评论与专家意见 Gate

排名118 / 127 网页寄存服务
4.1
服务器位置
United States
所罗门·恩东古
所罗门·恩东古
网页托管专家
成立于1996年的Gate,是网络托管行业的先驱之一。 他们的母公司Affinity Internet于2007年被Hostway Corporation收购。其以提供不间断的网站托管解决方案及能够满足客户需求的性能为荣。
购买任何Gate托管服务皆包含免费域名

的结论 Gate

自1996年成立以来,Gate通过为全球客户提供可靠且经济实惠的解决方案,在网络托管行业中树立名声。该托管公司隶属Hostway并与福克斯新闻频道、箭牌和迪士尼等公司使用相同的数据中心。Gate.com网站仅提供英文版本。

 

功能和易用性

自互联网出现后,Gate即为拥有托管的关键网站感到自豪。他们是首批部署集群技术的主要托管公司之一,且仍然是为数不多的可靠网络主机之一,并以实惠的价格提供这项先进技术价。目前,他们的网络托管解决方案包括基本的共享托管和虚拟服务器(VPS)。

此供应商提供的所有共享托管解决方案包括:

  • SiteMail Xchange邮件
  • 共享SSL证书
  • 网站生成器
  • 无限带宽
  • 基本网站分析

Gate的基本共享主机方案仅限Linux 服务,最适合个人博客和小型企业网站其网站生成器最多可以创建十个页面,并包含“有限存储空间”。经过进一步调查,我发现其“有限存储空间”实际上是 20GB,对于入门级套餐而言相当不错。

商业计划 Windows和Linux软件包,包括社交媒体集成、无限存储和高级分析。但是,如果您希望创建电子商务网站或确保您的网站具有移动响应能力,则应选择专业计划:此软件包包含其所有电子商务工具、高级搜索引擎优化功能、移动网站生成器、Facebook经理和在线营销工具。

如果共享服务器对您来说已不够用,Gate还提供VPS主机选项。他们的VPS托管解决方案使用 Dell R700系列企业服务器 SSD存储以及最新一代 Intel双六核处理器。每台服务器都连接到公司的55GB网络容量,并提供100%的网络正常运行时间保证。

虽然Gate看起来很棒,很多用户都对他们的服务感到沮丧。该平台对于初学者来说并不容易使用,有几个用户对他们的解决方案相当不满。这种混乱部分是由于Hostway公司收购该公司所造成的:合并后,Hostway将Gate的业务迁移到现有设施,同时分别管理和维护Gate.com网站。不幸的是,此后的经营大不如前。

 

定价和支持

Gate的定价方案非常合理,因为每个网络托管计划中包含许多功能。更重要的是,所有这些计划都包括免费的网站生成器、社交媒体集成、无限的网络流量、以及电子邮件病毒和垃圾邮件保护。

Gate提供任何托管解决方案的免费版本,也不提供免费试用或退款保证。幸运的是,该供应商确实提供特殊促销优惠,,因此如果您不急需托管服务,可以留意这些优惠。此外,如果您预先支付年度托管合同,您将可获得两个月免费托管。

Gate通过电子邮件和电话为所有客户提供 24小时技术支持。其支持团队可以帮助您解决服务器部署或任何其他问题,包括升级或降级您的计划。令人失望的是,虽然Gate声称他们的支持团队随时待命,但两次当我尝试联系时,却没有人接听电话。我最后不得不等到办公时间再与其支持团队联系。此外,我的问题也没完全得到令人满意的解决。话虽如此,该公司提供全面的知识库,因此如果您无法联系到他们的技术支持人员,可以随时尝试自行诊断问题。

 

摘要

对于中小型企业,Gate是一个不错的选择。然而,自从其被Hostway公司收购以来,其有限的支持和艰难的过渡可能会让需要托管平台性能最高的用户却不。

优点:

  • 与迪士尼等公司相同的数据中心
  • 合理的定价和一系列功能
  • 100%网络正常运行时间保证
  • 综合知识库

缺点:

  • 初学者不容易使用
  • 没有免费计划或免费试用
所罗门·恩东古
所罗门·恩东古
所罗门·恩东古是一位作家和SEO专家。他在工作之余喜欢唱歌,同时也是《纽约时报》的狂热读者。
248110

Reviews and expert opinion Gate

Ranked 2305th from 2654 Web Hosting
4.1
Ease of Use
4.1
Features
4.1
Pricing
4.1
Support
4.1
Server locations
United States
Solomon Ndung'u
Solomon Ndung'u
Web Hosting Expert
Established in 1996, Gate is one of the pioneers in the web hosting industry. Their parent company, Affinity Internet, was acquired by Hostway Corporation in 2007. They pride themselves on providing uninterrupted website hosting solutions well able to meet the performance needs of their customers.

Overview

Gate

Since their inception in 1996, Gate has made a name for themselves in the web hosting industry by offering reliable and affordable solutions to customers all across the world. The hosting company is owned by Hostway Corporation and uses the same data centers as corporations such as Fox News Channel, Wrigley, and Disney. The Gate.com website is only available in English.

Features and Ease of Use

Gate prides themselves on having hosted mission-critical websites since the advent of the internet itself. They were one of the very first major hosting companies to deploy clustering technology in all their hosting accounts, and they continue to be one of the few reliable web hosts that provide this advanced technology at an affordable price. Today, their web hosting solutions include basic shared hosting and Virtual Servers (VPS).

All shared hosting solutions by this vendor include:

  • SiteMail Xchange Mail
  • Shared SSL certificates
  • Website builder
  • Unlimited bandwidth
  • Basic web analytics

Gate

Gate’s Basic shared hosting plan is a Linux-only service best for personal blogs and small business websites — the website builder can only create up to ten pages, and they state that it includes “limited storage.” Upon further investigation, I found out that this “limited storage” actually means 20GB of space, which is fairly decent for an entry-level package.

The Business Plan is a Windows & Linux package and includes social media integration, unlimited storage, and advanced analytics. But if you’re looking to create an e-commerce website or make sure that your website is mobile-responsive, you should opt for their Professional Plan instead: this package includes all their e-commerce tools, advanced SEO functionality, a mobile website creator, Facebook manager, and online marketing tools.

If at any point you outgrow their shared servers, you’ll be happy to know that Gate does have a VPS hosting option available. Their VPS hosting solutions use Dell R700 Series Enterprise servers, SSD storage, and the latest generation Intel Dual Hex Core Processors. Each server is connected to the company’s 55GB network capacity and enjoys Gate’s 100% network uptime guarantee.

While Gate seems great on paper, a good number of users have been frustrated by their service. The platform is not easy for beginners to use, with several users describing their solutions as infuriating. This confusion has in part been brought about by Hostway Corporation’s purchase of the company: after the merger, Hostway moved Gate’s operations to their existing facilities while managing and maintaining the Gate.com website separately. There’s been a huge gap in the operational flow since then, unfortunately.

Pricing and Support

Gate’s pricing schemes are quite reasonable given the many features included in each of their web hosting plans. What’s more, all these plans include a free website builder, social media integration, unlimited web traffic, and email virus and spam protection.

Gate offers no free version of any of their hosting solutions, nor do they offer a free trial or a money back guarantee. Fortunately, the vendor does offer special promotional offers now and then, so you can watch out for those if you’re not in urgent need of a hosting service. In addition, you get two free months of hosting if you pay for your annual hosting contract up front.

gate-support

Gate provides all their customers with 24/7 technical support via email and over the phone. The support team can help you with server deployment or any other issues including upgrading or downgrading your plan. Disappointingly, while Gate claims they always have their support team standing by, there was no one available to answer the phone when I tried contacting them on two occasions. I had to wait for their office hours to reach someone from their support team. I also didn’t feel that my questions were addressed satisfactorily. That said, the company has gone to great lengths to provide a comprehensive knowledge base, so if you can’t reach one of their tech support staff, you can always try to diagnose the issues on your own.

Pricing

4.1

Web Hosting

Plan Name
Storage
Bandwidth
Number of Sites
Price
20 GB
Unlimited
Unlimited
$4.95
Unlimited
Unlimited
Unlimited
$9.95
Unlimited
Unlimited
Unlimited
$29.95
Plan Name
Storage
Bandwidth
Number of Sites
Price
20 GB
Unlimited
Unlimited
$4.95
Unlimited
Unlimited
Unlimited
$9.95
Unlimited
Unlimited
Unlimited
$29.95
More Details

VPS Hosting

Plan Name
Storage
CPU
RAM
Price
40 GB
-
1 GB
$29.95
70 GB
-
2 GB
$49.95
100 GB
-
3 GB
$69.95
40 GB
-
2 GB
$49.95
70 GB
-
3 GB
$69.95
100 GB
-
4 GB
$89.95
Plan Name
Storage
CPU
RAM
Price
40 GB
-
1 GB
$29.95
70 GB
-
2 GB
$49.95
100 GB
-
3 GB
$69.95
40 GB
-
2 GB
$49.95
70 GB
-
3 GB
$69.95
100 GB
-
4 GB
$89.95
More Details
A Free Domain is included when purchasing any hosting service from Gate

Bottom line on Gate

For small and medium-sized businesses, Gate is a good option. However, their limited support staff availability and the rocky transition ever since becoming part of Hostway Corporation may be deterrents for users who require the highest performance from their hosting platforms.

Pros

  • Same data center as corporations such as Disney
  • Reasonable pricing and an array of features
  • 100% network uptime guarantee
  • A comprehensive knowledge base

Cons

  • Not easy to use for beginners
  • No free plan or free trial
Solomon Ndung'u
Solomon Ndung'u
Solomon Ndung'u is a writer, author, and SEO specialist. When he's not working, you will find him singing his favorite tunes. He is also a confessed avid reader of The New York Times.
214637
© 2019 WebsitePlanet.com. All Rights Reserved.