REVIEWS UND EXPERTENMEINUNGEN AfriHost

Rangierte auf Platz 52 von 146 Web-Hosting
4.4
Bedienkomfort
4.4
Funktionen
4.4
Preise
4.4
Unterstützung
4.3
Server-Standorte
Südafrika
Mark Holden
Mark Holden
Experte für Web-Hosting
Afrihost begann als kleines Unternehmen, das von drei Freunden gegründet wurde und wuchs bald zu einem großen und vielseitigen Webhosting-Unternehmen mit hervorragender Kundenzufriedenheit heran. Afrihost bietet seinen Kunden viele Vorteile und ist derzeit eines der besten Unternehmen im südafrikanischen Webhosting-Markt. Sie haben im Laufe der Jahre mehrere Auszeichnungen erhalten, darunter im Jahr 2017 den „Best Customer Service Award“ von PriceCheck Südafrika.

Übersicht

Was zunächst als kleines Start-up von drei High School-Freunden begann, entwickelte sich bald zu einem preisgekrönten Webhosting-, Breitband- und Telekommunikationsanbieter. AfriHost wurde 2003 gegründet und hat seitdem mehr als 250.000 zufriedene Kunden bedient. Sie haben im Laufe der Jahre mehrere Auszeichnungen erhalten, darunter 2017 von PriceCheck (Südafrika) den Preis für den besten Kundenservice. Ihr Rechenzentrum befindet sich in Johannesburg, Südafrika.

Features und Bedienerfreundlichkeit

Afrihost bietet 8 Shared-Hosting-Pakete:

  1. Bronze Home
  2. Silver Home
  3. Gold Home
  4. Platinum Home
  5. Bronze Pro
  6. Silver Pro
  7. Gold Pro
  8. Platinum Pro

Du kannst entweder Linux oder Windows als Server-Betriebssystem wählen. Die Linux-Tarife bieten mehr Funktionen und Ressourcen als die Windows-Tarife, mit Ausnahme von Microsoft-spezifischen Funktionen wie Silverlight und Microsoft SQL-Datenbanken. Außerdem bieten alle Linux Pro-Tarife Zugriff auf einen Website Builder, während dieser nicht Teil der Windows Pro-Tarife ist.

Da Linux-basiertes Hosting durchaus auch üblicher ist, werde ich mich darauf konzentrieren. Der „Bronze Home“-Tarif bietet zum Einstieg folgende Features:

  • 1GB Speicherplatz
  • Unbegrenzter Datenverkehr
  • Unbegrenzte Subdomains
  • 50 E-Mail-Konten
  • 1 MySQL Datenbank
  • Softaculous App-Installer
  • Backups

Dies ist ein ziemlich übliches Einstiegspaket, das Dir alles bietet, was Du benötigst, um eine einfache Online-Präsenz aufzubauen, einschließlich einer kostenlosen .co.za-Domain-Registrierung. Beachte aber, dass Afrihost keine SSL-Zertifikate als Teil der Pakete anbietet. Wenn Du also diese Art von Sicherheit benötigst, musst Du dafür extra zahlen.

Am anderen Ende der Preisleiter bieten sie den „Platinum Pro“-Tarife, der zusätzlich zu den Features des „Bronze Home“-Tarifs folgendes mit an Bord hat:

  • 50GB Speicherplatz
  • Unbegrenzte E-Mail-Konten
  • Unbegrenzte MySQL Datenbanken
  • Den bereits erwähnten Website Builder

Alles in allem sind Afrihosts Pakete mehr als ausreichend, um eine schnell ladende, dynamische Webseite einzurichten. Du kannst jedoch nur eine einzige Domain pro Konto registrieren. Wenn Du mehrere Webseiten einrichten möchtest, musst Du Dich für ein Cloud-Hosting-Paket oder ein noch besseres Angebot entscheiden.

Afrihost bietet außerdem in jedem Shared-Hosting-Paket das cPanel 11. Dies ist ein umfassendes web-basiertes Control Panel, mit dem Du die volle Kontrolle über Deine Domain (E-Mail, Dateien, Backup, FTP, CGI-Skripte, Website-Statistiken und mehr) erhältst.

Die Verwaltung des Kontos erfolgt über das von Afrihost entwickelte ClientZone-Verwaltungsportal, ein benutzerfreundliches und optisch ansprechendes Interface, über das Du Deine Kontoinformationen einsehen und anpassen kannst.

Afrihost verfügt außerdem über eine außergewöhnliche 100%ige Verfügbarkeitsgarantie. Dies gilt natürlich nicht im Falle geplanter Wartungsarbeiten, das Aussetzen des Dienstes aufgrund von Verstößen gegen die Nutzungsbedingungen oder bei Probleme mit der ISP-Verbindung des Kunden zum Host-Server.

Preisgestaltung und Support

Insgesamt sind die Pakete von Afrihost für den südafrikanischen Markt durchaus wettbewerbsfähig. Es überrascht jedoch nicht, dass die Windows-basierten Shared-Hosting-Pakete etwas mehr kosten als die Linux-Pakete. Das Beste daran ist, dass Du bei Afrihost Dein Paket jederzeit ändern und herunterstufen kannst, wenn sich Deine Anforderungen plötzlich ändern.

Einer der Aspekte, die ich an Afrihost am meisten liebe, ist ihre doppelte Geld-zurück-Garantie. Es geht nicht um das Geld, sondern um das Vertrauen, das sie bei ihrem Kundenstamm aufbauen. Während die meisten Webhosting-Anbieter eine einmonatige Geld-zurück-Garantie anbieten, beweist Afrihost wirklich eindrucksvoll, dass sie von ihrem eigenen Produkt überzeugt sind. Du hast 60 Tage Zeit, die Dienste zu testen und wenn Du nicht vollständig zufrieden bist, werden sie nicht nur das zurückzahlen, was Du bezahlt hast – sondern sogar den doppelten Betrag! Das nenn ich mal echtes Vertrauen!

Bei Afrihost gibt es auch keine Mindestvertragslaufzeit. Wenn Du Dich aus irgendeinem Grund für einen Wechsel zu einem anderen Webhosting-Anbieter entscheidest, stellt Afrihost sicher, dass der Prozess so reibungslos und einfach wie möglich abläuft. Du musst nur vor dem 23. des Monats kündigen.

Der Kunden-Support ist wahrscheinlich die stärkste Seite von Afrihost – Ihre Vision war es, ein Unternehmen zu schaffen, das von Kunden- und Mitarbeiterzufriedenheit bestimmt ist. Du kannst das Team, von Afrihost über das Support-Ticket-System, per E-Mail oder telefonisch erreichen. Letzteres ist jedoch nur während der Geschäftszeiten in Südafrika möglich. Sie bieten auch einen Live-Chat und – das kannte bisher selbst ich nicht – eine WhatsApp-Support-Nummer. Alternativ kannst Du auch die umfangreiche Wissensdatenbank mit über 220 Artikeln und Videoanleitungen durchforsten.

Preise

4.4

Web-Hosting

Preis
$2.7
Preis
$2.7
Mehr Details

Fazit zu AfriHost

Dank zuverlässiger Infrastruktur und exzellenter Sicherheit steht Afrihost ganz oben auf meiner Liste. Allerdings sind sie möglicherweise nicht die beste Wahl für E-Commerce-Webseiten oder große WordPress-Installationen, da sie keine SSL-Zertifizierung oder speziellen WordPress-Support anbieten.

Pros

  • Außergewöhnliche Kundenzufriedenheitsraten
  • Die gebuchten Pakete können jederzeit geändert und auch herabgestuft werden
  • Für die Linux-Pro-Pakete steht auch ein Website-Builder zur Verfügung
  • Erschwingliche Preise

Kontras

  • Telefon-Support nur während der Geschäftszeiten
  • In den Shared-Hosting-Paketen ist nur max. eine Domain möglich
Mark Holden
Mark Holden
Mark ist ein Full-Stack-Webentwickler, der sich auf HTML5, CSS, JavaScript, MySQL und PHP spezialisiert hat. Wenn er nicht gerade damit beschäftigt ist, Webseiten zu erstellen oder sich über die neueste Erweiterung seiner ständig wachsenden Gadget-Kollektion zu informieren, spielt er gerne Schlagzeug für seine Progressive-Rock-Band. Er kann auch ein hervorragendes spanisches Omelett bereiten!

AfriHost VS. ein anderes Web hosting Unternehmen

Du fragst Dich, wie AfriHost gegen andere Webhoster abschneidet? Gib einfach einen anderen Webhoster ein und wir stellen beide gegenüber.
Please enter the Web-Hosting for comparison
VS
Bitte gib einen Web-Hosting zum Vergleichen ein
261088
© 2019 WebsitePlanet.com. Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Reviews and expert opinion AfriHost

Mark Holden
Mark Holden
Web Hosting Expert

Afrihost first started off as a small venture formed by three friends, and soon turned into a very well-rounded web hosting company with outstanding customer satisfaction rates. With a lot of pros to offer, Afrihost is one of the best companies in the South African web hosting market right now. They’ve won several awards over the years, including South Africa’s Best Customer Service Award from PriceCheck in 2017. Before you make any final decisions, you should check out Hostinger’s cheap plans.


Overview

AfriHost is fine, but fine is not good enough. While AfriHost is a decent web host, you can get better quality hosting at a cheaper price with Hostinger, for example.

What first began as a small startup by three high school friends soon turned into an award-winning web hosting, broadband, and telecommunications provider. It first appeared in 2003 and has since served over 250,000 satisfied customers. They’ve won several awards over the years, including South Africa’s Best Customer Service Award from PriceCheck in 2017. Their data center is located in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Features and Ease of Use

Afrihost has eight main shared hosting packages:

  1. Bronze Home
  2. Silver Home
  3. Gold Home
  4. Platinum Home
  5. Bronze Pro
  6. Silver Pro
  7. Gold Pro
  8. Platinum Pro

You can choose either Linux or Windows as your operating system. The Linux plans do offer more features and resources than the Windows ones, with the exception of Microsoft-specific features such as Silverlight and Microsoft SQL databases. Also, all Linux Pro plans offer access to a website builder, whereas the Windows Pro plans do not.

Since Linux hosting plans tend to be more common, I’ll focus on that. The Bronze Home plan starts you off with the following:

  • 1GB data storage
  • Unlimited web traffic
  • Unlimited subdomains
  • 50 email accounts
  • 1 MySQL database
  • Softaculous app installer
  • Backups

This was a fairly standard entry-level package that affords you everything you need to establish a basic online presence, including a free .co.za domain registration. Note, however, that Afrihost doesn’t offer any SSL certificates as part of their packages, so if you need a secure website it’ll cost you extra.

AfriHost

At the other end of the spectrum you have the Platinum Pro plan, which comes with all the features of the Bronze Home plan plus:

  • 50GB storage space
  • Unlimited email accounts
  • Unlimited MySQL databases
  • The aforementioned website builder

All in all, Afrihost’s packages are more than adequate to set up a fast-loading, dynamic website. However, you can only host a single domain with any shared hosting account. If you plan on setting up multiple websites, you’ll have to opt for their cloud hosting packages or better.

Afrihost also offers cPanel 11 with every shared hosting package. This is an all-inclusive web-based control panel that affords you full control over your domain (email, files, backup, FTP, CGI scripts, web site statistics, and more) through a web interface.

To manage your account, they’ve created their very own ClientZone management portal, a user-friendly and aesthetically-pleasing interface that allows you to get information and adjust whatever you need to within your account.

Afrihost also has an extraordinary 100% uptime guarantee. Of course, this doesn’t apply to regularly scheduled maintenance periods, suspension of service due to any violations of the terms of usage, or any problems with the client’s ISP link to the host server.

Pricing and Support

Overall, Afrihost’s packages are competitively priced for the South African market. Unsurprisingly however, their Windows shared hosting packages cost slightly more than their Linux ones. Best of all, Afrihost allows you to instantly upgrade or downgrade your package at any time if your needs suddenly change.

One of the aspects I love most about Afrihost is their double money back guarantee. It’s not about the money as much as it is about the trust they’re establishing with their customer base. While most web hosting providers would offer a one-month money back guarantee, Afrihost really goes out of their way to let you know that they’re confident in what they sell. You have 60 days to test out their services and if you’re not completely satisfied, they will not only return what you paid, but double the amount. That’s some real confidence over there!

Afrihost also doesn’t require a minimum contract period. If at any time and for any reason you decide to switch to another web hosting provider, Afrihost makes sure the process is as smooth and easy as possible. All you have to do is cancel before the 23rd of the month.

Customer support is probably the strongest side of Afrihost; their vision was to create a company driven by client and employee satisfaction, after all. You can reach them via their support ticket system, email, or telephone — though the latter is only available during South African business hours. They also have live chat, and — intriguingly — a WhatsApp support line. Alternatively, you can peruse their extensive knowledge base with over 220 articles and video tutorials.

How much does AfriHost cost?
AfriHost offers plans from $3 to $30. The price depends on which type of hosting plan you choose. You can see the updated pricing table (updated weekly) below.
Which AfriHost plan should I get?
My recommendation is to start with a cheaper plan. You can always upgrade later on. AfriHost can help you with the migration to a more expensive plan. The increase in visitors many times takes longer than expected and you shouldn’t pay a lot of money until the need arises. Of course, your needs may vary, and you can consult with a hosting expert from AfriHost here.
How good is AfriHost’s customer support?
AfriHost is not ranked as one of our top web hosts. But that can also be a result of AfriHost being a small, under the radar, hosting provider. There are advantages to a small hosting company – as a customer, you are more important to them. You can also check out our comparison of the most popular web hosting services here.

Comparison

How does AfriHost match up to the competition?

Hostinger Compare 4.9 Compare
InterServer Compare 4.8 Compare
AfriHost Compare 4.4 Compare
Bluehost Compare 2.5 Compare

Pricing

4.4

AfriHost Reseller Hosting

Plan NameStorageBandwidthPricePlan NameStorageBandwidthPriceReseller Hosting50 GBUnlimited$36.62More Details
More details

User reviews

Based on 1 reviews in 1 languages
1.0
Write a Review
Language
  • English (1)
Sort by
Newest
  • Newest
  • Oldest
  • Best
  • Worst
Reply to review
Reply
Visit AfriHost
reply
en
Error
onClick="trackClickout('event', 'clickout', 'Vendor Page - Visit User Reviews', 'afrihost', this, true);"
View 1 reply
View %d replies
avatar
1.0
anonymus
South Africa
January 27, 2020
The new Telkom of customer service

SLOW internet speeds and no response for 45 minutes (and counting) on WhatsApp is not as "instant" help as your website claims. People on the other end of the WhatsApp portal have not received adequate training. Good indication that management needs training as well.

Bottom line on AfriHost

With reliable infrastructure and excellent security, Afrihost is on the top of my list when it comes to South African web hosting. However, they may not be the best choice for e-commerce websites or large WordPress installations, given their lack of included SSL certification or specialized WordPress support.

Still not sure if this is the right web host for you? Check out our top recommended web hosts to learn more.

Pros

  • Extraordinary customer satisfaction rates
  • Instantly upgrade or downgrade your packages anytime
  • Website builder available with Linux Pro packages
  • Affordable rates

Cons

  • Phone support only during business hours
  • Only one domain supported for shared hosting packages
Mark Holden
Mark Holden
Mark is a full stack web developer specializing in HTML5, CSS, JavaScript, MySQL, and PHP. When he's not busy building websites or geeking out over the latest addition to his ever-growing gadget collection, he enjoys playing drums for his progressive rock band. He can also make a mean Spanish omelet.

AfriHost Alternatives

Hostinger
4.9
Cheapest prices in the market for long-term plans
Read Review
Liquid Web
4.7
Best managed hosting for multiple platforms, from WordPress to Magento
Read Review
InterServer
4.8
The best choice for flexible hosting on a month-to-month basis
Read Review
Kinsta
4.7
Fastest, most consistent speeds in our testing
Read Review
186544