REVIEWS UND EXPERTENMEINUNGEN Google Sites

Ari Esmond
Ari Esmond
Experte für Webseiten-Entwicklung
Google Sites ist ein benutzerfreundlicher und komplett kostenfreie Website-Baukasten. Allerdings sind die Funktionen limitiert und es eignet sich mehr für einfache, digitale Anschlagbretter und weniger für komplette Websites. Willst Du eine Website, auf die Du wirklich stolz sein kannst, dann empfehle ich einen Blick auf das kostenfreie Paket von Wix. Es bietet wesentlich mehr Werkzeuge und Funktionen.

Übersicht

Google Sites Overview

Google Sites Erleichtert Dinge, hat Aber Einschränkungen

Geht es um Tech-Giganten, können nur wenige mit Google mithalten. Das Unternehmen ist Meister der Suchmaschinen und haben der Welt mit Google Home einen persönlichen Assistenten zur Verfügung gestellt. Sie haben mit dem selbstfahrenden Auto sogar die Straße revolutioniert. Die entscheidende Frage ist aber: Kann Google eine gute Website erstellen? Sehen wir uns Googles Website-Baukasten also genauer an, der sich Google Sites nennt.

Google Sites ist eine kostenfreie und schnörkellose Lösung, wenn Du eine einfache Website erstellen und gestalten möchtest. Hast Du ein Gmail-Konto, kannst Du Dich direkt damit anmelden und anfangen, Deine Website zu erstellen. Es gibt zwei Versionen von Google Sites – Classic und New. Das neue Google Sites hat weniger Funktionen als die Classic-Version und Google plant, die Classic-Version irgendwann einzustellen.

Als Website-Baukasten ist Google Sites sehr limitiert und Du findest sehr wahrscheinlich irgendwann eine brauchbare Langzeitlösung. Als kostenfreie Alternative mit einer deutschen Oberfläche, besseren Optionen zur Individualisierung und mehr allgemeiner Funktionalität sieh Dir Wix an. Lies unseren Experten-Test und erfahre mehr zu den Funktionen von Wix.

Vorlagen

2.5
google-sites-templates1

Nutze Templates bei Classic oder Themes beim neuen Google Sites

Willst Du ein vorgefertigtes Template für Deine mit Google Sites erstellte Website benutzen, dann musst Du die klassische Version von Google Sites einsetzen. Die neue Version von Google Sites bietet nicht mehr länger Templates an. Stattdessen hat das neue Google Sites sechs Themes, die verschiedene Design-Arten zur Verfügung stellen.

Bei Classic Google Sites kannst Du aus über 30 Templates wählen. Allerdings gibt es keine Unterstützung für sogenannte responsive Websites. Das bedeutet, dass Dein Auftritt auf Smartphones und Tablets nicht besonders gut aussieht.

Die Templates der Classic-Version sind in sechs Kategorien eingeteilt. Es gibt unter anderem geschäftliche Vorlagen (Business) und auch welche für gemeinnützige Organisationen. Außer den Templates stehen auch über 50 Themes für Deine Website zur Verfügung, aus denen Du wählen darfst.

Ein Themes kontrolliert das Farbschema, die Schriftarten und die Hintergründe. Entscheidest Du Dich zum Beispiel für ein Notizbuch-Theme, um damit ein persönliches Blog zu betreiben, dann kannst Du es so aussehen lassen, als würde der Inhalt auf einem entsprechenden Papier stehen.

Im neuen Google Sites sind die Themes einfacher, aber Du hast mehr Kontrolle über das Erscheinungsbild. Du kannst auch die Farben der Themes anpassen, vorgefertigte Paletten verwenden und mithilfe der Farbpipette individuelle Farben einsetzen.

google-sites-templates2

Funktionen

2.5
google-sites-features1

Das neue Google Sites hat weniger Funktionen aus die Classic-Version

Das neue Google Sites soll natürlich eine Verbesserung gegenüber der Classic-Version sein, davon gehen wir aus. Deswegen ist es überraschend, dass viele Funktionen, die in der alten Version vorhanden waren, entfernt wurden. Google Sites wird dauernd aktualisiert. Deswegen werden einige der erweiterten Funktionen in Zukunft vielleicht wieder implementiert. Im Moment ist die Liste mit den Funktionen aber sehr übersichtlich.

Das neue Google Sites setzt auf eine einfache Drag&Drop-Oberfläche. Du kannst Text, Bilder und Code hinzufügen. Auch Dateien aus Google Drive darfst Du benutzen. Natürlich ist es möglich, Inhalte auch aus anderen Google-Produkten einzufügen. Wir meinen an dieser Stelle Docs, Slides, Sheets, Forms und Charts.

Google Gadgets

Beim Classic Google Sites kannst Du Deiner Website „Gadgets“ spendieren. Eine Möglichkeit ist zum Beispiel eine PayPal-Schaltfläche. Du benutzt dafür die Option More Gadgets. Beim neuen Google Sites musst Du bei PayPal den Code zum Einbetten erzeugen und dann die Funktion „embed code“ nutzen. Auf diese Weise fügst Du eine PayPal-Schaltfläche auf Deiner Website ein.

google-sites-features2

Google Gadgets bietet einige nützliche Werkzeuge, wenn Du die Classic-Version benutzt. Allerdings sind viele auch veraltet. Weiterhin kann jeder ein Gadget erstellen und es via Google Gadgets veröffentlichen. Das bedeutet, dass die Qualität der Werkzeuge nicht garantiert werden kann.

Die Funktion zum Einbetten von Code scheint beim neuen Google Sites komplizierter zu sein, um Deiner Website zusätzliche Funktionen zu spendieren. Allerdings kannst Du damit das Gleiche erreichen. Zum Beispiel kannst Du Deiner Website eine Chat-Funktion spendieren, indem Du mit ManyChat einen Facebook Messenger Bot erstellst und den Code dann auf Deiner Website einbettest. Bei Website-Baukästen wie zum Beispiel Wix ist es allerdings einfacher, bestimmte Funktionen auf der Website zu implementieren.

Layout-Optionen

Das neue Google Sites bietet sechs verschiedene Layout-Optionen an, die Du einfach auf Deiner Website verschieben kannst. Das bedeutet, dass Du auf einer einzelnen Website mehrere Layout-Sektionen haben kannst. Gegenüber Classic Google Sites ist das eine Verbesserung. Dort haben sich Änderungen am Layout auf die gesamte Seite ausgewirkt.

Die Layout-Optionen beim neuen Google Sites sind verglichen mit den veraltet aussehenden Layouts von Classic Google Sites moderner. Du kannst die Layouts auf der Seite verschieben und darfst auch die Reihenfolge der Sektionen ändern. Die Funktion ist zwar nützlich, aber verglichen mit fortschrittlicheren Website-Baukästen wie Wix eingeschränkt.

google-sites-features3

Bildersuche beim neuen Google Sites

Klickst Du auf eines der +-Symbole in der Sektion für das Bild-Layout und danach auf Select Image, kannst Du bei Google eine Bildersuche durchführen. Das Werkzeug wird sogar noch nützlicher, weil Google die Suche auf die Bilder beschränkt, die eine Lizenz zur Benutzung erlauben. Das bedeutet, Du kannst diese Bilder auf Deiner Website einsetzen und musst Dir wegen Lizenzverletzungen oder Copyright keine Sorgen machen.

google-sites-features4

Bedienkomfort

5.0
Google Sites Ease of Use

Einfaches und Zugängliches Gestalten Einer Website

Zweifelsohne ist das Erstellen einer Website mit Google Sites einfach. Die Classic-Version ist etwas weniger zugänglich, aber die neue Variante hat das Gestalten einer Website auf die Grundlagen reduziert. Kennst Du bereits andere Google-Produkte wie zum Beispiel Docs und Sheets, wirst Du keine Probleme haben, mit Google Sites eine Website zu erstellen.

Drag&Drop Editor

Wie bei anderen populären Website-Baukästen setzt das neue Google Sites auf einen Drag&Drop Editor, der nicht benutzerfreundlicher sein könnte. Du findest alle Werkzeuge in der rechten Seitenleiste und kannst Inhalte auf den Seiten nach Wunsch so lange verschieben, bis es Dir gefällt.

Google Sites Ease of Use

Text und Bilder mit Einem Klick Editieren

Hast Du eine Sektion auf Deiner Seite so gestaltet, wie Du das möchtest, kannst Du Text mit einem einfachen Klick auf den Beispieltext anpassen. Das gilt auch für Bilderblöcke. Klicke einfach auf das +-Zeichen und füge von Deinem Computer, Deinem Google Drive, einer URL und so weiter Bilder hinzu. Natürlich kannst Du auch direkt bei Google Bilder suchen.

Du kannst Hintergründe der jeweiligen Sektionen auch gezielt ändern. Klicke dafür auf das Symbol section background, das Du links oben in jeder Sektion findest. Die Optionen hängen ein bisschen vom Theme ab, das Du für die jeweilige Website gewählt hast.

Google Sites Ease of Use

Einfache und Gewohnte Oberfläche

Google Sites ist benutzerfreundlich entwickelt. Das ist vor allen Dingen dann der Fall, wenn Du andere Google-Produkte kennst. Hast Du bereits ein Google-Konto und bist daran angemeldet, dann kannst Du sofort loslegen. Sobald Du Deine erste Website erstellt hast, kannst Du sie einfach via Google Drive wieder erreichen.

Die Oberfläche funktioniert ähnlich wie bei allen anderen Google-Produkten wie zum Beispiel Docs. Du hast bei allen Google-Office-Produkten auch die gleichen Optionen, Deine Arbeit zu teilen. Deswegen ist es wirklich einfach, zusammen mit anderen am Design der Website zu feilen.

Google Sites

Es gibt keine komplexen Funktionen, die Du für die Nutzung von Google Sites erlernen musst. Die Classic-Version ist weniger einfach als die neue Variante, aber dennoch intuitiv und benutzerfreundlich. Google hat den Prozess für das Gestalten einer Website vereinfacht. Nun ist es ähnlich wie das Erstellen von anderen Dokumenten oder Folien bei Google.

Ist Du Dir nicht sicher, wie Du Deine erste Website bei Google Sites erstellen sollst, kannst Du Dir eine kurze Anleitung mit den wichtigsten Funktionen ansehen. Es öffnen sich oft Tipps, die auf neue oder nützliche Funktionen hinweisen. Dazu gehört auch, wer die veröffentlichte Version der Website ansehen kann oder die Kontrolle darüber hat.

Bist Du mit dem Editieren fertig, klickst Du einfach auf Publish. Du findest die Funktion rechts oben in der Benutzeroberfläche. Suche Dir für Deine Website eine Web-Adresse aus. Dazu nimmst Du entweder die kostenfreie Option einer Subdomain oder Du kaufst Dir eine Domain (individuelle URL).

Google Sites Ease Of Use

Unterstützung

2.5
Google Sites Support

Google Sites hat kein Team für den Kundenservice, das Du im Falle eines Problems anschreiben darfst. Allerdings gibt es sehr viele unterstützende Artikel, die Dir bei der Lösung von Problemen helfen. Dort erfährst Du auch, wie Du bestimmte Funktionen benutzen kannst.

Artikel im Hilfezentrum sind in Kategorien eingeteilt: Get Started, Create, Edit, Share and Publish, Analytics, Accessibility und Troubleshooting sowie New Sites verglichen mit Classic Sites. Die Artikel sind in der Regel Schritt-für-Schritt-Anleitungen, denen man sehr einfach folgen kann. Willst Du Dich nicht durch die verschiedenen Themen klicken, kannst Du auch das Suchfeld bemühen, um Artikel zu finden, die sich mit Deinem Problem befassen.

Preise

3.0

Google Sites PricingDie Nutzung von Google Sites ist kostenfrei, aber es gibt eine kommerzielle Business-Version, die Du in G Suite findest. Die Oberfläche der Business-Version ist identisch zur kostenfreien Version. Durch das Bezahlen bekommst Du allerdings den Vorteil, dass Du vielleicht bevorzugten Zugriff auf Updates und neue Funktionen bekommst. In der kostenfreien Version werden solche Funktionen womöglich später ausgerollt.

Nutzerbewertungen

3.8
Basierend auf 9 Reviews in 6 Sprachen
Filter by
Sprache
  • Wähle Deine Sprache
    • English (2)
    • Español (4)
    • Français (1)
    • Dansk (1)
    • ไทย (1)
    • Українська (1)
Sortiert nach
  • Neueste
  • Neueste
  • Älteste
  • Beste
  • Schlechteste
Sei der erste Nutzer, der eine Bewertung zu Google Sites in Deutsch schreibt!
Eine Rezension verfassen
Du kannst Nutzerbewertungen in anderen Sprachen lesen
Auf Review antworten
Reply
Besuchen Google Sites
de
Fehler
onClick="trackClickout('event', 'clickout', 'Vendor Page - Visit User Reviews', 'google-sites', this, true);"
5
Ynot
Neuseeland
5
Better than all other web site genoraters

Google sites is the best thing I have ever used to create a website it is really handy and always works well I would suggest using this instead of wix or other site genorater's Its for free really really good try ity out for free really really suggest it

5
Jiffy Lube
USA
5
Google Sites: Better than GoDaddy or Weebly

Google Sites: Free, Simple, Lots of Features, and more! Google Sites is Google's Website Making platform. It is used by thousands of people. It is free. It is constantly updating. It is also amazing. GoDaddy, it costs money to take off the watermark and the same with Weebly. Google Sites is much better. -Rick Peterson

Fazit zu Google Sites

Als ein kostenfreier Website-Baukasten macht es Dir Google Sites sehr einfach, eine persönliche Website zu erstellen. Zum Testen ist es toll, wenn Du sehen möchtest, wie Drag&Drop-Website-Baukästen funktionieren. Für eine dauerhafte Lösung sind die Funktionen aber zu eingeschränkt. Die klassische Version ist veraltet und die neue Variante enthält so wenige Funktionen, dass Du damit nur sehr einfache Website erstellen kannst.

Du hast nichts zu verlieren, indem Du Google Sites testest. Das gilt vor allen Dingen, wenn Du ein blutiger Anfänger bist. Du kannst binnen 10 Minuten eine Website erstellen und für eine Community-Gruppe oder ein einfaches, digitales Anschlagbrett funktioniert das sehr gut. Soll es ein bisschen ausgefallener sein, dann bist Du besser dran, wenn Du das kostenfreie Paket von Wix ausprobierst. Das funktioniert ähnlich wie Google Sites, aber es gibt viel mehr Funktionen.

Ari Esmond
Ari Esmond
Ari ist ein erfahrener Texter, Redakteur und Berater für digitales Marketing. Er ist kreativ und verfügt über 14 Jahre Branchenerfahrung. Besonders wichtig ist für ihn, stets mit den aktuellen Trends und Entwicklungen Schritt zu halten. Er lebt mit seinen drei Beagles Zeke, Hope und Sandy, die ihn immer auf Trab halten, in Großbritannien.
73920

Reviews and expert opinion Google Sites

Ranked 218th from 218 Website Builders
3.1
6 2
Based on 9 reviews in 5 languages
Ari Esmond
Ari Esmond
Website Development Expert
Google Sites is a really easy-to-use and completely free website builder. However, its limited features make it more suitable for basic digital notice boards rather than full websites. If you want a website you can be really proud of, I recommended a few alternatives below, which offer more tools and features.

Overview

google-sites-overview1

Google Sites Makes Things Simple but Has Lots of Limitations

When it comes to tech giants, few can compete with Google. They’ve mastered the search engine game, provided the world with their own personal assistants with Google Home, and even revolutionized the road with a self-driving car. But the real question is, can Google create a good website? Enter, Google Sites, Google’s website builder.

Google Sites is a free and straightforward solution if you’re looking to build a basic website. And, if you have a Gmail account, you can sign straight into your Google account and get started building your website. There are two versions of Google Sites, Classic and New. The New Google Sites has fewer features than the Classic version, and Google is planning to phase the Classic version out eventually.

As a website builder, Google Sites is very limited, so you’re likely to find yourself looking for a more suitable long-term solution. For a free alternative with better customization options and overall functionality, consider using Wix. You can read our expert review to learn more about Wix’s features.

Templates

2.5
google-sites-templates1

Use Templates in Classic or Themes in New Google Sites

If you want to use a pre-designed template for your Google Sites website, you’ll have to use the classic version of Google Sites as the new Google Sites no longer offers templates. Instead, the new Google Sites provides a selection of six themes that provide different design styles.

In Classic Google Sites, you can choose from over 30 templates, but there’s no support for mobile responsiveness, so your website won’t display well on smartphones and tablets.

Classic mode templates are organized into six categories, ranging from business templates to templates for non-profit organizations. In addition to templates, you can also choose from over 50 themes for your website.

The theme controls color schemes, fonts, and backgrounds. So, for example, you can choose a notebook theme for a personal blog and make your content appear to be written on notebook paper.

In the new Google Sites, themes are more basic, but give you more control over the theme appearance. You can also customize the theme colors, using a pre-defined palette, or using the color-picker tool to use custom colors.

google-sites-templates2

Features

2.5
google-sites-features1

New Google Sites Lacks the Classic Version’s Features

Considering that the New Google Sites is designed to be an improvement on the Classic version, it’s surprising to find that many of the features included in the Classic Google Sites have been removed from the New version. As Google Sites is constantly being updated, some of the more advanced features may make a return in the future, but currently, the feature list is very basic.

The New Google Sites uses a simple drag-and-drop interface, with the ability to add text, images, code, and files from your Google Drive. You can, of course, also add content from Google products, including Docs, Slides, Sheets, Forms, and Charts.

Google Gadgets

In Classic Google Sites, you can add ‘gadgets’ to your website, such as PayPal buttons, via the More Gadgets option. In the New Google Sites, you have to generate an embed code in PayPal and use the ‘embed code’ feature to create a PayPal button on your website.

google-sites-features2

While Google Gadgets offers some useful tools if you’re using the Classic version, many of them are outdated. Also, anyone can create a gadget and make it available in Google Gadgets, which means that the quality of the tools is not reliable.

The embed code function in the New Google Sites may be a more complicated means of adding functions to your website, but it does allow you to achieve some of the same things. For example, you can add a chat feature to your website by using ManyChat to create a Facebook Messenger bot and embedding the code on your website. Website builders such as Wix offer easier means to add extra features to your website, however.

Layout Options

The New Google Sites offers six different layout options that you simply drag across onto your web page. This means that you can have multiple layout sections on a single page, which is an improvement on the Classic Google Sites, where any layout changes affect the whole page.

The layout options in the new Google Sites are more modern compared to the dated appearance of layouts in the Classic Google Sites. You can drag the layouts around on the page to change the order of sections, too. While this feature is useful, the layouts are limited compared with more advanced website builders such as Wix.

google-sites-features3

Image Search in New Google Sites

When you click on one of the + icons in an image layout section and click Select Image, you’re able to perform a search on Google images. What makes this tool even more useful is that Google automatically limits the displayed images to those that have been licensed for reuse. This means you can safely use these images on your website without worrying about copyright infringement.

google-sites-features4

Ease of use

5.0
google-sites-ease-of-use1

Simple and Accessible Website Building

There’s no doubt that building a website with Google Sites is simple. While the Classic version is somewhat less accessible, the New version has parred website building down to the bare essentials. If you’re already familiar with other Google products such as Docs and Sheets, you’ll have no difficulty building a website with Google Sites.

Drag-and-Drop Editor

Like other popular website builders, the New Google Sites uses a drag-and-drop editor that couldn’t be easier to use. The tools available are all located in the right-hand panel, and you can drag content around on your pages until you achieve the look you want.
Google Sites

Click to Edit Text and Images

When you have the sections on your page laid out as you want them, adding the content is as simple as clicking on the sample text to edit it. Likewise, for image blocks, simply click on the + icon to add images from your computer, your Google drive, a URL, or search via Google Images.

You can also edit the backgrounds for specific sections of your website by clicking on the section background icon on the left-hand side of the section. The options depend on the theme you’ve chosen for your website.
Google Sites

Simple and Familiar Interface

Google Sites is designed to be easy to use, especially if you use other Google products. If you already have a Gmail account and are signed in to your Google account, you can get started right away. Once you’ve created your first website, you can easily return to it via your Google Drive.

The interface works in the same way as all other Google products such as Docs, with the same sharing options found across Google’s suite of office solutions. This makes it really easy to collaborate with others on your website design.
Google Sites

There are no complex features to learn how to use on Google Sites. The Classic version lacks the simplicity of the New version but is still intuitive and easy-to-use. Google has simplified the process of building a website to make it similar to creating any other kind of document or slide in Google.

If you’re unsure where to start when building your first website with Google Sites, you can take a brief tour that takes you through the key features. Tips will often pop up, highlighting a new or useful feature, such as the option to control who can view the published version of your website.

When you’re done editing, simply click Publish on the top right-hand corner of the interface. Select a web address for your website using either the free subdomain option or a purchased domain name (custom URL).
Google Sites

Support

2.5
google-sites-support1

Google Sites doesn’t have a customer support team that you can contact if you encounter a problem. However, there is an extensive collection of support articles that can help you resolve issues or discover how to use certain features.

Articles in the help center are organized into categories: Get Started; Create; Edit, Share and Publish; Analytics, Accessibility and Troubleshooting; and New Sites vs. Classic Sites. Articles are usually step-by-step, so they are very easy to follow. If you don’t want to browse through the topics, you can use the search box to find articles relating to the issue you’re having.

Pricing

3.0

google-sites-pricing1

Google Sites is free to use, but there is a paid Business version, that’s found in G Suite. The interface of the Business version is identical to the free version. The only benefit to paying for it is that you may have priority access to updates and new features before they’re released in the free version.

User reviews

Filter by
Language
  • Choose review language
    • English (2)
    • Español (3)
    • Français (1)
    • Dansk (1)
    • Українська (1)
Sort by
  • Newest
  • Newest
  • Oldest
  • Best
  • Worst
Write a Review
Reply to review
Reply
Visit Google Sites
en
Error
onClick="trackClickout('event', 'clickout', 'Vendor Page - Visit User Reviews', 'google-sites', this, true);"
5
Ynot
New Zealand
5
Better than all other web site genoraters

Google sites is the best thing I have ever used to create a website it is really handy and always works well I would suggest using this instead of wix or other site genorater's Its for free really really good try ity out for free really really suggest it

5
Jiffy Lube
USA
5
Google Sites: Better than GoDaddy or Weebly

Google Sites: Free, Simple, Lots of Features, and more! Google Sites is Google's Website Making platform. It is used by thousands of people. It is free. It is constantly updating. It is also amazing. GoDaddy, it costs money to take off the watermark and the same with Weebly. Google Sites is much better. -Rick Peterson

Bottom line on Google Sites

As a free website builder, Google Sites takes the hassle out of building a personal website. It’s great for testing out how drag-and-drop website builders work, but its features are really too limited to work as a permanent website solution. The classic version is outdated, and the new version is so stripped back that you’re only able to create the most basic of websites.

You’ve got nothing to lose by trying out Google Sites, especially if you’re a complete beginner. You can build a website in ten minutes, and it would work well for a community group or a basic digital notice board type of website. For anything more sophisticated, you’d be better off trying a free plan with Wix , which works in the same way as Google Sites but has many more features.

Ari Esmond
Ari Esmond
Ari is an experienced copywriter, editor, and digital marketing consultant. A creative at heart, Ari has 14 years’ industry experience and always aims to keep abreast of current trends and developments. He lives in the UK with his three beagles Zeke, Hope, and Sandy, who always make life interesting.

Google Sites Alternatives

Wix

Wix

77 Reviews

4.9
Site123

Site123

21 Reviews

4.8
SimpleSite

SimpleSite

64 Reviews

4.8
Jimdo

Jimdo

18 Reviews

4.7
72897