ANALYSE ET OPINION D'EXPERT Homestead

Donna Moses
Donna Moses
Experte en développement de site Web

Homestead est un vétéran du marché de la création de site. Il a rassemblé une belle base d’utilisateurs parmi ceux qui veulent simplement un petit site. Cet éditeur a de superbes fonctionnalités, y compris une interface d’édition super simple, des outils SEO (référencement naturel), et des outils de rapport puissants.


Vue d’ensemble

homestead-overview

Homestead permet de créer un site assez facilement, mais il peut s’améliorer à beaucoup de niveaux

Homestead est l’un des éditeurs de site les plus vieux, mais il possède certaines fonctionnalités utiles pour créer de petits sites commerciaux ou personnels. Tout d’abord, Homestead héberge sur cloud, vous pourrez donc accéder à votre site et le modifier depuis n’importe quel ordi ou navigateur.

Cet éditeur de site possède une interface simple, tout le monde peut donc l’utiliser pour construire un site web de A à Z. Si Homestead possède de bons outils analytiques et quelques fonctions de e-commerce, il n’a pas la fluidité et la flexibilité des éditeurs de site plus récents. Ce qui nous manque le plus, c’est la possibilité de créer un site réactif sur mobile, fonctionnalité primordiale dans notre monde de plus en plus mobile.

Créer un magasin de e-commerce n’est pas aussi simple qu’avec d’autres éditeurs de site, et les frais supplémentaires s’additionnent rapidement. Donc si l’optimisation mobile et la vente en ligne sont importants pour votre projet, vous devriez chercher ailleurs.

C’est une bonne chose qu’Homestead fournisse l’hébergement, mais l’inconvénient, c’est que si vous voulez transférer votre site dans un service d’hébergement différent, vous devrez recommencer la création de votre site depuis le début. Heureusement, Homestead propose une généreuse garantie satisfait ou remboursé de 30 jours, afin de pouvoir tester cet éditeur pleinement avant de s’engager.

Modèles

4.3
homestead-templates

Des centaines de modèles personnalisables avec accès HTML

Des modèles pour tous commerces: peu importe votre niche, vous trouverez probablement un modèle qui fonctionne. Mais même avec ça, les modèles de Homestead ont une apparence et un ressenti assez vieillot, et si vous cherchez quelque chose de plus contemporain, il vous faudra chercher ailleurs.

Personnalisation: heureusement, Homestead vous permet de personnaliser les modèles en changeant tout ce que vous voulez, des couleurs à la mise en page, aux images et à la copie. Les utilisateurs avancés seront ravis d’apprendre qu’ils peuvent ajouter du code HTML sur mesure pour modifier des sections spécifiques du site. Il est également possible d’ajouter des vidéos et des animations Flash.

Réactivité mobile: les modèles ne sont pas réactifs sur mibile et cela peut vraiment poser problème à ceux qui savent ce qu’ils veulent chez un éditeur de site. La solution qu’a trouvé Homestead c’est de s’allier avec un autre éditeur de site, Duda, afin que vous puissiez utiliser son éditeur pour créer un site mobile. Mais il y a un piège… vous devrez payer en plus pour utiliser l’éditeur de Duda, alors autant utiliser Duda et Duda seulement pour créer votre site !Explorez les modèles de Homestead

Fonctionnalités

4.5

Des outils solides pour implanter votre business en ligne

SEO : Malgré ses défauts, Homestead est très sérieux quand il s’agit de business – sa mission, c’est que vous “trouviez un site, vous fassiez découvrir et obteniez des clients”. C’est exactement ce qu’il fait, avec ses outils SEO solides qui vous permettent d’ajouter des balises méta, des titres méta et des mots clé, afin que votre site soit visible sur les moteurs de recherche.

Blog : Le module de gestion de blog vous permet d’ajouter une page de blog décente. Les publications sur le blog peuvent être enregistrées comme brouillons pour les publier plus tard, mais il aurait été préférable de pouvoir prévoir les publications à une date et heure spécifique, comme le proposent d’autres éditeurs de site. C’est très simple d’ajouter un widget pour les commentaires et des boutons de partage sur les réseaux sociaux à vos publications.

Analytiques du site : Homestead a de supers outils de rapport qui vous permettent de voir les performances de votre site en temps réel. Vous pouvez voir les pages les plus populaires, d’où viennent les visiteurs du site, leur chemin de navigation, etc. C’est un gros plus pour n’importe quel business.Voir la liste complète des fonctionnalités

Convivialité

4.3
homestead-ease-of-use

Mettez votre entreprise en ligne en seulement quelques clics

Si Homestead a un côté un peu vieillot, son interface d’édition simple et claire vous permet de créer facilement votre site web. Pour ajouter ou modifier des éléments, il vous suffit de cliquer sur la zone concernée pour appliquer les changements à toutes les pages. Comparé à d’autres éditeurs de site, Homestead rend le déplacement des éléments sur la page très simple, ainsi que les modifications des tailles des objets.

Découvrez si Homestead est fait pour vous

Assistance

4.6
homestead-supportLe service client de Homestead se défend bien, comparé à d’autres éditeurs plus récents. Vous pouvez parler à un membre de l’équipe d’assistance par chat en direct pour une réponse immédiate, ou les joindre par téléphone. Il n’y a pas d’assistance par e-mail, mais ça ne me paraît pas être éliminatoire – après tout, les tutoriaux travaillés et le forum communautaire en ligne sont de très bonnes sources d’information pour la plupart des questions.

Comparaison

Comment Homestead se compare à la concurrence ?

Wix Comparer 4.9 Comparer
SITE123 Comparer 4.7 Comparer
Homestead Comparer 4.3 Comparer
Nicepage Comparer 3.0 Comparer

Tarifs

4.3

Combien ça coûte de trouver un site, se faire découvrir et avoir des clients ?

Si vous n’obtiendrez pas de compte gratuit à vie avec Homestead comme proposé par d’autres éditeurs, vous aurez jusqu’à 30 jours d’essai gratuit pour tester pleinement ses fonctionnalités, ce après quoi vous serez automatiquement facturé si vous n’annulez pas votre compte.

Il y a trois abonnements différents, le moins cher étant le Starter. Celui-ci vous donne accès à jusqu’à 5 pages, 5 GB de bande passante par mois, 25 MB de stockage et un domaine.

L’abonnement Business propose 5 GB de bande passante, 100 GB de stockage, jusqu’à 100 pages, 5 adresses e-mail, et 3 domaines personnalisés.

Quand à l’abonnement Business Plus, c’est 10 GB de stockage, 500 GB de bande passante et jusqu’à 50 adresses e-mail, trois domaines et un nombre illimité de pages web.

Les trois abonnements vous donnent accès à des milliers d’images libres de droit, des analytiques de site, et le service client. Toutefois, si vous voulez créer un magasin en ligne, les abonnements pour e-commerce vous coûteront plus cher.

Avis d'utilisateurs

Basé sur 3 avis en 1 langues
4.0
Soyez le premier utilisateur à laisser un avis sur Homestead en français !
Écrire un avis
Vous pouvez consulter les avis utilisateurs dans d'autres langues
Répondre à l'avis
Reply
Visitez Homestead
reply
fr
Erreur
onClick="trackClickout('event', 'clickout', 'Vendor Page - Visit User Reviews', 'homestead', this, true);"
View 1 reply
Voir %d réponses
avatar
5.0
Egghead
USA
29 Avril 2020
Homestead does have mobile built in

I don't know what you're talking about when you say homestead doesn't let you create a mobile version. It automatically creates a mobile version and you can edit it independently. The only thing that costs more is to add a store to your site. If all you want is to sell a few things, then you can just add the paypal buttons they have and you don't even need to add a store.

avatar
3.0
anonymus
USA
14 Janvier 2020
Homestead site builder does not offer help

When Homestead first began it offered live chat, helpline. Now after a reboot those options have disappeared from their website. You cannot get help other than posting on a forum and hoping somebody knows a solution. Desktop and mobile used to be available for one price now separate . Mobile site is more difficult to set up now that they have changed.

avatar
4.0
Michelle Vine
USA
04 Mars 2018
I am very pleased with Homestead

Homestead provides modern Templates and excellent support via phone. They are using Websitebuilder as their builder. The downsides are a more than bare bones forms creator, they only support Google for site search, and their "online community" isn't all that useful. I have been very satisfied over the past 5 years.

Conclusion concernant Homestead

Homestead est un vétéran du marché de la création de site. Il a rassemblé une belle base d’utilisateurs parmi ceux qui veulent simplement un petit site. Cet éditeur a de superbes fonctionnalités, y compris une interface d’édition super simple, des outils SEO (référencement naturel), et des outils de rapport puissants.

Toutefois, l’absence de modèles réactifs sur mobile est une véritable déception. Ce problème, à lui seul, poussera des tas de gens à chercher un autre éditeur de site. On ne peut pas nier que la présence sur mobile est très importante ; si votre site ne possède pas de version mobile correcte, les clients potentiels risquent d’être déçus, et vous pourriez perdre de l’argent. Homestead a également besoin d’améliorer le design de ses modèles , pour proposer des choses plus contemporaines. Donc, si la version mobile, le e-commerce et des modèles à tomber par terre sont importants pour vous, vous devriez envisager d’utiliser d’autres éditeurs de site.

Donna Moses
Donna Moses
Donna est une écrivaine passionnée qui adore créer des contenus attirants et qui donnent à réfléchir pour les univers technologique et en ligne. Elle est passionnée par les nouvelles technologies et les tendances de l'Internet.

Homestead Alternatives

898195

Reviews and expert opinion Homestead

Donna Moses
Donna Moses
Website Development Expert

Homestead is a veteran in the website builder market. To its credit, it has acquired quite a following among those who just want a simple small business site. This builder has some strong features including a super-easy editor interface, SEO tools, and powerful reporting.

Overview

homestead-overview

Homestead makes building a website relatively easy but there’s plenty of room to step up

Homestead is a decent website builder, but it won’t give you the full set of features you’ll get with the top website builders like Wix.

Homestead is one of the oldest website builders but it still boasts some useful features for creating functional small business and personal websites. For starters, Homestead is cloud-based hosting, meaning you can access your website and edit it from any desktop or browser.

This site builder has a simple interface, so just about anyone can use the available tools to build a website from scratch. Although Homestead has pretty good site analytics and some e-commerce functions, it lacks the seamlessness and flexibility of newer site builders. Sorely absent is the ability to build a mobile responsive website, a feature that is completely necessary for today’s increasingly mobile world.

Setting up an e-commerce storefront is not as straightforward as it is with other modern site builders and the additional costs quickly add up. So, if mobile optimization and selling online are important to you, you might want to look elsewhere.

It is commendable that Homestead provides hosting but the downside is if you want to transfer your site to a different hosting service, you’d have to start building and editing your site from scratch. Luckily, Homestead has a generous 30-day money-back guarantee so you can test out this site builder before fully committing.

Templates

4.3
homestead-templates

Hundreds of Customizable Templates with HTML Access

Templates for every business: Whatever your niche is, you will likely find a template that works just fine. Even then, Homestead’s templates look and feel a bit old-fashioned so you might want to look at other builders if you need templates with a more contemporary vibe.

Customizable: Luckily, Homestead lets you customize templates so you can change anything from the colors to the layout, images, and copy. Advanced users will love the idea of adding custom HTML code to edit specific sections of the website. It’s also possible to add videos and Flash animation.

Mobile responsive: The templates here are not mobile responsive and this is a serious deal breaker for anyone who knows what they want from a site builder. What Homestead has done on this one is to link up with another site builder, Duda, so you can use its editor to build a mobile website. But, there’s a catch…you’d need to pay an additional fee to use the Duda editor so you might as well just use Duda to build your website from the get-go!Explore Homestead Templates

Features

4.5

Solid Tools to Get Your Business Online

SEO: In spite of some of its shortcomings, Homestead is really serious about business – its mission is for you to ‘get a site, get found, get customers.’ It does just that with its robust SEO tool that lets you add meta tags, meta titles, and keywords to make your website visible on the search engine pages.

Blog: The blog manager module lets you add a decent blog page. Blog posts can be saved as drafts to be published later, but it would have been better if it were possible to set posts to publish at a specific date and time, as is standard with other site builders. You can easily add a comments widget and social follow buttons to your posts.

Site analytics: Homestead has some pretty neat reporting tools that let you see your website’s performance in real time. You can keep track of the most popular pages, the source of site visitors, site visitors’ navigational path etc. These metrics are a huge plus for any business.See full list of features

Ease of use

4.3
homestead-ease-of-use

Take Your Business Online With a Few Clicks

Although Homestead feels a little bit outdated, its simple and clear editing interface removes many of the hassles of building a website. Adding or editing page elements only requires you to select the appropriate area and a click of a button allows you to apply the changes to all pages.  Compared to some site builders, Homestead’s editor makes it pleasantly easy to move elements around the page and to resize most objects to your preference.See if Homestead is Right for You

Support

4.6
homestead-supportHomestead’s support stacks up really well in comparison to some of the newer builders. You can speak with a support representative on live chat for an immediate response or reach them on phone. There is no email support, but that does not seem to me like a real deal breaker – after all, the in-depth tutorials and online community forum are good sources of information for many common questions.

Pricing

4.3

What Does It Cost to Get a Site, Get Found, and Get Customers?

While you will not get a free-for-life account with Homestead as is the norm with other popular builders, you have up to 30 days free to get a feel of the features, after which you will be automatically billed if you do not cancel your chosen account.

There are three plans available with the Starter plan being the cheapest. This one gives you up to five pages, 5GB monthly bandwidth, 25MB worth of storage, and one domain.

The Business Plan offers 5GB and 100GB of storage and bandwidth respectively, supports up to 100 pages, allows 5 email address, and 3 custom domains.

Upgrading to the Business Plus plan gets you 10GB storage, 500GB bandwidth, up to 50 email addresses, three domains, and an unlimited number of web pages.

All three plans give you access to thousands of royalty free images, site analytics, and customer support. However, if you want to build an online store, e-commerce plans incur additional costs.

User reviews

Based on 3 reviews in 1 languages
4.0
Write a Review
Language
  • English (3)
Sort by
Newest
  • Newest
  • Oldest
  • Best
  • Worst
Reply to review
Reply
Visit Homestead
reply
en
Error
onClick="trackClickout('event', 'clickout', 'Vendor Page - Visit User Reviews', 'homestead', this, true);"
View 1 reply
View %d replies
avatar
5.0
Egghead
USA
April 29, 2020
Homestead does have mobile built in

I don't know what you're talking about when you say homestead doesn't let you create a mobile version. It automatically creates a mobile version and you can edit it independently. The only thing that costs more is to add a store to your site. If all you want is to sell a few things, then you can just add the paypal buttons they have and you don't even need to add a store.

avatar
3.0
anonymus
USA
January 14, 2020
Homestead site builder does not offer help

When Homestead first began it offered live chat, helpline. Now after a reboot those options have disappeared from their website. You cannot get help other than posting on a forum and hoping somebody knows a solution. Desktop and mobile used to be available for one price now separate . Mobile site is more difficult to set up now that they have changed.

avatar
4.0
Michelle Vine
USA
March 04, 2018
I am very pleased with Homestead

Homestead provides modern Templates and excellent support via phone. They are using Websitebuilder as their builder. The downsides are a more than bare bones forms creator, they only support Google for site search, and their "online community" isn't all that useful. I have been very satisfied over the past 5 years.

Comparison

How does Homestead match up to the competition?

Wix Compare 4.9 Compare
Squarespace Compare 4.8 Compare
Homestead Compare 4.3 Compare
Nicepage Compare 3.0 Compare

Bottom line on Homestead

Homestead is a veteran in the website builder market. To its credit, it has acquired quite a following among those who just want a simple small business site. This builder has some strong features including a super-easy editor interface, SEO tools, and powerful reporting.

However, the fact that mobile/responsive templates are not available is a complete letdown. This issue alone will cause many people to look at other site builders instead. There is no denying that mobile is a big deal—if your website cannot seamlessly fit on the small screen, it’s likely that potential customers will be put off and you’ll be losing money. Homestead also needs to look into upgrading the design and feel of its templates, to offer contemporary choices. So, if elements like mobile, e-commerce and stunning templates are important to you, it’s best to consider other site builders.

Before you make a decision, read my colleague’s comparison of the best website builders to make sure you’re not missing out on better alternatives.

Donna Moses
Donna Moses
Donna is a passionate writer who is all about creating engaging and thought-provoking content for the tech and online world. She is an avid lover of new technology and internet trends.

Homestead Alternatives

Wix
4.9
Over 500 professionally designed templates
Read Review
SITE123
4.7
Build a website in three simple steps
Read Review
Squarespace
4.7
Beautiful collection of customizable templates
Read Review
WordPress
4.7
The most powerful and versatile site builder
Read Review
26183