评论与专家意见 Logo Design Guru

埃塞基耶尔·布鲁尼
埃塞基耶尔·布鲁尼
平面设计师
我拿着薪水使用了Logo Design Guru一周,但我在大部分时间里都希望可以使用其他产品。你可以选择更好的。这项服务可用,但是你可以在其他地方获得更好的标识,并且麻烦更少。请继续阅读,了解我推荐哪些标识设计服务。

總論

并非所有Gurus都水平高

Logo Design Guru Review - homepage screenshot

我从来不喜欢写这样的评测,即使写起来很简单。简而言之,我不推荐Logo Design Guru。为什么不推荐?我们只能说电话支持的服务很好,因为你会用得上它

Logo Design Guru已经有一定的资历了,但似乎网站设计从未更新过。显而易见,你可以获得来自超过150,000位设计师的服务。网站使用英语,但是只要你的设计师安装了合适的字体,你就可以随意使用任何语言制作标识。

虽然你可以使用Logo Design Guru制作中文标识,但你有更好的选项。如果你喜欢标识竞标的形式,则可以选择DesignCrowd(标识设计平台对比中夺魁的服务)。但是,如果你想避免麻烦,倾向于直接与设计师合作,我推荐使用Fiverr。你可以在这里找到专业设计师,价格低至5美元。

Logo Design Guru是Zillion Designs网络的一部分,因此你还可以从同一站点购买印刷设计、网页设计和其他服务。这些服务是打包提供的,比如,当你需要快速完成大量品牌推广工作时,可以一起发起很多设计竞标。

这是否意味着Logo Design Guru很方便呢?这款服务适合你吗?你可以在这里获得理想的标识吗?是否这样就可以开心地完成设计了呢?

据我所知,不能。很大概率不能。非常可能不行。是的。

不过,不要偏信我的话。请继续看下去,通过我的体验,了解这款服务。然后,除非你比我更有耐心,否则建议从我们最受好评的标识设计服务中选择一款,或者直接选择简单、廉价的方式, 在Fiverr上雇用设计师

功能

2.5

类似良好的官僚机构,有用但烦人

Logo Design Guru screenshot - logo concepts

作为一款服务,Logo Design Guru可用。我能用它,但在大部分时候我不喜欢用它。我可以宽容平台上的一些错误或其他不便…… 但是在这种情况下,我几乎在网站上无时不感到烦躁。

重要的是你可以发起竞标(这很容易),并雇用设计师从事一对一项目(这比较困难)。

在进行竞标时,你可以从一组样例中选择喜欢的标识,在多种不同的设计样式中挑选。遗憾的是,我们无法真正保证所提交的作品接近你选择的示例。这个问题并非Logo Design Guru所独有的,但在我发起的竞标中体现得尤为明显。

根据常见问题中的答案,大多数竞标至少都会收到30份竞标作品,所以我想我的结果比平均水平要好——竞标结束时我收到了123份竞标作品。但是,嗯,我不想过多剧透,其实我只真正喜欢其中的一份作品。通常,我希望在0.8%以上的时间里留下深刻的印象。

例如,当我在99designs上发起标识设计比赛时,我喜欢其中的几个标识,我很难在它们之间进行选择。这就是平台应该有的水平。

在Logo Design Guru上,竞标大约会持续一周,除非你付费来缩短(或延长)竞标时间。在选择最终设计后,大约需要24到48小时才能交付设计文件。公平地说,时间设置总体上还算不错。

你的最终文件实际上会提供多种格式,因此,我觉得很不错。根据常见问题的解答,你可以将标识文件转换为JPG、PSD(Photoshop)、GIF、TIFF(还记得这种格式吗?)、PNG、AI(Adobe Illustrator)、EPS(无限缩放)、FH(等等……Freehand格式?真的吗?)和PDF格式。

更新:我收到了最终文件,没有Freehand(一种很老的图形软件)。

你可以在完成设计之前要求修改(次数不确定),可能可以一直修改,直到竞标强制结束。如果你在完成所有工作后想要修改标识,则需要支付额外的费用,然后Logo Design Guru的团队会负责修改。

如果你想与你的设计师保持联系,可以使用一个基础简单的消息系统。你可以浏览设计师的作品集,查看其他标识购买者的评论,设计师完成了多少项目,赢得了多少竞标等等。

150,000+位设计师

在设计师方面,显然数量很多。当然,能否找到最好的设计师参与竞标取决于运气,我对于我的结果不太满意。绝大多数标识不算有创意,许多设计师提交的作品几乎是同一种设计的迭代品而已。

这是一般竞标平台的常见问题,并不是Logo Design Guru独有的缺点。但是在这里,平庸的设计只是让我不满的问题之一。再强调一遍,平台有150,000+多位设计师,你可能会运气好一些,能遇到更好的设计师参与竞标。

你可以私下将竞标分享给其他人

还有一个很酷的小功能是,默认情况下,竞标似乎是保密的——我认为规范就应该这样。与其他平台不一样,隐私不是额外的付费功能。你甚至可以选择与其他人私下分享你的竞标,征求你的团队或客户的反馈。

免费的设计咨询

不过请注意,这是这款服务的销售工具,如果你选择注册,可能之后会被电子邮件和电话淹没。是的,电话轰炸(稍后详述)。但是,如果你愿意忍受这些,并且还不确定设计项目需要什么,那么这项服务可能可以帮助你更好地确定需求。

他们提供的不仅仅是标识设计

Logo Design Guru属于设计服务网络的一部分,因此很自然,他们不仅提供标识。他们提供网站设计、各种印刷设计、T恤、横幅广告,甚至SEO和其他营销服务。

我的Logo Design Guru体验

这里是我的体验:我通过竞标测试了这项服务。我们不仅力求找到“最好的”标识设计服务,而且还在为网站星球征集新标识。请务必看看我对顶尖标识设计平台的全面对比评测。

我们在评测这些大牌设计服务时,会从中选择一个标识用作我们的新标识。

我们可能不会选择这里的标识,但是我们先测试一下。

开始一切顺利。我的意思是,入门非常简单。只需点击一些你喜欢的标志:

Logo Design Guru screenshot - logo samples

然后点击一些词语:

Logo Design Guru screenshot - logo styles

选择一些你喜欢的颜色:

Logo Design Guru screenshot - color palettes

然后在上面填写一些文字:

Logo Design Guru screenshot - logo details

之后只需付款即可,竞标就开始了。到目前为止一切正常,非常熟悉。但是问题也开始出现了。首先,出现了一些大众化且平庸的标识,看起来非常相似。

Logo Design Guru screenshot - logo contest

不过,这和很多竞标服务确实差不多。真正令人困扰的是,每次我将设计添加到“书签”时,整个页面都会刷新,然后继续显示首页上的标识,之前查看的进度就丢失了。我对此很不满……

这种问题是用户界面(UI)设计得不清楚造成的。我经常不知道去哪里以及下一步要做什么。UI中还有很多错别字。错误不是你可能在Google翻译中看到的语法错误;我指的是简单的老式拼写错误。这不是你在设计服务中希望看到的问题。

最后,我找到了一些我不讨厌的标识:

Logo Design Guru screenshot - logo contest finalists

但是只有一个标识胜出,我唯一喜欢的一个:

Website Planet logo from Logo Design Guru

我在使用Logo Design Guru时遇到的问题不是某一个大问题。而是在使用的过程中,我不断遇到各种各样的小问题。这体验让人印象深刻:要像这款服务一样搞砸这么多事情也不容易。

在体验错误、糟糕的设计(后文详述)以及对细节的忽略之外,我在使用Logo Design Guru的大部分时间里都希望自己还能做成些事情。查看完整功能列表

易於使用

2.0

我希望他们在使用环境中解释清楚问题,而不是在常见问题中解答

Logo Design Guru screenshot - project dashboard

我对Logo Design Guru的用户体验不满意。是的,界面在有些时候可以正常工作(我会在下面列出),但是其他时候几乎不能用,并且大多令人讨厌。

我在前面提到过这样的错误:管理竞标提交的作品时会不断刷新页面,导致查看进度丢失,但是我还遇到了其他需要解决的问题。根本的原因在于用户界面太糟糕了。

首先,我看到首页上列出了一些功能,而我在使用这个网站时从来没有找到过。我敢肯定,如果我多花些精力可以找到这些功能,但是为什么要用户费力寻找呢?另外,UI有时会有些不一致,有时很难回头查找以前使用过的东西。

然后,你会看到大量烦人的弹出式窗口,显示优惠以及诸如此类的东西。哦,还有“需要帮助?”窗口,即使你将窗口最小化,它仍会再次弹出(尤其是在新标签页中),继续显示优惠等信息。是的,是优惠——不是帮助。

最后,这对我来说是一个真正的痛点,没有办法轻松地浏览不同的设计师。你可以浏览其他竞标里中标的标识——顺便说一句,一旦你的竞标结束了,竞标就不再是私密的,这破坏了这项服务为数不多的优势之一。点击中标者,然后你可以点击进入设计师的个人资料,查看他/她过去的所有作品。这是一种极其无序的搜索方式。

你可以按类别/行业筛选标识,但这就是你能使用的所有搜索功能了。

写简介很简单

这是我尽力让这篇文章不全是负面评价的部分。撰写竞标简介很简单。在付款并开始竞标之前,你不需要回答太多问题。

管理数量众多的项目足够简单

如果你的体验比我好,并且经常使用Logo Design Guru,那么至少浏览和排序所有项目会非常容易。请参阅“易用性”部分顶部的屏幕截图,了解这部分的UI。

消息交流功能不错

一旦你真正找到喜欢的设计师(祝你好运!),交流实际上就很简单。消息系统看起来有点像传统的论坛主题(有印象吗?),这就是当今大多数平台处理消息的方式。这样还可以。

支援

3.0

你会需要支持服务

Logo Design Guru screenshot - support screen

在我真正寻求支持服务之前,我需要告诉你,你可能会与Logo Design Guru的人员进行的首次交流。具体来说,如果你刚开始一个项目,但还没有完成付款,就会遇到需要支持服务的情况。你可能有完全正常的延迟理由:你可能正在购买,仔细考虑介绍中的措辞,或者只是为了省钱。或者,像我一样,你可能正在与其他人一起工作,并且需要与他们协商。

好吧,第二天早上,我醒来看到至少五个未接来电,好几封电子邮件,甚至还有一条WhatApp消息,询问我是否要通话。然后,一位客服代表再次致电我,他非常想帮助我购买标识。他们不是我遇到过的最积极的销售人员,但是当我刚醒来看到这些的时候,足以让我心烦。我确实需要更多时间来决定。

甚至在我完成购买后,他们仍然打电话给我的老板,并开始尝试向她推销产品。看吧,我知道他们想与他们的客户亲密接触,但这有点过分了。对于通常宁愿在玻璃上走路也不愿与陌生人电话交谈的千禧一代来说,这种旧时代的营销方式实在令人不快。就像是,“我是客户。你是哪位,凭什么占用我的时间?”

但是,如果你确实需要帮助,可以通过多种方式获得帮助:电子邮件、社交媒体、电话支持以及专用于WhatsApp的号码。

值得庆幸的是,这里还有一个相当全面的FAQ区。我不得不在这里寻找很多信息,包括如何使用服务的基本说明。理想的情况不应该是这样,但是我很高兴至少提供了FAQ区。

聊天会话

我通过聊天会话告诉支持团队给我打电话,不要给老板打电话。我没有再接到他们的电话,但直至现在,他们也从未回复过这条消息。

logo-design-guru-support2

Twitter

我无法使用网站上的电子邮件表单。具体来说,表单不接受我的(非常真实的)电话号码,明明同一个号码在我注册时就可以正常使用。我联系了Twitter上的Logo Design Guru账户,询问这是什么情况,他们在大约五个小时内通过我的真实电子邮件地址回复了我。

logo-design-guru-support3

电话

Logo Design Guru电话服务的工作时间是美国东部时间周一至周六的上午9点至下午5点。这项支持服务快速且有用,并且不像销售团队那样纠缠不休。

我询问他们,我的设计文件现在在哪里,因为竞标已经完成了。我习惯了很快就能收到文件,并且我也没有在FAQ中看到这个问题(尽管问题存在)。这时我才知道最终交付大约需要24-48个小时。

我还询问了他们对标识做进一步修改的问题,并确认了如果你需要更改更多次,必须直接与Logo Design Guru团队联系。

標價

4.0
标识竞标的定价本身是公道的,但价位也有不同。你必须提供最低奖金,但是如果你愿意,可以提供更高的奖金。奖金越高,你收到的投稿可能就越多。你可以使用PayPal、Visa、万事达,Discover和美国运通支付奖金。

有一些套餐的价格更高,但对于标识设计竞标的实施方式没有实际影响。相反,这些套餐会包含其他服务,例如为办公设计、宣传单设计和网站设计等发起竞标。考虑到我目前体验的标识设计服务,我决定还是不找麻烦了。

如果你想试试,你可以在特定情况下申请退款:

  1. 如果你的项目收到的投稿作品不超过30份。这适用于各种竞标。
  2. 如果你收到30份或以上作品,但不属于“保证”竞标,保证竞标是指你保证一定会选出一名中标者的情况。如果你的竞标不属于保证类型,并且你没有选择中标者,那么你可以选择放弃支付的总奖金中的50美元。

使用权

你拥有完整的版权/商标权。当然,你必须自己申请商标,但权利全部属于你。

使用者評論

基于1语的1评论
1.0
Filter by
语言
  • English (1)
排序方式
最新
  • 最新
  • 最旧
  • 最好
  • 最差
成为第一个评论 Logo Design Guru中文用户!
撰寫評論
您可以阅读其他语言的用户评论
回复审核
Reply
访问 Logo Design Guru
zh-hans
错误
onClick="trackClickout('event', 'clickout', 'Vendor Page - Visit User Reviews', 'logo-design-guru', this, true);"
View 1 reply
查看%d回复
Alex
美国
1.0
STAY AWAY - SCAM!!!

Horrible online support!!! Tried to charge me for upgrades after offering them for free. Changed charges to my project while I was completing them. Then abandoned the chat after requesting to cancel my order. Will never do business again! Look elsewhere!

2020 三月 25

比较

Logo Design Guru在竞争中表现如何?

Fiverr Logo Design 比較 4.9 比較
Wix Logo Maker 比較 4.9 比較
Logo Design Guru 比較 2.9 比較
SMASHINGLOGO 比較 2.3 比較

的结论 Logo Design Guru

你可以选择更好的。这项服务虽然可用,但大多数主要竞争对手都远远比它好。 如果你对标识设计竞标感兴趣,建议你试试99designsDesignCrowd如果你对标识有自己的想法,只需要设计师实践你的设想,不妨试试Fiverr

埃塞基耶尔·布鲁尼
埃塞基耶尔·布鲁尼
埃塞基耶尔·布鲁尼是加拿大裔墨西哥人,自认是个彻头彻尾的书呆子。他从十几岁起就是一名网络和体验设计师,并喜欢与初学者分享建议。此外,他也喜欢视频游戏、炸玉米饼、开源软件、视频游戏、各种形式的科幻和魔幻产品,以及视频游戏。

Logo Design Guru 备择方案

Fiverr Logo Design
4.9
最便宜的专业设计
阅读评论
Tailor Brands
4.7
易于品牌塑造的简单徽标制作工具
阅读评论
Wix Logo Maker
4.9
获取可用于非商业用途的免费徽标
阅读评论
DesignCrowd
4.7
专业设计师;超低价
阅读评论
1220925

Reviews and expert opinion Logo Design Guru

Ranked 32nd from 33 Logo Design Services
2.9
Pricing
COOL BREEZE (LOGO + STATIONERY) $274
GALE FORCE (LOGO + STATIONERY + BROCHURE) $473
TRADE WIND (LOGO + STATIONERY + WEB DESIGN) $974
Ezequiel Bruni
Ezequiel Bruni
Graphic Designer
I got paid to use Logo Design Guru for a week, and I still spent most of my time with the service wishing I could use something else. You can do better. It works, but you can get better logos elsewhere, and with less pain. Read on to find out which logo design services I recommend instead.

Overview

Not All Gurus Are Wise

Logo Design Guru Review - homepage screenshot

I never liked having to write reviews like this, even if they are the easiest to write. In short, I cannot recommend Logo Design Guru. Why not? Let’s just say that the phone support is very good, and that’s because you’re going to need it.

Logo Design Guru has been around for a while, but it looks like the site design has never been updated. Apparently, you get the services of over 150,000 designers, whom you can hire directly to work with one-on-one or run a design contest with multiple participants. The site is in English, but you should be able to make a logo in any language you like, as long as your designer has the right fonts installed.

The service is part of a network called Zillion Designs, so you can also order print design, web design, and loads of other services from the same site. These services are offered in packages so, for example, you can bundle lots of design contests when you need a whole lot of branding done fast.

Does that mean Logo Design Guru is convenient? Is it the right service for you? Will it get you the logo of your dreams? Am I glad it’s over?

Not based on my experience. Probably not. Most likely no. Yes.

But don’t just take my word for it. Read on, see through my eyes to get a good look at the service for yourself. Then, unless you have way more patience than me, go with a different service (I tested all the major ones as part of a big project), or just take the simple, inexpensive route and hire a designer on Fiverr.

Features

2.5

Like Any Good Bureaucracy, It Works But It’s Annoying (Government Joke!)

Logo Design Guru screenshot - logo concepts

Logo Design Guru is, as a service, functional. I made it work, but I did not enjoy most of the process of using it. A few bugs or sticking points in a platform, I can forgive… but in this case, I spent nearly all of my time on the site feeling irritated.

There’s a whole lot more I could say about governments and paperwork here, but who has the time? Mostly, people waiting in line at government offices.

The important thing is that you can, in fact, start contests (which is easy enough), and hire designers for one-on-one projects (which is harder).

When running a contest, you can choose from a fair number of different design styles by choosing logos you like from a set of examples. Sadly, there’s no real guarantee that the submissions you get will look anything like the examples you’ve chosen. This problem is not unique to Logo Design Guru, but it was especially noticeable in the contest I ran for this review.

According to the FAQ, most contests get a minimum of 30 submissions, so I guess I did better than average – I received 123 submissions by the time the contest ended. But uh, not to hand out too many spoilers, I only really liked one of them. Generally, I prefer to be impressed more than 0.8% of the time.

When I ran a logo design contest on 99designs, for instance, there were several logos I liked and I had a hard time choosing between them. And that’s how it should be.

On Logo Design Guru, contests run for about a week, unless you pay to expedite (or extend) them. After you select a final design, it takes about 24 to 48 hours for the files to be handed over to you. Being fair, that timeline isn’t too bad overall.

Your final files actually come in a wide variety of formats, so there, I said something nice. According to the FAQ, you can get your logo files in JPG, PSD (Photoshop), GIF, TIFF (remember that one?), PNG, AI (Adobe Illustrator), EPS (infinitely scalable), FH (wait… Freehand? For real?), and PDF.

Update: I got the final files, and no, Freehand (an old graphics program) is no longer a thing. For anyone. May it rest in pieces.

You can ask for revisions (the number is unspecified) before a design is finalized, most likely until the contest is forced to close. If you want revisions to your logo after you’ve finalized everything, you’ll need to pay an extra fee, and then a team at Logo Design Guru will do the work.

If you want to get in touch with your designer, there’s a basic but serviceable messaging system. You can browse through a designer’s portfolio, see reviews left by other logo seekers, how many projects the designer has completed, how many contests they’ve won, and more.

150,000+ Designers

Speaking of designers, there’s a lot of them, apparently. Of course, whether you get the best designers working on your contest is a matter of luck, and I wasn’t too happy with the results I got. Most of the logos were uninspired at best, with many designers submitting half a dozen barely different iterations of the same design.

Now, that’s a common problem with contest platforms in general, hardly unique to Logo Design Guru. But here, the barrage of mediocre designs was just one more thing on top of everything else that annoyed me. Then again, with 150,000+ designers, you might have better luck with who responds to your contest call.

You Can Privately Share a Contest with Others

One cool little feature is that contests seem to be private by default – which I believe should be the norm. Privacy is not an extra, paid feature like it is on other platforms. You can even choose to share your contest with others privately, for feedback from your teams, clients, and the like.

Free Design Consultation

Right off, be aware that this is a sales tool for the service, and if you sign up for it, you’re probably going to get a flurry of follow-up emails and phone calls. Yeah, phone calls (more on that later). But if you’re willing to put up with all that, and you’re not sure what you want out of a design project yet, this service might help you better define what you’re looking for.

They Do Offer More Than Logo Design

Logo Design Guru is part of a larger network of design services, and so they naturally provide, well… more than logos. We’re talking about website design, print design of all kinds, T-shirts, banner ads, and even SEO and other marketing services.

My Experience with Logo Design Guru

So, here’s the deal: I reviewed this service as part of a contest of sorts. We’re not just looking for “the best” logo design service, we’re actually looking for a new logo for Website Planet. Click here to read about my experiences so far.

One of the logos that gets made as we review all the big design services will become our new logo.

Probably not this one, but there you have it.

It all started out fine. I mean, getting started was simple. Just click some logos you like:

Logo Design Guru screenshot - logo samples

Then click on some buzzwords:

Logo Design Guru screenshot - logo styles

Pick some colors you like:

Logo Design Guru screenshot - color palettes

Then throw some text at it:

Logo Design Guru screenshot - logo details

After that, just pay up, and your contest has begun. So far, so good, and so very familiar. But this is when the problems started. Firstly, there were those generic and uninspiring logos that all looked very similar.

Logo Design Guru screenshot - logo contest

That’s really par for the course with a lot of contest-based services, though. What really started to bug me was how every time I added a design to my “Bookmarks,” the whole page would refresh, showing the logos from the first page again, and making me lose my place. Rage beginning to simmer…

This hassle came on top of the user interface (UI) not being very well explained. I was often left unsure of where to go and what to do next. And there are typos in the UI, a bunch of them. Not grammar errors that you might expect from Google Translate; I’m talking about straight-up, old-fashioned spelling mistakes. This is not what you want from a design service.

In the end, I was able to find a few logos I didn’t hate:

Logo Design Guru screenshot - logo contest finalists

But there was only one clear winner, the only one I rather liked:

Website Planet logo from Logo Design Guru

My issue with Logo Design Guru is not that it has any single, massive problem. It’s that over time, I ran into such a wide variety of smaller problems. It’s death by a thousand cuts, and it’s almost impressive: it takes dedication to screw up as many things as this service does.

Between the bugs, the poor design decisions (more on that below), and the general lack of attention to detail, I spent most of my time with Logo Design Guru wishing that I was doing almost anything else.

Ease of use

2.0

It Would Be Nice If They Explained More Things in Context, and Not in the FAQ

Logo Design Guru screenshot - project dashboard

I would describe the Logo Design Guru user experience as being a bit like getting mostly apples for Halloween. Sure, there are a couple of Snickers bars in there, and some other good candies, but mostly it’s just apples. For people in countries where they don’t do Halloween, allow me to explain that people who give out apples are THE WORST. Being healthy is not the point of any holiday, much less a day literally dedicated to candy.

So yeah, there are a few places where the Logo Design Guru interface works just fine (I’ll be listing them below), but the rest is just barely functional and mostly pretty irritating. I previously mentioned the bug where managing contest submissions would constantly refresh the page and make me lose my place, but I’ve got other issues to get off my chest, too. At the heart of it all is the fact that the UI is so poorly explained.

First, there are still some features I saw listed on the homepage that I never actually found while using the site. I’m sure I could find them if I looked harder, but why is that the user’s job? Plus, the UI tends to be somewhat inconsistent, making it hard at times to go back and find things you used previously.

Second, you’re going to get loads of those annoying pop-ups offering deals and whatnot. Oh, and the “Help Chat?” Even when you minimize it, it will still pop up again (especially in new tabs) to offer you deals and the like as well. Yes, deals – not help.

Lastly, and this is a real pain point for me, there’s no easy way to browse through the various designers. You can browse through winning logos from other contests – which incidentally means that your contest will no longer be private once you finish it, kind of wrecking one of the few positives of the service. Click a winner, and then you can click through to the designer’s individual profile to see all of their past work. It’s a super haphazard way to search.

At least you can filter the logos by category/industry, but that’s about all you get for search organization.

Writing Your Brief Is Simple Enough

And this is the other part of the article where I do my very best not to be purely negative. The actual writing of a contest brief is kept simple and easy. There aren’t too many questions to answer before you pay up and start your contest.

Managing a Large Number of Projects Is Simple Enough

If you make the mistake of sticking around for a second project have a much better experience than I did, and make using Logo Design Guru a regular thing, then at least browsing and sorting through all of your projects will be easy. See the screenshot at the top of this Ease of Use section for a look at that part of the UI.

They Have Decent Messaging Features

Once you actually find a designer you like (good luck!), communication is actually pretty solid. It’s going to look a bit like a classic forum thread (remember those?), which is how most of these platforms handle messaging nowadays. It’s okay.

Support

3.0

You’re Going to Need It

Logo Design Guru screenshot - support screen

Before I get into the actual support, I need to tell you about the first interactions you’re likely to have with people from Logo Design Guru. Specifically, this is what will happen if you start a project, but don’t finish paying for it. You might have a perfectly valid reason for the delay: you might be price shopping, carefully considering the wording on your brief, or just saving up. Or, like me, you might be working with Other People™, and need to confer with them.

Well, the next morning, I woke up to no less than five missed calls, more than a few emails, and even a WhatApp message asking if I wanted to talk. I was then called again by a representative who very dearly wanted to help me buy a logo. They weren’t the pushiest salesperson I’ve ever dealt with, but it was enough to annoy me as I was just waking up. And I really did need more time.

Even after I made the purchase, they called my boss, and started trying to market to her, too. Look, I get that they want to be hands-on with their customers, but this is a bit much. To a millennial who’d generally rather walk on glass than talk with a stranger over the phone, this sort of aggro-marketing is just unpleasant. Like, “I’m the customer. Who are you to make these demands on my time?”

If you actually need help, however, you have several ways to get it: email, social media, phone support, and a dedicated number for WhatsApp messages.

There’s also a fairly comprehensive FAQ section, thankfully. I had to find a lot of my information, including basic instructions on how to use the service, there. This is not an ideal situation, but I’m glad the FAQ is there, at least.

Chat

I used the chat box to tell the support team to call me instead of my boss. I have not received any further calls from them, and as far as I can tell, they never responded to this message.

logo-design-guru-support2

Twitter

The email form on the website wasn’t working for me. Specifically, it wouldn’t accept my (very real) phone number, the same number that worked just fine when I signed up. I contacted the Logo Design Guru account on Twitter to ask what was up, and they got back to me in about five hours with an actual email address I could use.

logo-design-guru-support3

Phone

Logo Design Guru phone service is available from Monday through Saturday, 9am – 5pm EST. This service was fast, helpful, and not nearly as pushy as the sales team seems to be.

I asked them where my files were now that I’d finalized the competition. I’m used to getting files faster, and I hadn’t seen this topic in the FAQ yet (although it is there). This is when I found out about the 24-48 hours it takes for the final handoff.

I also asked them about further edits to the logo and confirmed that, yes, you have to talk to the Logo Design Guru team directly if you want more changes.

Pricing

4.0

The pricing for a logo contest on its own is fair, but variable. There’s a minimum prize you have to offer, but you can offer a higher prize if you choose. The higher the prize, the more submissions you can expect to get. You can pay for that prize with PayPal, Visa, Mastercard, Discover, and American Express.

There are more expensive pricing plans, but they have no real effect on how the logo design contest works. Instead, they include other services, like running contests for stationery design, brochure design, website design, and more. Given what I’ve seen of the designs available from this service so far, I just wouldn’t bother.

If you do bother, you can get a refund under particular circumstances:

  1. If you don’t get at least 30 submissions for your project. This applies to all kinds of contests.
  2. If you get 30 submissions or more, but didn’t run a “Guaranteed” contest, which is when you promise, on your first-born’s soul (not really), that you will actually pick a winner. If your contest is not guaranteed and you do not choose a winner, you forfeit $50 US from the total prize money you offered.

Usage Rights

You get the full copyright/trademark rights. You have to file for a trademark yourself, of course, but it’s all yours.

COOL BREEZE (LOGO + STATIONERY)

$274
/ Month
  • Number of logo concepts: 100
Get Started

GALE FORCE (LOGO + STATIONERY + BROCHURE)

$473
/ Month
  • Number of logo concepts: 100
Get Started

TRADE WIND (LOGO + STATIONERY + WEB DESIGN)

$974
/ Month
  • Number of logo concepts: 100
Get Started

User reviews

Filter by
Service
  • Choose servise
    • All
  • COOL BREEZE (LOGO + STATIONERY)
  • GALE FORCE (LOGO + STATIONERY + BROCHURE)
  • TRADE WIND (LOGO + STATIONERY + WEB DESIGN)
Be the first user to leave a review about Logo Design Guru in English!
Write a Review
Reply to review
Reply
Visit Logo Design Guru
en
Error
onClick="trackClickout('event', 'clickout', 'Vendor Page - Visit User Reviews', 'logo-design-guru', this, true);"

Bottom line on Logo Design Guru

You can do better. This service, while functional and serviceable, is simply outclassed by most of its big competitors.  If you’re interested in running a logo design contest, I recommend checking out 99designs or DesignCrowd. If you already have an idea for your logo and you just need a designer to turn it into a reality, try Fiverr.

Ezequiel Bruni
Ezequiel Bruni
Ezequiel Bruni is biologically Canadian, legally Mexican, and self identifies as a total nerd. He's been a web and experience designer off and on since he was a teenager, and loves sharing the kind of beginner's advice he really wishes he'd had when he first started. He also loves video games, tacos, open source software, video games, sci-fi and fantasy in all their forms, and video games. He does not love writing in the third person.

Logo Design Guru Alternatives

Fiverr Logo Design
4.9
The lowest prices for professional design
Read Review
Wix Logo Maker
4.9
Get a free logo for non-commercial use
Read Review
Tailor Brands
4.8
Simple logo maker for easy branding
Read Review
DesignCrowd
4.8
Professional designers; surprisingly low prices
Read Review
178304