本站内有联盟营销的链接,用户通过点击我们网站上的链接到联盟网站购物,我们将获得联盟佣金。了解更多。测评的公正性不会受到影响。

评论与专家意见 GoDaddy WordPress Hosting

埃塞基耶尔·布鲁尼 埃塞基耶尔·布鲁尼 网页托管专家

毫无疑问,GoDaddy 的 WordPress 专用托管要比它的共享托管好用很多。前者的性价比也更高。如果您是新手,它的入门指南也很有帮助。不过,它远非完美,性能之不稳定有点令人担忧。它当然不是合适每一个人的服务。不过如果您刚起步,它就是个很不错的选择。

我们在最受欢迎的网页寄存平台上寄存了相同的WordPress网站,并对其性能进行评估
点击这里查看我们的结果 >>

總論

GoDaddy's WordPress hosting benefits
GoDaddy 的 WordPress 套餐跟共享托管套餐非常不同,这是优点!

GoDaddy 很出名,您可能已经听说过。它是运营时间最长的域名注册商之一,其市场营销投入非常大,当年还邀请到了知名赛车手为其活动助阵。

而且它的域名服务确实不错。它不是我的首选,但许多人非常喜爱它。 但 GoDaddy 的托管服务一直以来充其量只是个大杂烩。GoDaddy 不完全是一家托管公司。它是一家域名公司,也提供部分托管服务,如共享托管套餐、WordPress 套餐、VPS 托管、专用服务器,以及自有的网站构建器。

今天,我们重点关注 WordPress 套餐。一些网页托管服务假借“WordPress 套餐”之名收取额外的费用,而实际上不过是共享套餐,只是增加了一些插件。也有些托管服务确实针对 WordPress 优化了服务器,并给提供专门客服支持、自动更新和额外的安全功能。

我也购买了一个 GoDaddy 的 WordPress 专用套餐,用了一段时间,进行测试。

以下是我的发现。

功能

4.3

GoDaddy 的 WordPress 功能集相当不错

GoDaddy 的功能都很优秀,无论是一般功能还是 WordPress 相关功能都很棒,尤其是相较它的价格而言。这个域名巨头在丰富的套餐内容和保持相对简单之间取得了良好的平衡。

GoDaddy's WordPress Hosting
WordPress 安装向导是我很喜欢的功能。

我在测试时选择了 基础套餐,其中包含:

  • 1个网站。这意味着只能用一个域名
  • 30GB 存储空间
  • 网站备份保护,一键恢复
  • 每天自动扫描恶意软件
  • 支付一年以上的费用可获得免费域名,首次订阅期间域名也免费
  • 第一年商务电子邮件免费
  • 免费 SSL 证书

对于其价格而言,这个套餐相当不错了。它还提供以下额外功能。

WordPress 专用套餐是半管理型套餐

半管理意味着很多事情不需要您处理,由自动化工具帮您完成。总的来说,除非用户提出请求,GoDaddy 的支持人员不会介入。它管理一些简单的事项,如 WordPress 核心自动更新和插件更新。不过还是为用户减轻了许多负担。

当然,出问题的时候需要操心。

此时可寻求客服支持。除非您用 WordPress 做的事情非常复杂,否则这个过程就像有人替您管理网站一样。不过还是需要您自行添加内容,选择主题。安装向导会引导您完成网站设置,不用费心。

全部套餐均配有高级 WordPress 插件

GoDaddy 从一开始就提供相当数量的插件,以扩展 WordPress 的默认功能。部分插件是免费的,部分是付费的,但都很好用。这些插件也许不是必备的,但都不错。

首先是 CoBlocks 免费插件。它能在 WordPress 的文章和页面编辑器中添加了一系列预先设计好的内容元素,包括 hero image 块、价格表、转发到推特按钮、额外图片库样式等内容。

接下来是 Gravity Forms 插件。它是非常棒的付费表单插件。您可借助此插件制作联系表、通讯表、调查表、多页表格等任何形式的表格,无需自己写代码。它包含表单验证、垃圾邮件防护和几乎所有其他必要元素。

Sucuri Security 插件旨在帮助您审核安全情况,扫描恶意软件,并在总体上加强网站安全性。

WP101 视频教程插件的功能正如其名。这个插件可将 WordPress 教程加入您的 WordPress 面板/管理区。不用关闭软件即可学习 WordPress 使用教程。

不过还是有个缺点。WordPress 套餐宣称带有 SEO 插件。但我在 GoDaddy 的基础套餐中没有找到。

每日备份功能让人放心

我认为在套餐中包含每日备份功能的托管服务非常棒。也可以手动创建备份。所有备份将保存 90 天。这比许多托管服务提供的时间要长,而且大多数托管服务根本就没有每日备份功能。

我非常关注这一点。每次评论一个包含每日备份功能的网站,我都会将其列为一项主要功能。拥抱备份。热爱备份。为备份保存备份。这不是怪咖行为,是个值得宣扬的好习惯。

其实我就是那种每隔 30 秒左右就要保存一下的人。即便应用程序有自动保存功能,我也还是会这么做。

(更多) 恶意软件扫描/清除工具

Sucuri Security 只是其中一个安全插件。GoDaddy 的多款自有安全工具旨在保护您的网站,以免受到任何攻击或用户的影响。很多托管公司将安全问题留给用户解决(也许提供了基本的防火墙),GoDaddy 的这些安全插件很棒。

查看完整功能列表

易於使用

4.4

GoDaddy 提供绝佳的新手指引

GoDaddy 在其 WordPress 托管服务中细致地考虑到了新手。由于其品牌知名度,GoDaddy 往往是许多新手网络设计师或网站管理者的第一站,所以详细指引很有意义。

在测试过程中,我简单、迅速地搭建了 WordPress 网站,体验很好,除了有一个小问题。它在使用外部域名方面的设置不太好,似乎是期望大家从 GoDaddy 购买域名。

我明白其中的道理,但为了使用自己的域名,我不得不克服额外的障碍。其他托管服务只需给域名设置好域名服务器即可。GoDaddy 拥有大量域名服务器,所以没有理由(纯属小气)让用户手动设置 A 记录和 TXT 记录。

*哎。*不过还是有些优点。

网站创建向导功能很棒

创建过程对新手非常友好,让我想起了很多不太友好的网站构建器。它首先询问您想建立哪种网站,想在上面运行怎样的软件 (在这里当然是 WordPress),以及想把它放在哪些服务器上。

接着可以从几十个预先制作好 (并填充了示例内容) 的 WordPress 主题和网站模板当中选择,然后迅速开始。如果您觉得自己设置 WordPress 内容布局非常麻烦,那么 GoDaddy 这个功能非常有帮助。

GoDaddy's built-in WordPress themes
这些主题都很好看。

新手入门这部分内容给我留下了很深刻的印象。我很少这么说。

详细的帮助中心和知识库 + 教程

大多数托管服务都设有知识库,里面放了客服人员已经回答到厌烦的问题。GoDaddy 的知识库质量很好,非常详细,而且提供中文版本。

几乎每个方面都有相应的文章或教程。这是有道理的,因为这家公司已经发展了几十年,积累了许多文件。作为一名作者 (以及热爱学习新技术的人),我真的很欣赏好的文档。出处都标注得很清晰。

自动迁移网站

现在许多托管公司提供免费迁移服务,支持将网站从其他托管服务迁移到自己的服务器上。GoDaddy 则将这个过程自动化了。您可将 WordPress 网站迁移到 GoDaddy 服务器上,过程很顺畅,也不需要太多来回沟通。

我是个内向的人,这个功能非常有益。

了解GoDaddy WordPress Hosting是否适合您

性能

GoDaddy 的性能不错……但不算卓越

测试发现,GoDaddy 的普通共享托管服务性能一般我承认,我对它的 WordPress 专用托管服务性能也没有抱很大希望。

坦率地说,我对服务器的测试非常严格。我的测试网站包含比较多精美的元素,包括一些很大的图片。但重要的是有效地测试服务器,不是吗?欲进一步了解我们的测试方法,可点击这里阅读文章

测试结果如下。好消息是,测试网站的正常运行时间达到 100%。坏消息是,加载完整页面的平均时间为 1.9 秒。虽然仍然低于 2 秒限制,但还是不够优秀。

接下来我将深入解读这些结果。您也可以直接跳到支持部分

GTmetrix

这是我们用来测试网站完整加载速度的工具。有趣的是,第一次测试的结果为 0.9 秒,很棒。不幸的是,最慢的加载时间达到了 3.4 秒,这会导致一些浏览量的流失。

而且这两个数字之间相差很远,由此可见服务器很不稳定。

GoDaddy's GTmetrix score
页面加载速度还可以,我觉得很一般。

UptimeRobot

UptimeRobot 用于衡量一个服务器在多大程度上能保持不崩溃。这方面的测试结果很优秀。

GoDaddy UptimeRobot results
100%,没得说。

了解GoDaddy WordPress Hosting是否适合您

支援

4.1

GoDaddy 的客服支持服务时好时坏

好消息是,它提供全时段客服支持。我是半自由职业者,工作日程安排不怎么健康,睡眠习惯也不好,刚好测试了全时段客服支持。可别笑我,榜单就是这么来的。

坏消息是,您不能期待发出一个问题,隔一段时间回来,问题便得到解决。只能通过实时聊天和电话寻求客服支持。我测试的情况如下。

实时聊天

第一次实时聊天时,我的体验好。开始还不错,我在 5 分钟内就收到了第一次回复。但后来,我犯了一个错误。我问了个简单的问题。GoDaddy 的销售代表确实应该能回答上这个问题。

我问:“为什么要选择 WordPress 专用套餐?它们跟常规共享托管套餐有什么不同或优势?”

在销售代表回答问题之前,我需要像销售代表发送账户信息 (这不是他们的错,这只是公司规定的无聊程序),然后我得到了没有太多实际价值的回答。

my first chat with GoDaddy
都是一些没什么用的“信息”。

还是要说清楚。我不责怪销售代表,而是将这个结果归咎于销售培训。我可以想象,他们的培训讲了 WordPress 的要点,还有鼓励团队合作和无偿加班的振奋演讲。

第二次实时聊天效果好些。这一次,我是和支持人员交谈,他们或多或少必须了解技术,对吧?幸运的是,他们提供了有效的帮助。

我问:“我可以在不同的数据中心之间迁移网站吗?”大约 15 分钟后,我得到了答案。这取决于套餐。有趣的是,如果使用的是 WordPress 套餐,则必须删除网站,然后重新设置。

再自己将主题和内容等元素添加回去。有意思。

My second chat with GoDaddy
客服人员的语言还可提升,但信息很有用。

目前,实时聊天只支持英语和阿拉伯语,所以请记住,您将无法以中文与销售或客服代理沟通。

电话客服

幸运的是,电话支持比即时聊天顺利得多。我拨通了美国号码 (世界各地有相当多的号码可供选择),因为我确实遇到了问题。还记得吗?我之前提到,外部域名需要自行设置 A 记录。这个问题在这里发挥了作用。

为了获得 SSL 证书,我必须“验证域名”,证明我拥有这个域名。我不明白为什么要这么做。于是,我打电话询问:“为什么需要域名验证?域名服务器呢?”

首先,接通电话的是语音指令机器人,效果不错。然后等待了 20 分钟,我向人工客服提出了问题。考虑到那是中部时间的深夜,我不责怪值夜班的人。

技术人员很有礼貌,提供了有效的帮助,很快就帮我解决了问题。完成了更多关于域名记录的麻烦操作之后,我获得了一个带有 SSL 证书的可运作的网站。

GoDaddy 不希望大家使用外部域名。这可以理解,但还是让人不快。

请注意,电话服务支持中文,服务时间为周一至周五 8:00~19:00。因此,您可以使用自己偏好的语言寻求客服支持,避免误解。

標價

4.5

GoDaddy 的价格很公平

价格足够便宜,对于所提供的功能而言比较划算。但服务器性能不稳定,影响了功能发挥作用。其实可以用更便宜的价格获得更好的性能和相当的功能。例如,Hostinger 提供更便宜的 WordPress 套餐,在我们的测试中表现出色

GoDaddy 的一个好处是,它支持许多付款方式,因国家而异,主要包括 Visa、Mastercard、American Express、Discover、JCB、Diner’s Club 和 PayPal。

与大多数托管服务供应商一样,续费比首次订阅的诱人价格高得多,但这是网站托管服务的普遍情况。我讨厌这种手段,但也不能说 GoDaddy 的做法很出格。价格也取决于套餐的时长。因此,要获得广告宣传的价格,必须预付几年的托管费。但同样,几乎所有公司都是如此。

取消和退费

取消和退款非常简单。对于月费套餐,可在初次交易后 48 小时内发起退款。年费套餐则有 30 天退款保证。

在时限内取消,您可向 GoDaddy 支持部门发起请求,获得退款。非常简单。

比较

GoDaddy WordPress Hosting在竞争中表现如何?

Hostinger比較4.9比較
InterServer比較4.8比較
GoDaddy WordPress Hosting比較4.5比較
Bluehost比較2.5比較

使用者評論

成为第一个评论 GoDaddy WordPress Hosting中文用户!
撰寫評論
回复审核
回复
访问 GoDaddy WordPress Hosting
reply
zh-hans
错误
onclick="trackClickout('event', 'clickout', 'Visit User Reviews', 'godaddy-wordpress-hosting', this, true, ReturnPopup );"
View 1 reply
查看%d回复
家庭共享多用户共享专家支持备用智能同步个人解决方案企业解决方案团队选项离线文件夹文件历史和恢复

GoDaddy WordPress Hosting 评测:总结

不管有多喜欢 GoDaddy 的新手入门指引或 WordPress 插件,如果您建立的网站在用户点开时无法加载,繁忙的访客一般不会再次尝试了。这是无效的。就是这么简单。虽然 GoDaddy 的表现不是我见过的最差的 (我测试过很多服务),但也不是最好的。

GoDaddy 的服务有很多可圈可点的方面,但它的表现相当不稳定。因此,我对完全推荐 GoDaddy 持谨慎态度。销售代表的话术也需要提升。

市面上有比 GoDaddy 更便宜、更好用的替代服务。不过,它的入门指引确实很棒,新手体验极佳。

常见问题

我需要使用针对 WordPress 的托管服务吗?严格说来,需要吗?不需要,您可在任何支持 PHP 脚本语言和 MySQL/MariaDB 数据库的服务器上运行 WordPress。对于非技术人员而言,这意味着几乎所有的托管服务都可以运行 WordPress。例如,Hostinger 的基础托管套餐就支持 WordPress,只需 $1.39 不过,如果您很关注性能,WordPress 专用托管服务非常有用。它会进行服务器配置,让 WordPress 在相应服务器上成为最快、最有效的工具。GoDaddy 等公司提供许多额外工具,以帮助新手更方便地制作首个 WordPress 网站。如果没有这些帮助,可能首次设置、学习会花费较长的时间。 欲了解更多提供 WordPress 专用套餐的托管服务,请查看我们的榜单:网站托管服务最佳供应商GoDaddy 为 WordPress 提供了哪些性能工具?真正有用的工具?似乎没有。除了有人在 GoDaddy 论坛上抱怨他们的 WordPress 网站很慢之外,我找不到任何 WordPress 性能相关的具体信息。 在这方面,GoDaddy 的管理型 WordPress 托管服务远远落后于其他服务,比不上 Kinsta 等昂贵的选项,也比不上更便宜的 A2 Hosting 等服务。GoDaddy 和 InterServer,哪个更有价值?GoDaddy 更便宜一些,它一开始就提供所有模板,这很好。但是 InterServer 在我们评出的 5 个最佳 WordPress 托管服务 中榜上有名,原因如下:提供完全控制权,性能优异,客户服务优秀,等等。 InterServer 的 WordPress VPS 套餐(顾名思义,包含虚拟私人服务器)比大多数共享托管 WordPress 专用服务更快、更稳定,而且仍然非常实惠。并且续费时价格不会提高。InterServer 的续订价格跟首次订阅相同。 无论您选择哪种服务,都不要错过我们的优惠GoDaddy 容易使用吗?容易使用。这是 GoDaddy 的优势之一。只需简单点击几下,即可创建和运行 WordPress 网站,非常方便,还提供了完整的设计库和大量优质 WordPress 插件。 我还会推荐许多其他服务,包括 WordPress.com,但 GoDaddy 确实很容易使用。这就是我的评价。

埃塞基耶尔·布鲁尼 埃塞基耶尔·布鲁尼
埃塞基耶尔·布鲁尼是加拿大裔墨西哥人,自认是个彻头彻尾的书呆子。他从十几岁起就是一名网络和体验设计师,并喜欢与初学者分享建议。此外,他也喜欢视频游戏、炸玉米饼、开源软件、视频游戏、各种形式的科幻和魔幻产品,以及视频游戏。

GoDaddy WordPress Hosting 备择方案

Hostinger
4.9
市场上最便宜的长期计划
阅读评论
Liquid Web
4.8
为从WordPress到Magento等多个平台提供最佳的寄存服务
阅读评论
InterServer
4.8
每月进行灵活寄存的最佳选择
阅读评论
FastComet
4.6
最适合亚洲和大洋洲的受众
阅读评论
2027407
image一月 2022最佳虚拟主机

物有所值的主机服务

把网站托管在超快速服务器上,
免费获得域名和电子邮件帐户

Our website contains links to affiliate websites and we receive an affiliate commission for any purchase made to the affiliate website by clicking the links in our website. Learn More. Our reviews are not affected by participation in such programs.

Reviews and expert opinion GoDaddy WordPress Hosting

Ezequiel Bruni Ezequiel Bruni Web Hosting Expert

Without a doubt, GoDaddy’s WordPress hosting is better than its shared hosting… by a lot. It’s also better value for money – and its onboarding process is perfect if you’re a beginner. It’s far from perfect, though, and its sometimes inconsistent performance is a bit of a red flag. It’s definitely not for everyone – but if you’re just getting started, then it’s got a lot going for it.

We hosted the same WordPress website on the most popular web hosting platforms and measured their performance
Click here to see our results >>

Overview

GoDaddy's WordPress hosting benefits
GoDaddy’s WordPress plans are very different from it’s shared hosting plans – which is a really good thing!

GoDaddy has name recognition to burn, so you’ve probably heard of it. Why? It’s only one of the longest-running domain name registrars, with an advertising budget that got it an actual race car driver back in the day.

And heck, the domain service is alright. Not my favorite, but it’s many other people’s favorite. GoDaddy’s hosting service, however, has historically been a mixed bag at best. GoDaddy is not exactly a hosting company. It’s a domain company that has some hosting, with shared hosting plans, WordPress plans, VPS hosting, dedicated servers, and its own website builder.

But here our focus is on WordPress plans. Some web hosts charge you extra for a “WordPress plan” that isn’t anything more than a shared plan with some plugins thrown in. Other hosts actually optimize their servers for WordPress and give you specialized support, automatic updates, and extra security features.

I myself went and got a GoDaddy WordPress plan, just for a while, to see if it’s any good.

Here’s what I found:

Features

4.3

GoDaddy’s WordPress Feature Set Is Pretty Decent

I have to say that GoDaddy’s features, both general and WordPress-related, are pretty darned good, especially for the price. The domain giant has struck a good balance between loading its plans up with extras and keeping things relatively simple.

GoDaddy's WordPress Hosting
The WordPress installation wizard is one of the features I really like.

For my test, I went with the Basic plan, which includes:

  • 1 website – this means you can only attach one domain
  • 30GB storage
  • Website backup protection with 1-click restore
  • Automatic daily malware scans
  • Free domain – only if you pay for more than a year, but the domain is free for your initial term
  • Free business email for the first year
  • Free SSL certificate

For the price, that’s a respectable offering right there. Things get even more interesting when you bring the following features into play:

The WordPress Plans Are Actually Semi-managed

Semi-managed means that a lot of things are done for you, but by automated tools. By and large, GoDaddy’s support staff won’t get involved unless you ask them to. The management is relegated to simple things, like automatic core WordPress updates and plugin updates. Still, that’s a lot of stuff you mostly don’t have to worry about.

Unless, of course, something goes wrong.

That’s when you can get support involved, and unless you’re doing something really complex with WordPress, it’s almost like having someone manage your site for you. You’ll still have to put in your own content and choose your own theme, though. The installation wizard literally walks you through the set up of your site, which is great if you want a totally hands-off set up.

All Plans Come with Premium WordPress Plugins

GoDaddy has chosen to expand the default WordPress by including a fair number of extra plugins from the get-go. Some of these are free, some are paid, but they’re all good. Maybe not essential to the WordPress experience, but good.

First up is CoBlocks, a free plugin that adds a bunch of predesigned content elements to WordPress’ posts and page editor. It includes things like hero blocks, pricing tables, Click to Tweet buttons, extra image gallery styles, and more.

Next is Gravity Forms, one of the best paid form plugins out there. It allows you to make just about any kind of form you want without coding it yourself: contact forms, newsletter forms, surveys, multi-page forms, and more. It has form validation, spam protection, and pretty much everything else you’ll need.

Sucuri Security is designed to help you with auditing your security, scanning for malware, and generally hardening your site against attack.

WP101 Video Tutorials is exactly what it sounds like. It’s a plugin that delivers WordPress tutorials right to your WordPress dashboard/admin area. Learn WordPress without ever leaving WordPress.

Poynt is GoDaddy’s own WooCommerce payment processing plugin, which allows you to accept credit and debit card payments and get the funds the next business day.

GoDaddy's WooCommerce plugin for fast payments

Now, one downside: The WordPress plans are advertised as coming with an SEO plugin. On GoDaddy’s basic plan, I saw no such thing. It just wasn’t there.

There Are Daily Backups to Ease Your Mind

I cannot sing enough praises to any host that includes daily backups in its plans. You can also create backups manually, and all backups are kept for 90 days. This is actually longer than many hosts will provide, and most don’t have an option for daily backups at all.

I’m so serious about this, I always list this as one of the primary features whenever I review a site that includes it. Embrace the backups. Love the backups. Backup the backups. It’s not just nerd stuff, it’s good business.

To be fair, I’m exactly the kind of guy who saves his work every 30 seconds or so, even when the apps I’m using autosave everything I do.

There Are (More) Malware Scanning/Removal Tools

Sucuri Security is only part of the equation when it comes to security. GoDaddy has its own tools that are designed to keep your site free of anything that would attack it or your users. A lot of hosting companies leave security up to the user (beyond a basic firewall, perhaps), so this is a nice touch.

See full list of features

Ease of use

4.4

GoDaddy Has Fantastic Onboarding Tools for Beginners

GoDaddy has very specifically set up its WordPress hosting with beginners in mind. Due to its brand recognition, GoDaddy is often the first port of call for many a new web designer or website owner, so that makes sense.

My experience setting up a WordPress site was fast, simple, and for the most part even pleasant. Well, except for one little problem: It is NOT very well set up for using external domain names. It’s kind of expected you’ll buy your domain from GoDaddy.

Look, I get why that is the case, but it’s not cool that I had to jump through extra hoops to get my domain working. Every other host just let me point my domain at a nameserver and be done. GoDaddy has nameservers aplenty, so there’s no reason (other than sheer pettiness) for it to make you manually set up A records and TXT records to get everything working.

*Sigh.* That said, here’s some of the good stuff:

The Site Creation Wizard Is Fantastic

This part of the process was beginner-friendly as all heck and reminded me a lot of site builders. It asks you what kind of website you want to build, what sort of software you want running on it (WordPress in this case, of course), and where you want to put it, server-wise.

And then you get to choose from dozens of premade (and prefilled with example content) WordPress themes and site templates to get you started quickly. If you’ve ever thought putting together your own content layouts for WordPress was a hassle, then GoDaddy has you covered.

GoDaddy's built-in WordPress themes
And they’re good-looking themes too

I was genuinely, actually impressed by this part of the onboarding experience. I don’t say that too often.

Detailed Help Center & Knowledge Base + Tutorials

Most hosts have some sort of knowledge base, a place to put all the questions that the support agents get tired of answering. Well, GoDaddy’s knowledge base is actually pretty darned good, because it is detailed.

There’s an article or tutorial for just about every facet of the service. This makes sense, as the company has literally had decades to sort out its documentation. As a writer (and eternal student of new tech), I truly appreciate good documentation. Credit where it’s due, and all of that.

Auto-migration Moves Your Site from Point A to Point G(oDaddy)

Many hosts now offer free site migration from other hosts to their own servers. GoDaddy has gone and automated this process. The idea is that it can move your WordPress site to GoDaddy’s servers with minimal fuss or human contact.

Introvert that I am, I see the benefit in this feature.

See if GoDaddy WordPress Hosting is Right for You

Performance

4.2

GoDaddy’s Performance Was Okay… But Not Fantastic

When I tested GoDaddy’s regular shared hosting, the performance wasn’t great. I’ll admit, I didn’t have high hopes for its WordPress hosting performance, either. 

Now, to be fair, I don’t ever go easy on the servers. My test site is a bit heavy on the fancy stuff, including some rather large images. But hey, the point is to properly test these servers, right?  If you want to know more about how we perform our tests, you can read about it here.

Now, the test results: The good news is that the test site maintained 100% uptime. The bad news is that complete page load time averaged out at 1.9 seconds. While that’s still under the 2 seconds you should aim for, it’s not the best performance.

I’m going to dive deeper into the numbers now, but if you’d rather just go to the Support section, I’ll totally understand.

GTmetrix

This is the tool we use to see just how fast or slow a site loads in its entirety. Funny story, the first test returned a load time of 0.9 seconds, which is fantastic. Unfortunately, the slowest load time was 3.4 seconds, which is going to cost you in visitors.

And there was a lot of variation between those two numbers, so the servers aren’t at all stable.

GoDaddy's GTmetrix score
The page loading speed was okay – but I’m not totally impressed.

UptimeRobot

UptimeRobot measures how well a server manages to not crash. This, at least, returned excellent results:

GoDaddy UptimeRobot results
Can’t argue with 100%

See if GoDaddy WordPress Hosting is Right for You

Support

4.1

Support Was a Bit of a Mixed Bag with GoDaddy

So, the good news: Support is available 24/7. I have tested this by being a semi-freelancer with a less-than-healthy work schedule and terrible sleeping habits. Don’t judge me; this is how I bring you the good stuff.

The bad news is that, if you like to open a ticket and then go to the movies, you don’t have that option. The only support channels you get are live chat and phone calls. Here’s how that went for me:

Live Chat

I straight up did not have a good time in my first chat interaction. It started well enough; I got my initial response in less than 5 minutes. But then, I made a mistake. I asked a simple question that a GoDaddy sales representative really should have been able to answer.

Specifically, I asked, “Why should I get a WordPress-specific plan? What makes them better or different from regular shared hosting plans?”

Well, I was made to send in account information before they’d answer a sales question (that’s not the agent’s fault, that’s just a dumb, corporate-mandated process), and then the agent proceeded to tell me nothing of value:

my first chat with GoDaddy
That’s some pretty useless “info”, if you ask me

Let’s be clear: I don’t blame the sales rep here. I blame the sales training, which I must assume consisted of some bullet points about WordPress and a rousing speech about the importance of teamwork and unpaid overtime.

Well, the second live chat interaction went better. This time, I was talking to support, and they more or less have to know what they’re doing, right? Well, in this case, yes. Thank any god you care to name.

I asked, “Can I move my site between data centers?” and about 15 minutes later, I got the answer: It depends on your plan. Funny story, if you’re on the WordPress plan, you have to delete your site and go through the setup process again.

Then, you know, put your theme and content and all of that stuff back in yourself. So that’s fun.

My second chat with GoDaddy
The English wasn’t perfect, but the information was good

Phone

This, thankfully, went a lot better than the live chat did. I called the US number (there are quite a few numbers you can call for support all around the world) because I had an actual problem. Remember that thing I said about external domains needing to be configured by A records? Well, that was in play here.

Apparently, to get an SSL certificate, I had to “verify my domain,” or prove that I owned it. I wasn’t sure what was going on there, so when I called, I asked, “What’s with this domain verification thing? What about nameservers?”

Well, first I had to get through a voice-command bot thing, and that actually worked well for a change, and then I asked my question to a human, after a 20-minute wait on hold. Considering that this was late at night in Central time, I don’t blame the night shift.

The tech was polite and helpful, and actually helped me resolve the problem fairly quickly. There was more messing with domain records, and then I had a working website with SSL.

Man, GoDaddy does not want you to use external domains. This is understandable, but still annoying.

Pricing

4.5

GoDaddy’s Prices Are Fair Enough

The prices are cheap enough, and normally I’d say they are more than fair for the features provided. It’s just that those features are a bit marred by the inconsistent performance of the servers. Let me be clear: You can get better performance with comparable features for cheaper. Hostinger, for example, has cheaper WordPress plans that performed great in our tests.

One good thing about GoDaddy is that it has a wide variety of payment methods available to you, varying by country. Here are the big ones: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, JCB, Diner’s Club, and PayPal.

As with most hosting providers, renewal fees are (much) higher than the discounted rates you get lured in with… but that’s just how it is with web hosting. I hate it, but I can’t say GoDaddy does anything that other hosts aren’t doing. The price you pay also depends on the length of your plan (so to get those advertised prices, you’ll have to pay upfront for a few years’ of hosting) – but again, almost everyone’s doing that.

Cancellations & Refunds

Cancellations and refunds are simple enough. If you pay for a monthly plan, you can ask for a refund within 48 hours of the original transaction. If you pay for an annual plan, you have 30 days to get your money back.

If you cancel within the time limit, you can ask GoDaddy support for a refund and get it. It’s simple.

Comparison

How does GoDaddy WordPress Hosting match up to the competition?

HostingerCompare4.9Compare
InterServerCompare4.8Compare
GoDaddy WordPress HostingCompare4.5Compare
BluehostCompare2.5Compare

User reviews

Be the first user to leave a review about GoDaddy WordPress Hosting in English!
Write a Review
Reply to review
Reply
Visit GoDaddy WordPress Hosting
reply
en
Error
onclick="trackClickout('event', 'clickout', 'Visit User Reviews', 'godaddy-wordpress-hosting', this, true, ReturnPopup);"
View 1 reply
View %d replies

GoDaddy WordPress Hosting REVIEW: BOTTOM LINE

It doesn’t matter how much you like the onboarding process for beginners, or the extra WordPress plugins, if the site you build won’t load before your users run off to live their lives and generally not browse your website. It’s just that simple. And while GoDaddy’s performance isn’t the worst I’ve seen (by a long way), it’s not the greatest, either.

There is a lot to like about what GoDaddy has built here, but the rather inconsistent performance makes me wary about totally recommending GoDaddy. The company could stand to give its sales reps better scripts too.

There are cheaper and better alternatives to GoDaddy – but the onboarding process does make it a great experience for beginners.

FAQ

Do I need hosting especially for WordPress?Strictly speaking? No. You can run WordPress on any server that can handle the PHP scripting language and MySQL/MariaDB databases. For the non-technical among us, that means almost every hosting company in the world can run WordPress. You can run WordPress on Hostinger’s basic hosting plan, for example, for just $1.39. However, WordPress-specific hosting is useful when you care about performance. The best web hosts implement server configurations designed to make WordPress the fastest and most efficient it can be. Some, like GoDaddy, add a bunch of extra tools to help beginners make their first WordPress site more easily, as it can otherwise take a bit of setup time and learning. If you want to see more hosts with WordPress plans, have a look at our list of the best web hosting providers.What performance tools for WordPress does GoDaddy have?Honestly? It seems like they don’t have any. I couldn’t find any specific information related to WordPress performance other than some people complaining in the GoDaddy forums that their WordPress sites were slow. In this respect, GoDaddy’s managed WordPress hosting is leagues behind other services, both the expensive ones, like Kinsta, and the much cheaper options, like A2 Hosting.Which offers better value, GoDaddy or InterServer? Technically, GoDaddy is a bit cheaper, and it offers all those templates for you to choose from at the beginning, and that’s great. But InterServer is on our top 5 list for best WordPress hosts for several reasons, including: full control over your hosting, incredible performance, great customer service, and more. InterServer’s WordPress VPS plan (which, as the name suggests, gives you an actual virtual private server to work with) is faster and more stable than most shared hosting WordPress services and is still incredibly affordable. Oh, and the price doesn’t increase on renewal. Whatever you start paying on InterServer, you keep paying that same price for the same service, for as long as you have it. And hey, whichever service you go for, you can eke out a little more value for your money with the best discounts on our coupon page.Is GoDaddy easy to use?Yes. I can thankfully say that this is one of GoDaddy’s strong points. It’s incredibly easy to get a WordPress site up and running in just a few clicks, with a full pre-made design and plenty of premium WordPress plugins to get you started. I would still recommend so many other services first, up to and including WordPress.com, but GoDaddy is easy to use. I’ll give it that much.

Ezequiel Bruni Ezequiel Bruni
Ezequiel Bruni is biologically Canadian, legally Mexican, and self identifies as a total nerd. He’s been a web and experience designer off and on since he was a teenager, and loves sharing the kind of beginner’s advice he really wishes he’d had when he first started. He also loves video games, tacos, open source software, video games, sci-fi and fantasy in all their forms, and video games. He does not love writing in the third person.

GoDaddy WordPress Hosting Alternatives

4.9
Cheapest prices in the market for long-term plans
Read Review
4.8
Best managed hosting for multiple platforms, from WordPress to Magento
Read Review
4.8
The best choice for flexible hosting on a month-to-month basis
Read Review
4.7
Fastest, most consistent speeds in our testing
Read Review
1947495