für E-Mail-Adressen musst Du demzufolge auf einen Drittanbieter zurückgreifen. Dies macht es nicht nur unnötig kompliziert (besonders für Anfänger), sondern verursacht auch zusätzliche Kosten.

Insgesamt werden die Preise von WP Engine insbesondere Einsteiger in die WordPress-Welt etwas abschrecken. Nutzer, die mit WordPress vertraut sind, werden jedoch von den Möglichkeiten der modernen WP Engine Plattform beeindruckt sein.

Funktionen

4.7
wpengin-features2

Solide Hosting-Plattform, bei der Du Dich auf das konzentrieren kannst, was wirklich wichtig ist

Sicherheit der Webseite: Die Sicherheitsfunktionen von WP Engine gehören zu den Dingen, die diese Plattform wirklich auszeichnen. E-Commerce-Unternehmen werden besonders die Verfügbarkeit eines Secure Socket Layer (SSL) -Zertifikats zu schätzen wissen. SSL garantiert die Sicherheit der Kundendaten. Im Rahmen seiner Verpflichtung zur Sicherheit verbessert WP Engine kontinuierlich seine Firewalls und führt täglich Malware-Scans durch.

EverCache-Technologie: Geschwindigkeit und verbesserte Leistung gehören zu den größten Verkaufsargumenten von WP Engine. Die EverCache-Technologie beseitigt die Notwendigkeit von Caching-Plugins und kümmert sich stattdessen automatisch um das Caching von Backend-Objekt, Seiten und Datenbanken. CDN (Content Delivery Network) und In-RAM-Caching sorgen für eine beeindruckend schnelle Bereitstellung von statischen Inhalten.

Entwicklungstools: Die Entwicklungstools, die WP Engine bietet, stellen sicherlich den Benchmark auf dem Markt dar. Insbesondere die Ein-Klick-Entwicklungsumgebung macht WP Engine zu einem klaren Technologie-Vorreiter in der WordPress-Hosting-Branche. In der Vergangenheit hat das Fehlen einer Entwicklungsumgebung, die es den Benutzern ermöglicht, ihre Webseite vor dem Start zu testen, die Effizienz von WordPress beeinträchtigt. Die WP-Engine-Staging-Funktion beseitigt dieses Problem vollständig. Git-Versionskontrolle und Ein-Klick-Wiederherstellungsoptionen runden die beeindruckenden Entwicklungsfunktionen von WP Engine ab.

Bedienkomfort

4.7
wp-engineease-of-use

Für erfahrene Nutzer leicht einzurichten - Anfänger könnten ihre Porbleme haben

Der Anwender wird schnell bemerken, dass WP Engine weitgehend auf Entwickler ausgerichtet ist. Einem Einsteiger wird die Lernkurve bei Nutzungsbeginn sicherlich ziemlich steil vorkommen. Es gibt jedoch eine Fülle von Informationen (einschließlich Checklisten) und eine gute Wissensdatenbank, die den Einstieg erleichtern und bei allen möglichen Problemen behilflich sein können.

Dank zahlreicher Automatismen wird die Verwaltung der Webseite extrem erleichtert

Wenn Du mit WordPress vertraut bist, wirst Du feststellen, dass die Benutzeroberfläche von WP Engine einfach zu bedienen ist. Das Dashboard ist besonders intuitiv und macht es leicht, Dinge schnell zu erledigen, die bei anderen Hosting-Providern etwas mühsamer sind. Doch WP Engine macht Dir nicht nur den Einstieg so leicht wie möglich – Du kannst auch einfach mit dem Migrations-Plugin Deine bestehenden WordPress-Webseite auf ihre Server umziehen. Dank des Plugins läuft der gesamte Prozess automatisiert ab.

WP-Engine-Staging-ease-of-use-

Unterstützung

4.7
wpengin-support2

Freundliche, erreichbare und kompetente Support-Mitarbeiter

Als Premium-Dienstleister gibt sich WP Engine ganz offensichtlich viel Mühe, auch Premium-Support zu bieten.

Jedem Nutzer sei es ans Herz gelegt, zuerst die umfangreiche Dokumentation auf der WP Engine-Webseite zu erkunden. Von der Einrichtung der ersten Webseite bis zur Verwaltung des Hosting-Kontos gibt es zu jedem Thema, über das Du beim Start stolpern könntest, einen Artikel.

Sowohl Anfänger als auch erfahrene Benutzer wird die umfangreiche Wissensdatenbank von WP Engine definitiv zufriedenstellen.

Du erreichst das Support-Team per E-Mail-Ticket-System, Live-Chat oder Telefon. Während der E-Mail-Support rund um die Uhr verfügbar ist, ist der telefonische Support über eine gebührenfreie Telefonnummer nur zwischen 9:00 und 18:00 Uhr erreichbar. Wenn Du sofortige Unterstützung benötigst, steht Dir der Live-Chat von 6.00 bis 20.00 Uhr (Central Time) zur Verfügung.

Preise

4.6

Gemessen an den exzellenten Features sind die Preise absolut wettbewerbsfähig

WP-Engine-Benutzer können je nach den Bedürfnissen des Benutzers aus vier Hosting-Paketen wählen. Im Einzelnen gibt es die Tarife Startup, Growth, Scale und Custom.

Als Einstieg steht der Startup-Tarif zur Verfügung, der für die Einrichtung eines Blogs oder einer kleinen Webseite geeignet ist. Mit diesem Tarif erhalten Sie eine Webseite mit 3 Umgebungen für bis zu 25.000 Besucher pro Monat und 50 GB Bandbreite. Ohne zusätzliche Kosten erhältst Du außerdem auch CDN, SSL, reibungslose Migration und Performance-Statistiken.

Der Growth-Tarif ist ideal für ein wachsendes Unternehmen und bietet 5 Seiten mit 3 Umgebungen pro Seite, 200 GB Bandbreite, Unterstützung für 100.000 Besuche pro Monat und alle Funktionen des Startup-Tarifs.

Der Scale-Tarif ist für diejenigen Gedacht, die für ihr Unternehmen eine noch höhere Kapazität benötigen. Mit diesem Tarif erhältst Du bis zu 15 Webseiten und 3 Umgebungen pro Webseite, Unterstützung für 400.000 Besucher pro Monat, 400 GB Bandbreite und alle anderen Funktionen des Growth-Tarifs.

Zu guter Letzt gibt es dann noch den Custom-Tarif, den WP Engine als geeignet für “mission-critical websites” beschreibt. Große Unternehmen, die sich diesen Tarif leisten, profitieren von der dedizierten Umgebung, hoher Leistung und Verfügbarkeit, hochgradig verwaltetem Onboarding und bevorzugtem Support.

Jeder dieser Tarife bietet eine großzügige 60-Tage-Geld-zurück-Garantie.

Fazit zu WP Engine

Im Vergleich zu anderen Hosting-Diensten mögen die Preise von WP Engine etwas hoch erscheinen. Wenn Du aber nach der vollendeten Hosting-Erfahrung für Deine WordPress-Webseite suchst, sollte Dir WP Engine den Preis wert. Mit schnellen Ladezeiten, schneller Bereitstellung von Inhalten, durchdachter Kontoverwaltung und robusten Sicherheitsfunktionen bietet WP Engine Dir mehr als einfach nur WordPress-Hosting. Während die Plattform aufgrund des Preises und der Komplexität für Neulinge weniger zu empfehlen ist, genießt sie in ihrem Kerngeschäft bei Webseiten mit hohem Traffic-Aufkommen sowie bei WordPress-Geeks und –Entwicklern hohe Sympathien.

Donna Moses
Donna Moses
Donna ist eine leidenschaftliche Autorin, die alles daran setzt, mitreißende und zum Nachdenken anregende Texte für die Tech- und Online-Welt zu schreiben. Sie kann sich leicht für neue Technologien und Internet-Trends begeistern.

WP Engine Alternativen

52179

Our website contains links to affiliate websites and we receive an affiliate commission for any purchase made to the affiliate website by clicking the links in our website. Learn More. Our reviews are not affected by participation in such programs.

Reviews and expert opinion WP Engine

Donna Moses Donna Moses Web Hosting Expert

If you’re looking for an improved top-of-the-line hosting experience for your WordPress website, WP Engine is well worth the price. With fast loading times, rapid content delivery, strategic account management, and robust security features, WP Engine has created a world-class managed WordPress hosting platform that stands out in both performance and speed. But it should be noted that WP Engine is best suited to more experienced WordPress users rather than beginners. Their service has been specifically tailored to aid developers in migrating, launching, and managing a WordPress site.

Overview

wpengin-overview-

WP Engine Offers Cutting-Edge Features That Make This Provider a Winner in a Cutthroat Market

The founders of WP Engine set out to provide more than a hosting service – they wanted to create a world-class managed WordPress hosting platform that would compete on both performance and speed.

While WP Engine faces stiff competition in the managed WordPress hosting market, they have managed to stay ahead due to excellent features that have earned the company recognition among companies, marketers, and developers.

With its innovative technology, WP Engine guarantees top-notch security for your WordPress site, impressively fast load times, daily backups, and automatic updating of WordPress plugins. Some signature WP Engine features include staging, which lets you automatically create a test copy of your site, Git version control, and seamless transfer of installations from free to paid plans.

While there is clearly a lot going for WP Engine, the lack of email and domain registration is somewhat a bummer. For both domain name and email, you would have to use a third-party URL registrar and email service provider respectively. Not only is this an inconvenience (especially for beginners), but the costs can also add up.

Overall, WP Engine’s premium pricing, even at the entry level, may be a little off-putting to those who are new to WordPress. However, any user who is familiar with WordPress will be impressed by the highly-managed platform that WP Engine offers.

4.7

Features

wpengin-features2

Solid Hosting Platform That Lets You Focus on What Really Matters

Website Security: WP Engine’s security features are among the things that really set apart this platform. E-Commerce businesses will particularly appreciate the availability of Secure Socket Layer (SSL) certificate. SSL guarantees the security of your customers’ data. As part of its commitment to security, WP Engine continuously updates its firewalls and performs malware scans daily.


EverCache Technology:  Speed and improved performance are among WP Engine’s biggest selling points. Its EverCache Technology removes the fuss out of dealing with caching plugins and instead automatically takes care of the backend object, page and database caching. CDN (Content Delivery Network) and in-RAM caching ensure impressively fast delivery of static content.

Development Tools: The development tools that WP Engine offers are certainly a market benchmark. In particular, the one-click development area makes WP Engine a clear winner in the WordPress hosting vertical. In the past, the lack of a development area that allows users to try their site before going live compromised the efficiency of WordPress. WP Engine’s single-click staging area completely eliminates this problem. Git version control and one-click restore options add to WP Engine’s impressive development features.

4.7

Ease of use

wp-engineease-of-use

Easy Start-Up For Experienced Users But Not So For Beginners

Right out of the box, users will notice that WP Engine is largely developer-focused. The beginner user will experience a longer learning curve with the onboarding process. However, there is a plethora of information including checklists and a robust knowledge base that can help you get started and you can troubleshoot all kinds of issues as you go along.

Plenty of Automation Removes the Hassle Out of Managing Your Website

If you are familiar with WordPress, you will find WP Engine’s interface to be easy to navigate. The dashboard is particularly responsive and makes it easy to get things done quickly, where it is a bit of a hassle with other hosting providers. In addition to making the start-up process as seamless as possible, WP Engine lets you easily move your pre-existing WordPress website to its servers with its migration plugin, which automates the entire process.

4.7

Support

wpengin-support2

Friendly, Accessible, and Expert Help

As a premium service provider, WP Engine has evidently put in a lot of effort to provide reliable support.

Users can learn more about the platform by exploring the extensive documentation on the WP Engine website. From setting up your first website to managing your hosting account, there is no shortage of articles to get you up and running.

Both beginners and experienced users will definitely benefit from WP Engine’s robust knowledge base.

You can reach the support team via email ticketing, live chat or phone. While email-ticketing support is available 24/7, phone support through a toll-free number is available between 9 am and 6 pm. If you need immediate support, live chat is available from 6 am to 8 pm, Central Time.

4.4

Pricing

Plans Are Competitively Priced For The Excellent Features Provided

WP Engine users can choose from four hosting plans, depending on the user’s needs. These plans include the Startup, Growth, Scale, and Custom.

At the entry level is the Startup plan, suitable for setting up a blog or a small website. This plan gets you one website with three environments, support for up to 25K visitors a month, and 50GB bandwidth. At no extra cost, you also get CDN & SSL, free seamless migration, and page performance reports.

wp_engine_logo alt

Save up to 20 % on your WP Engine plan!

Limited-time offer - Don't miss it!

84 users used this coupon!
WP Engine highest discount
Copy and paste this code at WP Engine
websiteplanet20
Does this offer work for you?
Shame, we'll fix that - check other coupons

The Growth plan is ideal for a growing business provides and 5 sites with 3 environments per site, 200GB bandwidth, support for 100K visits a month plus all the features in the Startup plan.

The Scale plan is best if you are looking for higher capacity to expand your business. This plan gets you up to 15 sites and 3 environments per site, support for 400K visits a month, 400GB bandwidth, and all other features in the growth plan.

Last but not least is the Custom plan, which WP Engine describes as suitable for ”mission-critical websites”. Large businesses will benefit from the dedicated environment, high performance and availability, highly managed onboarding, and priority support.

Each of these plans has a generous 60-day-money-back-guarantee.

Comparison

How does WP Engine match up to the competition?

HostingerCompare4.9Compare
InterServerCompare4.8Compare
WP EngineCompare4.6Compare
BluehostCompare2.5Compare

WP Engine REVIEW: BOTTOM LINE

Compared to other hosting services, WP Engine’s prices can be a bit scary. But, if you are looking for improved top-of-line hosting experience for your WordPress website, WP Engine is well worth the price. With fast loading, rapid content delivery, strategic account management, and robust security features, WP Engine offers you more than just WordPress hosting.  While price and complexity can make this platform less of a fit for newbies, its core market – high traffic site owners, tech-savvy do-it-yourselfers, and WordPress developers will find WP Engine to be a suitable hosting platform.

FAQ

Does WP Engine use cPanel?

No, WP Engine has its own custom control panel, which it calls the WP Engine User Portal. This is similar to cPanel but is designed to be more user-friendly.  If you’re absolutely keen on cPanel (though there’s no reason to be), you might want to have a look at our top alternatives to WP Engine.

What is the difference between WP Engine and WordPress?

WP Engine is a web hosting service that only offers WordPress hosting plans. These hosting plans are ‘managed’, meaning that WP Engine takes care of things like updates and backups so you don’t have to worry about them. WordPress is a Content Management System (CMS) that enables you to build websites without knowing how to code. There are two types of WordPress – WordPress.com and WordPress.org. The .com version has free plans to allow you to build websites, but the features are more limited.

How do I cancel my WP Engine account?

You can cancel your WP Engine account from your user portal. Select ‘my account’ and then choose ‘cancel account’. You should download any backups of your website before initiating the cancellation process. Your cancellation will be processed within 24 hours. If you’re looking for a better deal, have a look at our coupon page for the latest deals for all types of web hosting.

Do I need to buy WP Engine hosting for WordPress?

While WP Engine is a great option for WordPress websites, there are other options available. You could choose regular shared hosting or opt for another managed WordPress hosting provider.

What are the top WordPress hosting providers?

The best providers for WordPress hosting are Hostinger, Nexcess, and InterServer. You can find our recommendations on our list of the best web hosting services in 2022.

Donna Moses Donna Moses
Donna is a passionate writer who is all about creating engaging and thought-provoking content for the tech and online world. She is an avid lover of new technology and internet trends.
User reviews
Be the first user to leave a review about WP Engine in English!
Write a Review
Reply to review
Reply
Visit WP Engine
reply
en
Error
onclick="trackClickout('event', 'clickout', 'Visit User Reviews', 'wp-engine', this, true, ReturnPopup );"
View 1 reply
View %d replies
Family sharingMulti User SharingExpert SupportBackupSmart syncPersonal SolutionBusiness SolutionTeams optionsOffline foldersFile history and recovery
WP Engine Alternatives
Hostinger: Best Performance & Low Cost
4.9
Lowest prices on the market for long-term plans
Read Review
Nexcess: Best Managed Hosting
4.8
Best managed hosting for multiple platforms, from WordPress to Magento
Read Review
InterServer: Best Monthly Hosting Plan
4.8
The best choice for hosting on a month-to-month basis
Read Review
Kinsta: Fastest Managed WordPress Hosting
4.7
Fastest, most consistent loading speeds in our testing
Read Review
51947
Best Speed & Uptimeimage

Great Hosting for a Great Price

Plus, get a FREE domain name and email