ANALYSE ET OPINION D'EXPERT FatCow

Classé 148 sur 246 Hébergeurs de sites web
4.3
James Guill
James Guill
Expert en hébergement Web
FatCow est un hébergeur « vieille école » dont l'objectif principal est de faciliter la vie en ligne des PME. Toutefois, si vous avez besoin d'une solution plus avancée comme des serveurs dédiés virtuels ou un serveur dédié, ils peuvent également satisfaire ce besoin. Leurs tarifs réduits à l'année les rendent intéressants pour les start-up qui cherchent à économiser de l'argent.
Un domaine gratuit est inclus lors de l'achat d'un service d'hébergement de FatCow

Conclusion concernant FatCow

Fondée en 1998, FatCow est une des plus anciennes entreprises d’hébergement web de l’Internet. C’est une entreprise basée aux États-Unis dont le but principal est de fournir des solutions web abordables aux PME.

Comme elle existe presque depuis la création d’Internet, FatCow a toujours organisé un service d’hébergement robuste et facile à utiliser indépendamment des compétences techniques de ses utilisateurs.

 

Fonctionnalités et facilité d’utilisation

FatCow propose une grande variété de services d’hébergement qui sont parfaits pour les webmestres de tous les niveaux de compétence. Ses services d’hébergement fournissent beaucoup d’excellentes fonctionnalités standard, dont ce qui suit :

  • Un nom de domaine gratuit
  • Une quantité illimitée de domaines
  • Une quantité illimitée de courriels
  • Un créateur de sites web et des outils d’installation
  • Une quantité illimitée d’espace disque et de bande passante

Notez que, pour l’espace disque et la bande passante illimités, vous êtes sujet aux conditions d’utilisation qui déclarent que FatCow peut limiter la vitesse de connexion de votre site et son allocation de mémoire si vous utilisez trop de bande passante ou d’espace de stockage.

FatCow a une liste assez impressionnante de fonctionnalités avancées. Toutes ces fonctionnalités sont standard alors que certains services ne les offrent que dans leurs forfaits les plus chers ou pas du tout.

  • 100 $ de crédits Bing et Google
  • Du support technique pour le PHP, le CGI et Python
  • Des outils de commerce en ligne (Shopsite, PayPal Integration, SSL)
  • Une quantité illimitée de sous-domaines
  • Des sauvegardes quotidiennes des données du serveur

FatCow propose des outils pointer-cliquer de création de sites web avec des modèles personnalisables et des scripts d’installation automatique pour WordPress et Joomla. Leur cPanel est facile à naviguer et, avec son accès FTP standard, les webmestres qui s’y connaissent peuvent créer rapidement un site sans être limité à des outils de débutant.

 

Tarification et support technique

FatCow propose deux services d’hébergement principaux avec des solutions d’hébergement plus avancées. Ces services sont les suivants :

  • FatCow version originelle : C’est son forfait individuel principal, qui vous permet de créer une quantité illimitée de domaines. C’est très utile pour la plupart des sites, des boutiques en ligne aux blogs et plus encore. Ce forfait comprend aussi une quantité illimitée d’adresses de courriel, un serveur SSL sécurisé et plus encore.
  • L’hébergement WordPress : Si vous prévoyez de créer un site en utilisant WordPress, FatCow propose aussi un hébergement WordPress qui comprend un panneau de contrôle personnalisé et des thèmes et des plugins pré-installés. FatCow fournit aussi un hébergement WordPress de niveau supérieur qui comprend des serveurs plus rapides, une sécurité améliorée et du support technique fourni par des experts WordPress.
  • Des serveurs dédiés virtuels : Si vous préférez contrôler entièrement votre site web et s’il vous faut des fonctionnalités comme une adresse IP dédiée, vous pourrez envisager une des options de serveur VPN de FatCow. Elle est dédiée aux utilisateurs qui savent concevoir et mettre à jour leur site et qui veulent être sur des serveurs moins bondés.
  • Des serveurs dédiés : Pour ceux qui ont besoin de leur propre serveur ou qui ont des sites qui deviennent trop grands pour les solutions d’hébergement partagé, un serveur dédié est l’idéal. Les forfaits de FatCow comprennent des serveurs avec de 4 GB à 16 GB de RAM, jusqu’à 1 TB d’espace de stockage et jusqu’à 15 TB de bande passante. Vous pouvez aussi avoir de trois à cinq adresses IP dédiées.

Ceux qui cherchent à créer leur premier site et qui ont peur de ne pas avoir assez de connaissances techniques devraient choisir le forfait d’hébergement WordPress. Il est très bon pour les débutants absolus et propose les mêmes fonctionnalités que la version originelle de FatCow mais avec une interface facile à utiliser.

Ce que j’aime vraiment dans le forfait de la version originelle de FatCow, c’est qu’il comporte une option de tarification annuelle. De plus, tous les forfaits sont fournis avec une garantie de remboursement de 30 jours, ce qui fait qu’il n’y a aucun risque à essayer.

Le service client de FatCow est disponible 24 heures sur 24 et 7 jours sur 7 et il propose plusieurs options pour répondre à vos questions. Sa base de connaissances est fantastique et très exhaustive, ce qui fait qu’elle répondra à toutes les questions, qu’elles soient de base ou plus avancées.

Si vous avez besoin de plus d’aide, FatCow offre un support technique gratuit par téléphone et une assistance par chat en direct. J’ai essayé de contacter le service client, j’ai pu avoir un agent en à peu près cinq secondes et cet agent a été très compétent pour résoudre mon problème. Toutefois, il était évident que l’anglais n’était pas sa langue maternelle. Donc, quand vous parlez à ces agents, il vaut mieux s’exprimer clairement.

L’hébergement web de FatCow peut avoir l’air un peu simpliste par rapport à d’autres services mais il est étonnamment puissant. Son service est excellent pour les webmestres débutants ou expérimentés.

Les points positifs :

  • Un nom de domaine gratuit
  • Offre une quantité illimitée de domaines
  • Un créateur de sites web et des outils d’installation automatiques
  • Des outils de commerce en ligne sont disponibles

Les points négatifs :

  • Vous risquez de voir votre site ralenti
  • Le support technique par chat en direct est effectué par des agents dont l’anglais n’est pas la langue maternelle
James Guill
James Guill
James Guill est un vétéran de l'écriture qui a travaillé dans le support technique informatique. Il a travaillé pour certaines des entreprises les plus grandes du monde, dont Ericsson, Compaq, GE, Bank of America et Dell.
237431
© 2019 WebsitePlanet.com. Tous droits réservés.

We rank vendors based on rigorous testing and research, but also take into account your feedback and our commercial agreements with providers. This page contains affiliate links. Advertising Disclosure

FatCow Review 2024 – Has It Seen Better Days?

James Guill James Guill Web Hosting Expert

FatCow is an “old school” hosting company that focuses on making it easy for small and mid-sized business to get online. However, if you need a more advanced solution such as VPS or a dedicated server, they can fit that need as well. Flat annual pricing makes them attractive to startups looking to save money.

We hosted the same WordPress website on the most popular web hosting platforms and measured their performance
Click here to see our results >>

Overview

FatCow-mineFatCow is one of the oldest web hosting companies on the internet, first opening in 1998. They are a U.S.-based company whose primary focus is providing affordable web solutions to small to mid-sized businesses.

Having been around through much of the internet revolution, FatCow has always maintained a hosting service that is both robust yet easy to use regardless of one’s technical ability.

Features and Ease of Use

FatCow offers a wide variety of hosting services that are perfect for webmasters of all skill levels. Their hosting services provide many excellent standard features, including the following:

  • Free domain name
  • Unlimited domains
  • Unlimited emails
  • Website builder and setup tools
  • Unmetered disk space and bandwidth

Note that for unmetered disk space and bandwidth, you are bound to the TOS which states that FatCow can throttle your site’s connection speed and memory allocation if you’re using too much bandwidth or storage.

FatCow Screenshot

FatCow has a relatively impressive list of advanced features. All of these features come standard where some services only offer them in their top plans or not at all.

  • $100 in Bing and Google Credits
  • Support for PHP, CGI, Python
  • E-commerce tools (Shopsite, PayPal Integration, SSL)
  • Unlimited subdomains
  • Daily server backups

FatCow offers point & click web builder tools with customizable templates along with automatic setup scripts for WordPress and Joomla. Their cPanel is easy to navigate, and with FTP access standard, more advanced webmasters can quickly build a site without being restricted to using beginner tools.

Pricing and Support

FatCow offers two primary hosting services, along with more advanced hosting solutions. Those services are as follows:

  • Original FatCow – This is their main individual plan that allows you to set up unlimited domains. This is great for most any site from webstores to blogs and more. It also includes unlimited email addresses, an SSL secure server, and more.
  • WordPress Hosting – If you plan to build a site using WordPress, FatCow also offers WP hosting that includes a customized control panel and pre-installed themes & plugins. They also provide a second-tier WP hosting that includes faster speed servers, enhanced security, and support from WP experts.
  • VPS Servers – If you’d rather have full control over your website and need features like a dedicated IP address, you might consider one of FatCow’s VPN server options. This is for those users who know how to design and update their site and want to be on less crowded servers.
  • Dedicated Servers – For those needing their own server or have sites that are outgrowing shared hosting solutions, a dedicated server is ideal. Their plans include servers with 4GB to 16GB of ram, up to 1TB of storage, and up to 15TB of bandwidth. You also have from three to five dedicated IP addresses.

If you’re new to website setup and concerned about technical skills, I recommend opting for the WordPress Hosting plan. It’s perfect for absolute beginners, and the plan provides the same set of features as the Original FatCow, but in a user-friendly interface.

FatCow-support

One thing that I really like about their Original FatCow plan is that they have a flat annual pricing option. Also, all their plans come with a 30-day money back guarantee, so there’s no risk involved.

FatCow’s customer support is available 24/7 and offers multiple options to answer your questions. Their Knowledge Base is fantastic and very comprehensive to answer both basic and more advanced questions.

If you need additional help, they offer toll-free phone support and live chat assistance. I tried contacting customer support and was able to connect to an agent in about five seconds and the agent was very knowledgeable about my issue. However, it was clear he was not a native English speaker, so you may want to clearly communicate any problems when talking to them.

4.3

Pricing

Comparison

How does FatCow match up to the competition?

Bluebird HostingCompareOur Score4.8Compare
VentraIPCompareOur Score4.8Compare
CompareOur Score4.3Compare
Go4HostingCompareOur Score2.4Compare

FatCow REVIEW: BOTTOM LINE

FatCow web hosting may look a bit simplistic compared to other services, but it is deceptively powerful. Their service is excellent for beginners and experienced webmasters alike.

Pros

  • Free domain name
  • Supports unlimited domains
  • Website builder and auto-setup tools
  • E-commerce tools available

Cons

  • Potential to have your site throttled
  • Non-native speaking live chat support
James Guill James Guill
James Guill is a veteran writer with a background in IT support. He’s worked for some of the world’s largest companies including Ericsson, Compaq, GE, Bank of America and Dell.
1.0
User reviews
Based on 1 reviews in 1 languages
User reviews are not verified
Write a Review
Language
  • English (1)
Sort by
Newest
  • Newest
  • Oldest
  • Best
  • Worst
Reply to review
Reply
Visit FatCow
reply
en
Error
onclick="trackClickout('event', 'clickout', 'Visit User Reviews', 'fatcow', this, true, ReturnPopup );"
View 1 reply
View %d replies
It’s a company that’s going away quickly

First, their POSTED rates don't match what they are currently charging. Most of their web-pages, help sections, and everything are 3-5 years outdated. They don't clean-up after changes so if you search their help, you might find 2-5 completely different procedures for doing the same thing. And many times NONE of them work because it's all outdated. I've been a LONG time customer and I just got a a curtesy reminder that my yearly billing is coming up. I was paying $179.40 for over 10 years. 2 years ago it went up to $215.28 but today's bill was $311.49 for the upcoming year of service. This reminder email even has a link to what their "current" rates are. However, it's more than 5-years out of date so NONE of the pricing matches. It shows I should still be at the price of $179.40 but that's not it. They have removed ALL forms of contact with them, you can ONLY use their chat. No email, no support tickets, no phone calls. When using their chat, EACH response takes about 10 minutes, so if you want to have a conversation, clear a couple hours because they are TERRIBLE! After talking with other hosting companies, I've found out that what they want for 1 year, I can get 3-years of service elsewhere cheaper.

avatar
Jason, USA
February 23, 2024
1

I feel your pain. I got an email reminder that my 2024 billing was coming up, but no courtesy notice well in advance that my MiniMoo was going from $9.99/year to $119.88/year. Shameful business practice. I second your other observations re inability to contact the company by phone or email. Fatcow has been one of my faves for years. This thing they are now is unacceptable. As painful as it will be for me to make a change, I dropped Fatcow like a hot rock. They won't get another dime from me. See how they like that change without warning.

avatar
Bibi , USA
March 03, 2024
Family sharingMulti User SharingExpert SupportBackupSmart syncPersonal SolutionBusiness SolutionTeams optionsOffline foldersFile history and recovery
FatCow Alternatives
Hostinger: Best Performance & Low Cost
Our Score
4.8
Lowest prices on the market for long-term plans
Read Review
IONOS: Premium Features on a Budget
Our Score
4.7
Dedicated support advisor and instantly scalable performance
Read Review
InterServer: Best Monthly Hosting Plan
Our Score
4.5
The best choice for hosting on a month-to-month basis
Read Review
Nexcess: Best Managed Hosting
Our Score
4.8
Best managed hosting for multiple platforms, from WordPress to Magento
Read Review
189462
Best Speed & Uptimeimage

Great Hosting for a Great Price

Plus, get a FREE domain name and email