ANALYSE ET OPINION D'EXPERT AfriHost

Classé 92 sur 246 Hébergeurs de sites web
4.4
  • Fonctionnalités
    4.4
  • Convivialité
    4.4
  • Assistance
    4.3
  • Tarifs
    4.4
Localisations de serveurs
Afrique du Sud
Mark Holden
Mark Holden
Expert en hébergement Web
Afrihost a commencé comme une petite entreprise formée par trois amis qui s'est vite transformée en entreprise d'hébergement web bien conçue avec des taux de satisfaction client hors du commun. Grâce à ses nombreux points forts, Afrihost est actuellement une des meilleures entreprises du marché de l'hébergement web sud-africain. Elle a gagné plusieurs récompenses au cours des années, dont la Récompense du Meilleur Service Client d'Afrique du Sud d'après ce qu'a dit PriceCheck en 2017.

Vue d'ensemble

Ce qui a d’abord commencé par n’être qu’une petite start-up créée par trois amis de lycée s’est vite transformé en prestataire récompensé d’hébergement web, de haut débit et de télécommunications. Il a fait son apparition en 2003 et a depuis servi plus de 250000 clients satisfaits. Il a gagné plusieurs récompenses au cours des années, dont la Récompense du Meilleur Service Client d’Afrique du Sud, accordée par PriceCheck en 2017. Son centre de données est situé à Johannesburg, en Afrique du Sud.

Fonctionnalités et facilité d’utilisation

Afrihost a huit forfaits d’hébergement partagé principaux :

  1. Bronze Home
  2. Silver Home
  3. Gold Home
  4. Platinum Home
  5. Bronze Pro
  6. Silver Pro
  7. Gold Pro
  8. Platinum Pro

Vous pouvez choisir Linux ou Windows comme système d’exploitation. Les forfaits Linux proposent plus de fonctionnalités et de ressources que les forfaits Windows, avec l’exception de fonctionnalités spécifiques à Microsoft comme Silverlight et les bases de données Microsoft SQL. De plus, tous les forfaits Linux Pro donnent accès à un créateur de sites web mais pas les forfaits Windows Pro.

Comme les forfaits d’hébergement Linux ont tendance à être plus répandus, je vais les décrire. Le forfait Bronze Home vous donne accès aux fonctionnalités de base suivantes :

  • 1 GB d’espace de stockage de données
  • Une quantité illimitée de trafic web
  • Une quantité illimitée de sous-domaines
  • 50 comptes de courriel
  • 1 base de données MySQL
  • L’installateur d’applis Softaculous
  • Des sauvegardes

Il s’agit d’un forfait d’entrée de gamme assez standard qui vous apporte tout ce dont vous avez besoin pour créer une présence en ligne de base, dont un enregistrement de domaine .co.za gratuit. Cependant, notez bien qu’Afrihost n’offre pas de certificats SSL dans le cadre de ses forfaits. Donc, si vous avez besoin d’un site web sécurisé, vous devrez payer un supplément.

AfriHost

A l’autre extrémité de la gamme, il y a le forfait Platinum Pro, qui comprend toutes les fonctionnalités du forfait Bronze Home plus ce qui suit :

  • 50 GB d’espace de stockage
  • Une quantité illimitée de comptes de courriel
  • Une quantité illimitée de bases de données MySQL
  • Le créateur de sites web mentionné ci-dessus

Somme toute, les forfaits d’Afrihost sont plus que suffisants pour créer un site web dynamique et à chargement rapide. Toutefois, vous ne pouvez héberger qu’un seul domaine quel que soit votre compte d’hébergement partagé. Si vous prévoyez de créer plusieurs sites web, vous devrez choisir ses forfaits d’hébergement dans le cloud ou au-dessus.

Afrihost propose aussi cPanel 11 avec chaque forfait d’hébergement partagé. C’est un panneau de contrôle en ligne tout compris qui vous apporte un contrôle total de votre domaine (courriel, fichiers, sauvegarde, FTP, scripts CGI, statistiques de site web et plus encore) par l’intermédiaire d’une interface web.

Pour gérer votre compte, Afrihost a créé son portail de gestion ClientZone personnel, une interface conviviale et belle qui vous permet d’obtenir des informations et de modifier tout ce qu’il faut dans votre compte.

Afrihost a aussi une extraordinaire garantie de 100 % de temps de fonctionnement optimal. Bien sûr, cela ne s’applique ni aux périodes de maintenance régulières, ni aux suspensions de service dues aux violations des conditions d’utilisation ni aux problèmes dus au lien FAI du client avec le serveur de l’hébergeur.

Tarification et support technique

Dans l’ensemble, les forfaits d’Afrihost sont compétitifs pour le marché sud-africain. Cependant, on constate sans surprise que ses forfaits d’hébergement partagé Windows coûtent légèrement plus cher que ses forfaits Linux. Surtout, Afrihost vous permet de passer instantanément au forfait supérieur ou de passer au forfait inférieur n’importe quand si vos besoins changent brusquement.

Un des aspects que je préfère chez Afrihost est sa garantie de remboursement du double du montant. C’est moins pour l’argent que pour la confiance qu’il établit avec sa clientèle. Bien que la plupart des prestataires d’hébergement web offrent une garantie de remboursement d’un mois, Afrihost fait vraiment des efforts spectaculaires pour vous montrer qu’il a confiance en les produits qu’ils vend. Vous avez 60 jours pour tester leurs services et, si vous n’êtes pas complètement satisfait, non seulement Afrihost vous remboursera ce que vous avez payé mais il doublera le montant. Voilà ce qu’on appelle une véritable assurance !

De plus, Afrihost n’exige pas de durée minimale de contrat. Si n’importe quand et pour quelque raison que ce soit vous décidez de changer de prestataire de services d’hébergement web, Afrihost s’assure que le processus soit aussi simple que possible. Tout ce que vous avez à faire, c’est annuler avant le 23 du mois.

Le support technique pour les clients est probablement le meilleur des points forts d’Afrihost. Il a voulu créer une entreprise reposant sur la satisfaction du client et de l’employé, après tout. Vous pouvez contacter son support technique en utilisant le système de tickets, par courriel ou par téléphone bien que ce dernier moyen ne soit disponible que pendant les heures de travail sud-africaines. Il a aussi le chat en direct et, étonnamment, une ligne de support technique par WhatsApp. Autrement, vous pouvez consulter sa base de connaissances exhaustive, qui contient plus de 220 articles et tutoriels vidéo.

Tarifs

4.4

Hébergement web

Conclusion concernant AfriHost

Avec une infrastructure fiable et une excellente sécurité, Afrihost est premier sur ma liste en matière d’hébergement web sud-africain. Toutefois, il ne peut pas être le meilleur choix pour les sites web de commerce en ligne ou les grandes installations WordPress puisqu’il ne fournit pas de certification SSL ou de support technique spécifique à WordPress dans ses forfaits.

Les points positifs

  • Des taux de satisfaction client extraordinairement élevés
  • Vous pouvez passer instantanément au forfait supérieur ou choisir les forfaits inférieurs n’importe quand
  • Un créateur de sites web est disponible avec les forfaits Linux Pro
  • Les prix sont abordables

Les points négatifs

  • Le support technique par téléphone n’est disponible que pendant les heures d’ouverture
  • L’utilisateur n’a accès qu’à un seul domaine pour les forfaits d’hébergement partagé
Mark Holden
Mark Holden
Mark est un développeur web complet spécialisé en HTML5, CSS, JavaScript, MySQL et PHP. Quand il n’est pas occupé à créer des sites web ou à agrandir sa collection de gadgets toujours croissante, il aime jouer de la batterie pour son groupe de rock progressif. Il sait aussi préparer des tortillas de patatas.

AfriHost Alternatives

237437

Reviews and expert opinion AfriHost

Mark Holden
Mark Holden
Web Hosting Expert

Afrihost first started off as a small venture formed by three friends, and soon turned into a very well-rounded web hosting company with outstanding customer satisfaction rates. With a lot of pros to offer, Afrihost is one of the best companies in the South African web hosting market right now. They’ve won several awards over the years, including South Africa’s Best Customer Service Award from PriceCheck in 2017. Before you make any final decisions, you should check out Hostinger’s cheap plans.


Overview

AfriHost is fine, but fine is not good enough. While AfriHost is a decent web host, you can get better quality hosting at a cheaper price with Hostinger, for example.

What first began as a small startup by three high school friends soon turned into an award-winning web hosting, broadband, and telecommunications provider. It first appeared in 2003 and has since served over 250,000 satisfied customers. They’ve won several awards over the years, including South Africa’s Best Customer Service Award from PriceCheck in 2017. Their data center is located in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Features and Ease of Use

Afrihost has eight main shared hosting packages:

  1. Bronze Home
  2. Silver Home
  3. Gold Home
  4. Platinum Home
  5. Bronze Pro
  6. Silver Pro
  7. Gold Pro
  8. Platinum Pro

You can choose either Linux or Windows as your operating system. The Linux plans do offer more features and resources than the Windows ones, with the exception of Microsoft-specific features such as Silverlight and Microsoft SQL databases. Also, all Linux Pro plans offer access to a website builder, whereas the Windows Pro plans do not.

Since Linux hosting plans tend to be more common, I’ll focus on that. The Bronze Home plan starts you off with the following:

  • 1GB data storage
  • Unlimited web traffic
  • Unlimited subdomains
  • 50 email accounts
  • 1 MySQL database
  • Softaculous app installer
  • Backups

This was a fairly standard entry-level package that affords you everything you need to establish a basic online presence, including a free .co.za domain registration. Note, however, that Afrihost doesn’t offer any SSL certificates as part of their packages, so if you need a secure website it’ll cost you extra.

AfriHost

At the other end of the spectrum you have the Platinum Pro plan, which comes with all the features of the Bronze Home plan plus:

  • 50GB storage space
  • Unlimited email accounts
  • Unlimited MySQL databases
  • The aforementioned website builder

All in all, Afrihost’s packages are more than adequate to set up a fast-loading, dynamic website. However, you can only host a single domain with any shared hosting account. If you plan on setting up multiple websites, you’ll have to opt for their cloud hosting packages or better.

Afrihost also offers cPanel 11 with every shared hosting package. This is an all-inclusive web-based control panel that affords you full control over your domain (email, files, backup, FTP, CGI scripts, web site statistics, and more) through a web interface.

To manage your account, they’ve created their very own ClientZone management portal, a user-friendly and aesthetically-pleasing interface that allows you to get information and adjust whatever you need to within your account.

Afrihost also has an extraordinary 100% uptime guarantee. Of course, this doesn’t apply to regularly scheduled maintenance periods, suspension of service due to any violations of the terms of usage, or any problems with the client’s ISP link to the host server.

Pricing and Support

Overall, Afrihost’s packages are competitively priced for the South African market. Unsurprisingly however, their Windows shared hosting packages cost slightly more than their Linux ones. Best of all, Afrihost allows you to instantly upgrade or downgrade your package at any time if your needs suddenly change.

One of the aspects I love most about Afrihost is their double money back guarantee. It’s not about the money as much as it is about the trust they’re establishing with their customer base. While most web hosting providers would offer a one-month money back guarantee, Afrihost really goes out of their way to let you know that they’re confident in what they sell. You have 60 days to test out their services and if you’re not completely satisfied, they will not only return what you paid, but double the amount. That’s some real confidence over there!

Afrihost also doesn’t require a minimum contract period. If at any time and for any reason you decide to switch to another web hosting provider, Afrihost makes sure the process is as smooth and easy as possible. All you have to do is cancel before the 23rd of the month.

Customer support is probably the strongest side of Afrihost; their vision was to create a company driven by client and employee satisfaction, after all. You can reach them via their support ticket system, email, or telephone — though the latter is only available during South African business hours. They also have live chat, and — intriguingly — a WhatsApp support line. Alternatively, you can peruse their extensive knowledge base with over 220 articles and video tutorials.

How much does AfriHost cost?
AfriHost offers plans from $3 to $30. The price depends on which type of hosting plan you choose. You can see the updated pricing table (updated weekly) below.
Which AfriHost plan should I get?
My recommendation is to start with a cheaper plan. You can always upgrade later on. AfriHost can help you with the migration to a more expensive plan. The increase in visitors many times takes longer than expected and you shouldn’t pay a lot of money until the need arises. Of course, your needs may vary, and you can consult with a hosting expert from AfriHost here.
How good is AfriHost’s customer support?
AfriHost is not ranked as one of our top web hosts. But that can also be a result of AfriHost being a small, under the radar, hosting provider. There are advantages to a small hosting company – as a customer, you are more important to them. You can also check out our comparison of the most popular web hosting services here.

Comparison

How does AfriHost match up to the competition?

Hostinger Compare 4.9 Compare
InterServer Compare 4.8 Compare
AfriHost Compare 4.4 Compare
Bluehost Compare 2.5 Compare

Pricing

4.4

AfriHost Reseller Hosting

Plan NameStorageBandwidthPricePlan NameStorageBandwidthPriceReseller Hosting50 GBUnlimited$36.62More Details
More details

User reviews

Based on 1 reviews in 1 languages
1.0
Write a Review
Language
  • English (1)
Sort by
Newest
  • Newest
  • Oldest
  • Best
  • Worst
Reply to review
Reply
Visit AfriHost
reply
en
Error
onClick="trackClickout('event', 'clickout', 'Vendor Page - Visit User Reviews', 'afrihost', this, true);"
View 1 reply
View %d replies
avatar
1.0
anonymus
South Africa
January 27, 2020
The new Telkom of customer service

SLOW internet speeds and no response for 45 minutes (and counting) on WhatsApp is not as "instant" help as your website claims. People on the other end of the WhatsApp portal have not received adequate training. Good indication that management needs training as well.

Bottom line on AfriHost

With reliable infrastructure and excellent security, Afrihost is on the top of my list when it comes to South African web hosting. However, they may not be the best choice for e-commerce websites or large WordPress installations, given their lack of included SSL certification or specialized WordPress support.

Still not sure if this is the right web host for you? Check out our top recommended web hosts to learn more.

Pros

  • Extraordinary customer satisfaction rates
  • Instantly upgrade or downgrade your packages anytime
  • Website builder available with Linux Pro packages
  • Affordable rates

Cons

  • Phone support only during business hours
  • Only one domain supported for shared hosting packages
Mark Holden
Mark Holden
Mark is a full stack web developer specializing in HTML5, CSS, JavaScript, MySQL, and PHP. When he's not busy building websites or geeking out over the latest addition to his ever-growing gadget collection, he enjoys playing drums for his progressive rock band. He can also make a mean Spanish omelet.

AfriHost Alternatives

Hostinger
4.9
Cheapest prices in the market for long-term plans
Read Review
Liquid Web
4.7
Best managed hosting for multiple platforms, from WordPress to Magento
Read Review
InterServer
4.8
The best choice for flexible hosting on a month-to-month basis
Read Review
Kinsta
4.7
Fastest, most consistent speeds in our testing
Read Review
186544